Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.266408
School may be out for summer, but top-secret training continues for aspiring spy Ben Ripley—and so does the danger.

Ben Ripley is a middle-schooler whose school is not exactly average—he’s spent the last year training to be a top-level spy and dodging all sorts of associated danger. So now that summer’s finally here, Ben’s ready to have some fun and relax. Except that’s not going to happen, because a spy-in-training’s work is never done, and the threats from SPYDER, an enemy spy organization, are as unavoidable as the summer heat. Will Ben be able to keep his cover—and his cool?
Paperback, 352 pages
Published on April 8, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442457546
ISBN-13: 9781442457546
37 Book Reviews
  • toono
    toonoSunday, March 21, 2021 at 10:23 am44 stars
    Don’t get me wrong this book is AMAZING and you DO have to read it (along with every other book in the series) but, the Spy School series is a bit repetitive and it usually goes something like this: an evil group of people try to do something bad Ben going into the seen as bait, usually without realizing. There is an obstacle the have to get around, nobody can figure out there plan but Ben figures it at at the last minute. The world is saved! Although this is the mane gists I totally recommend.
    • jb9
      jb9Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5:35 am44 stars
      This is such a great book and book series and you should really read this book and this series. 2020
      • blossomreader
        blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 5:15 pm55 stars
        I loved this book. Ben just wants to hang around with his best friend who doesn t know he's a spy, but he realizes he has to go to summer camp for spies, and his summer is ruined. The SPYDER is still on the loose. Can he and his partner, Erica, who is also his crush, stpo them? This bok is full of surprises and turns you'll never expect. I loved this book!
        • starsabove
          starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:13 pm55 stars
          Ben Ripley would've never thought there was a camp for spies. Then again, he never would've thought there was a school for them either. Now, he has to try to get through the camp without any problens. Easier said then done.
          • bookfan2008
            bookfan2008Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 9:05 am55 stars
            I loved this book! So finnaly, spy school is out for the year and it's finally summer for Ben Ripley! Well, at least he thought school is out. He's about too leave and then he finds a letter on his bed. It asks ben to come to the princlipals office to talk about something important. So, with annoyance and a worried feeling ben goes. The princibal says he is going to summer camp to train for seruis spy survival. Ben is shocked and SO anoyed but he has to agree so he does. But that's not the biggest problem! Ben goes back to his room and opens his door and finds a strange not from.. SPYDER on his bed! The thing is Ben locked his door when he left! Strange huh? The note basilcly says that that ben has 24 hours to decide if he wants to work for spyder and if no, then he will have to get killed! Now Ben has a BIG problem o his hands! Can Ben fix this all? Read this book to find out!
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Friday, May 29, 2020 at 7:31 am55 stars
              This is the second book in the Spy School series, written by the author Stuart Gibbs. In this book, Ben Ripley is looking forward to a normal summer away from Spy School. So when he learns that instead of going home for the summer he will be attending Spy Camp, he is a little bummed out. When he arrives at Spy Camp, it is quite different then he imagined, and VERY outdoorsy, but also hidden. Ben is sure that he is safe, but soon SPYDER leaves him a note, causing him and Erica to leave Spy Camp for they're biggest adventure yet. Read the book to find out more! Happy Reading!
              • loketoke
                loketokeMonday, March 23, 2020 at 2:34 am55 stars
                This book is the second book in the series of Spy School. Ben Ripley, a first-year at the Spy School, had almost been killed by a secret organisation called SPYDER. After the school year, he finds that he is going to Spy Camp! He also finds a mysterious note in his room that said: Hey Ben! Just wanted you to know we’ll be coming for you soon. Your Pals at SPYDER. He shares this with Erica Hale, who worked with him in the first case with SPYDER (in the first book), and also his friend Tina Cuevo, who will be going to Vancouver this year. When he gets to Spy Camp, however, 3 students: Jawa, Warren and Zoe (Ben’s best friend) find out about the secret organisation. Hank, Ben’s counsellor at the camp, and another student named Claire from the M1 - 6 academy in England also find out about SPYDER. One day, the famous agent Alexander Hale, (Erica’s father) comes to pick up Ben and Erica joins them. Soon Ben finds out that Alexander is actually is a big coward and all the crimes he’s done, someone else did the work and he just took credit for it. They visit a place where some men are reacting the Civil War. Soon Erica’s grandfather, Cyrus Hale, joins them and defeats the SPYDER agents. But soon, Cyrus and Erica are captured. Alexander seems ashamed because he knows why SPYDER wants his father, he knows the nuclear missile codes! And SPYDER wants to launch a missile to Camp David, where the president of the US and other representatives of state are. Soon, Warren, Zoe, Hank ands Claire join them. Remember the letter SPYDER agents sent Ben? There was a tiny bit of coal attached to it and Ben finds out that the coal belongs to a coal mine nearby! And it might be SPYDER’s base! They persuade Alexander to come too, and off they go! Once they get there, they find out that there are 3 missiles waiting to launch! Unfortunately, Alexander was bluffing when he said that he could stop a missile from launching. He goes with Ben’s friends to find Erica and Cyrus, which leaves only Ben to deal with the missile. Murray Hill, an evil SPYDER agent, and Joshua Halall, another evil agent, threaten to kill Ben. He tricks them and he breaks the power cord to the missile. Unfortunately, the missile explodes and everybody flees. Eventually Murray Hill gets left in the base (because his running was so slow), and Joshua dies when he falls off a cliff. Everyone cheers, and they celebrate their great victory! Erica says that she owes Ben her life, and maybe the two have became closer! Find out more in the next book!
                • reader2009
                  reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 9:04 pm55 stars
                  I love that this book refers back to what happened in the last book, but I love that it's a different adventure.This is the best series ever!!!
                  • sylvie55555
                    sylvie55555Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 8:30 am55 stars
                    In this second book in the Spy School series, Ben Ripley is looking forward to a calm summer vacation back at home. But when he discovers that he must attend Spy Camp he´s a little disappointed. But Spy Camp turns out to be more then he expected... Will Ben survive and come out alive? Read the book to find out!
                    • Bryan gReatWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 5:39 pm
                      SUCH A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!