Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361192
Like many kids, Ben Ripley imagines life as a secret agent would be pretty awesome -- so when he learns he's been recruited to the C.I.A.'s top secret Academy of Espionage, it sounds too good to be true. And it is. From the moment he arrives -- and ends up in the middle of an enemy attack -- Ben finds Spy School is going to be far more difficult, dastardly and dangerous than he expected. Even worse, he soon discovers that he hasn't been recruited to become a top agent; instead, he's been brought in as bait to catch a devious double agent. Now, Ben needs a crash course in espionage so that he can catch the mole, prove his worth -- and get the girl. It won't be easy, but it'll be a very fun -- and very funny -- ride.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on March 6, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442421827
ISBN-13: 9781442421820
127 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • reader2009
    reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 8:58 pm55 stars
    This is my all time favorite series! I love it so much and I read it to my sister's all the time! I have read all the books in the series and I even have a book autographed by Stuart Gibbs himself! This book is funny, adventurous, and for the main character, Ben Ripley, life-threatening! This is the best book ever everyone should read I!!!!!!!
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 8:15 am55 stars
      “Hello,Ben,” said the man in my living room. “My name is Alexander Hale. I work for the CIA.” And just like that, my life became interesting. 12 year old Ben Ripley leads a normal life. That is, until the CIA legend Alexander Hale appears in his living room and offers him training to be in the CIA. Ben accepts and is quickly whisked off to the training camp for the CIA or “Spy School”. Starting the moment that Ben arrives weird and suspicious things start to happen. With the help of Erica, the star student of Spy School, Ben sets out to find the secrets of Spy School, and the real reason Ben was asked to join Spy School.This book makes you laugh, because there is a lot of funny parts.This book makes you think of the world a different way, especially when the author describes everyday things, like the Washington Monument, in a completely different way. You would like this book if you like mysteries, with a side of humor.
      • bunnyloverMonday, June 3, 2019 at 1:07 pm
        I love this series its so mysteresI love it So goooooood!!!!!!!💕❤♥😏😉
        • MelissaTuesday, March 5, 2019 at 11:57 am
          Oh my gosh! These books are so amazing! I am in the middle of the ski book right now, but these books, They are my new favorite books now. Thanks, Mr. Gibbs!
          • shootingstars
            shootingstarsThursday, February 21, 2019 at 9:03 am
            Sounds intresting... I want to read it! :3
            • popsiclepanda
              popsiclepandaWednesday, February 20, 2019 at 8:51 am
              I haven’t read this book but b6 the reviews it sounds like a good and misterious book I really want to read it now!!
              • ogpizza1
                ogpizza1Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 8:46 am55 stars
                series gets better
                • ogpizza1
                  ogpizza1Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 8:46 am55 stars
                  I expected this book to be mediocre,but It was amazing.Funny,overall:7.99
                  • nasuada
                    nasuadaTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 3:19 pm44 starsFeatured
                    Honestly, opening this book I thought it would be extremely cliche. It's not. Ben is a normal kid. He's a math nerd. One day out of nowhere, he's recruited to a top secret school run by none other than the CIA. Ben finds out more about why he was picked, and questions his spy potential. The book was very imaginative; it gave descriptions about the "reality" of spies, and strips away some Hollywood glamour. Overall, a fun book.
                    • BTMMonday, October 1, 2018 at 4:58 pm
                      It is amazing