Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361192
Like many kids, Ben Ripley imagines life as a secret agent would be pretty awesome -- so when he learns he's been recruited to the C.I.A.'s top secret Academy of Espionage, it sounds too good to be true. And it is. From the moment he arrives -- and ends up in the middle of an enemy attack -- Ben finds Spy School is going to be far more difficult, dastardly and dangerous than he expected. Even worse, he soon discovers that he hasn't been recruited to become a top agent; instead, he's been brought in as bait to catch a devious double agent. Now, Ben needs a crash course in espionage so that he can catch the mole, prove his worth -- and get the girl. It won't be easy, but it'll be a very fun -- and very funny -- ride.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on March 6, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442421827
ISBN-13: 9781442421820
143 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohiost8
    ohiost8Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5:35 am44 stars
    This is such a great book and book series and you should really read this book and this series. 2020
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 5:13 pm55 stars
      The Spy School series is about spies, obviously. Ben is the main character. He has been recruited to a spy espionage to take down an evil organization called SPYDER, and he has help. Erica is the legendary daughter of famous spies, and is the best there is. Together, she and Ben have to take down this organization and stop their evil ways. I liked this book and can't wait for the next book to come out!
      • squirrelflight
        squirrelflightSunday, August 2, 2020 at 2:07 pm44 stars
        Ben Ripley has always dreamed about being a spy—don’t you?—but he never thought it would actually happen. Well, imagine the surprise on his face when a CIA agent came to his house! Soon, this completely ordinary twelve-year-old is recruited for...yes indeed, a spy school! But of course, it’s top secret, and as far as everyone else knows, he’s attending a science academy for boys and girls. Sound boring? Ben definitely thinks so. But when he finally starts spy school, it’s anything but boring—in fact, it’s action-packed, a bit strange, and more than a bit terrifying. Instead of learning math and reading, the kids learn how to shoot guns and get out of life-or-death situations. Soon, Ben starts to reconsider his decision to attend the spy school...because secrets lie in wait. On his first day, he’s bullied and disappointed with the school—and to make matters worse, someone—an evil someone—sends an assassin to his dorm room! Here, survival is at stake. Can he stay alive? Read this book to find out!
        • bookfan2008
          bookfan2008Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 2:03 pm55 stars
          I LOVE THIS BOOK!! It was very suspeseful and just SO good! I love all of Stuart Gibbs series of books SO much!
          • starsabove
            starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:10 pm55 stars
            When Ben Ripley founds himself in a spy school, he does what he did best in middle school-survive without any problems. This plan turned out to be a bust when SPIDER (group of terrorists) attack. Yay to a new start I guess?
            • demigod3000
              demigod3000Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 4:16 pm44 stars
              This book is great for any kid who ever dreamed of being a secret agent. Spy School tells the story of young Ben Ripley as his dream to be a spy comes true, only for him to realize, he's not that great at it. As the plot progresses, we learn that him being there might be a mistake and he has to prove that he deserves a spot. We also get to meet an amazing cast of characters, including Erica Hale, an amazing and extremely competent student and spy who is a great role model for boys and girls out in the world. This book was super great, and I enjoyed reading it!
              • pondla
                pondlaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 2:28 pm
                This book is very funny and it makes you want to read it again. I am starting Spy Camp. I strongly recommend this book.
                • sylvie55555
                  sylvie55555Friday, May 29, 2020 at 7:30 am55 stars
                  This book is written by the author Stuart Gibbs. 12 year old Ben Ripley leads a normal life. That is, until the CIA legend Alexander Hale appears in his living room and offers him training to be in the CIA. Ben accepts and is quickly whisked off to the training camp for the CIA or “Spy School”. Starting the moment that Ben arrives weird and suspicious things start to happen. With the help of Erica, the star student of Spy School, Ben sets out to find the secrets of Spy School, and the real reason Ben was asked to join Spy School.This book makes you laugh, because there is a lot of funny parts.This book makes you think of the world a different way, especially when the author describes everyday things, like the Washington Monument, in a completely different way. You would like this book if you like mysteries, with a side of humor. Read the book to find out more! Happy Reading!
                  • toodorky
                    toodorkyThursday, May 7, 2020 at 9:40 am44 stars
                    Spy school is about a boy named Benjamin Ripley, who was just admitted into a secret spy school that everyone else think is just a normal school. He meets Erica, the best spy there is, and who he has a crush on, and Alexander, the one who takes him to spy school, and who happens to be Erica's dad and a terrible spy. But it's not all fun and games. Ben has to go through tough training, and to make matters worse, there are spies who can be traitors, or worse yet, enemies! Ben will learn secrets, he will fight, he will be a spy in this book! I found this book interesting and super surprising at what we discover. You never expect the plot twists!
                    • bookfan2008
                      bookfan2008Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 3:05 pm55 stars
                      I really like this series! It's amazing! It's about a boy named Ben Ripley. He's a spy and he goes to spy school. But it's kinda like an undercover one, tha'ts cause the parents think it's a science school. usally most of the time he get's within some trouble with his enemy spyder group! I recomend this!