Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361192
Like many kids, Ben Ripley imagines life as a secret agent would be pretty awesome -- so when he learns he's been recruited to the C.I.A.'s top secret Academy of Espionage, it sounds too good to be true. And it is. From the moment he arrives -- and ends up in the middle of an enemy attack -- Ben finds Spy School is going to be far more difficult, dastardly and dangerous than he expected. Even worse, he soon discovers that he hasn't been recruited to become a top agent; instead, he's been brought in as bait to catch a devious double agent. Now, Ben needs a crash course in espionage so that he can catch the mole, prove his worth -- and get the girl. It won't be easy, but it'll be a very fun -- and very funny -- ride.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on March 6, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442421827
ISBN-13: 9781442421820
146 Book Reviews
  • toono
    toonoSunday, March 21, 2021 at 10:22 am44 stars
    Don’t get me wrong this book is AMAZING and you DO have to read it (along with every other book in the series) but, the Spy School series is a bit repetitive and it usually goes something like this: an evil group of people try to do something bad Ben going into the seen as bait, usually without realizing. There is an obstacle the have to get around, nobody can figure out there plan but Ben figures it at at the last minute. The world is saved! Although this is the mane gists I totally recommend.
    • yc428498
      yc428498Monday, February 22, 2021 at 3:34 pm55 stars
      Best espionage book of all time, so good I read the whole series! A MUST-READ for all kids who like action, comedy, romance, and a little bit of mystery. This book is for sure going to keep you turning the pages. ;)
      • rubystarz
        rubystarzMonday, February 22, 2021 at 11:48 am55 stars
        This book was soooo good I finished it yesterday and can't wait to get the 2nd one!!!
        • BericaFriday, January 1, 2021 at 8:04 pm
          Loved this book!
          • bsc
            bscWednesday, December 9, 2020 at 1:02 pm44 stars
            This book was surprisingly really good! Ben Ripley is your average-ish middle school boy. He's a wiz at math, has a crush, gets bullied, ect. But Ben's life changes dramatically when he gets offered a scholarship to the CIA's top secret spy academy! Ben happily accepts the offer and heads off to spy school. I mean- who wouldn't want to go to a super cool spy school? There he learns that spy school isn't as cool as he thought it was going to be. Instead of learning how to fight and things like that- he has lectures. But after an attack in his room, he learns that someone or something is after him. Ben teams up with Erica and along the way they make conclusions and learn shocking secrets. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat. Happy reading!
            • jb9
              jb9Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5:35 am44 stars
              This is such a great book and book series and you should really read this book and this series. 2020
              • blossomreader
                blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                The Spy School series is about spies, obviously. Ben is the main character. He has been recruited to a spy espionage to take down an evil organization called SPYDER, and he has help. Erica is the legendary daughter of famous spies, and is the best there is. Together, she and Ben have to take down this organization and stop their evil ways. I liked this book and can't wait for the next book to come out!
                • phantasticgus
                  phantasticgusSunday, August 2, 2020 at 2:07 pm44 stars
                  Ben Ripley has always dreamed about being a spy—don’t you?—but he never thought it would actually happen. Well, imagine the surprise on his face when a CIA agent came to his house! Soon, this completely ordinary twelve-year-old is recruited for...yes indeed, a spy school! But of course, it’s top secret, and as far as everyone else knows, he’s attending a science academy for boys and girls. Sound boring? Ben definitely thinks so. But when he finally starts spy school, it’s anything but boring—in fact, it’s action-packed, a bit strange, and more than a bit terrifying. Instead of learning math and reading, the kids learn how to shoot guns and get out of life-or-death situations. Soon, Ben starts to reconsider his decision to attend the spy school...because secrets lie in wait. On his first day, he’s bullied and disappointed with the school—and to make matters worse, someone—an evil someone—sends an assassin to his dorm room! Here, survival is at stake. Can he stay alive? Read this book to find out!
                  • starsabove
                    starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:10 pm55 stars
                    When Ben Ripley founds himself in a spy school, he does what he did best in middle school-survive without any problems. This plan turned out to be a bust when SPIDER (group of terrorists) attack. Yay to a new start I guess?
                    • demigod3000
                      demigod3000Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 4:16 pm44 stars
                      This book is great for any kid who ever dreamed of being a secret agent. Spy School tells the story of young Ben Ripley as his dream to be a spy comes true, only for him to realize, he's not that great at it. As the plot progresses, we learn that him being there might be a mistake and he has to prove that he deserves a spot. We also get to meet an amazing cast of characters, including Erica Hale, an amazing and extremely competent student and spy who is a great role model for boys and girls out in the world. This book was super great, and I enjoyed reading it!