Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.266408
School may be out for summer, but top-secret training continues for aspiring spy Ben Ripley—and so does the danger.

Ben Ripley is a middle-schooler whose school is not exactly average—he’s spent the last year training to be a top-level spy and dodging all sorts of associated danger. So now that summer’s finally here, Ben’s ready to have some fun and relax. Except that’s not going to happen, because a spy-in-training’s work is never done, and the threats from SPYDER, an enemy spy organization, are as unavoidable as the summer heat. Will Ben be able to keep his cover—and his cool?
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 2, 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442457538
ISBN-13: 9781442457539
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 9:05 am55 stars
    I loved this book! So finnaly, spy school is out for the year and it's finally summer for Ben Ripley! Well, at least he thought school is out. He's about too leave and then he finds a letter on his bed. It asks ben to come to the princlipals office to talk about something important. So, with annoyance and a worried feeling ben goes. The princibal says he is going to summer camp to train for seruis spy survival. Ben is shocked and SO anoyed but he has to agree so he does. But that's not the biggest problem! Ben goes back to his room and opens his door and finds a strange not from.. SPYDER on his bed! The thing is Ben locked his door when he left! Strange huh? The note basilcly says that that ben has 24 hours to decide if he wants to work for spyder and if no, then he will have to get killed! Now Ben has a BIG problem o his hands! Can Ben fix this all? Read this book to find out!
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Friday, May 29, 2020 at 7:31 am55 stars
      This is the second book in the Spy School series, written by the author Stuart Gibbs. In this book, Ben Ripley is looking forward to a normal summer away from Spy School. So when he learns that instead of going home for the summer he will be attending Spy Camp, he is a little bummed out. When he arrives at Spy Camp, it is quite different then he imagined, and VERY outdoorsy, but also hidden. Ben is sure that he is safe, but soon SPYDER leaves him a note, causing him and Erica to leave Spy Camp for they're biggest adventure yet. Read the book to find out more! Happy Reading!
      • toodorky
        toodorkyThursday, May 7, 2020 at 9:46 am44 stars
        This is the 2nd book in the Spy School series. This book is about, well, a spy camp, but it's about lot's more other things. School is out for the summer, but training still goes on at camp. Ben was ready to have fun with his best friend for the summer, but of course, he can't. Instead, he is training to fight SPYDER, the evil organization. They get threats from SPYDER, and their work is never done. Will Ben be able to finaly get a step ahead of SPYDER, or will he lose confidence? He has his friends by his side, and Erica, but it might not be enough....
        • bagelthebeagel
          bagelthebeagelMonday, March 23, 2020 at 2:34 am55 stars
          This book is the second book in the series of Spy School. Ben Ripley, a first-year at the Spy School, had almost been killed by a secret organisation called SPYDER. After the school year, he finds that he is going to Spy Camp! He also finds a mysterious note in his room that said: Hey Ben! Just wanted you to know we’ll be coming for you soon. Your Pals at SPYDER. He shares this with Erica Hale, who worked with him in the first case with SPYDER (in the first book), and also his friend Tina Cuevo, who will be going to Vancouver this year. When he gets to Spy Camp, however, 3 students: Jawa, Warren and Zoe (Ben’s best friend) find out about the secret organisation. Hank, Ben’s counsellor at the camp, and another student named Claire from the M1 - 6 academy in England also find out about SPYDER. One day, the famous agent Alexander Hale, (Erica’s father) comes to pick up Ben and Erica joins them. Soon Ben finds out that Alexander is actually is a big coward and all the crimes he’s done, someone else did the work and he just took credit for it. They visit a place where some men are reacting the Civil War. Soon Erica’s grandfather, Cyrus Hale, joins them and defeats the SPYDER agents. But soon, Cyrus and Erica are captured. Alexander seems ashamed because he knows why SPYDER wants his father, he knows the nuclear missile codes! And SPYDER wants to launch a missile to Camp David, where the president of the US and other representatives of state are. Soon, Warren, Zoe, Hank ands Claire join them. Remember the letter SPYDER agents sent Ben? There was a tiny bit of coal attached to it and Ben finds out that the coal belongs to a coal mine nearby! And it might be SPYDER’s base! They persuade Alexander to come too, and off they go! Once they get there, they find out that there are 3 missiles waiting to launch! Unfortunately, Alexander was bluffing when he said that he could stop a missile from launching. He goes with Ben’s friends to find Erica and Cyrus, which leaves only Ben to deal with the missile. Murray Hill, an evil SPYDER agent, and Joshua Halall, another evil agent, threaten to kill Ben. He tricks them and he breaks the power cord to the missile. Unfortunately, the missile explodes and everybody flees. Eventually Murray Hill gets left in the base (because his running was so slow), and Joshua dies when he falls off a cliff. Everyone cheers, and they celebrate their great victory! Erica says that she owes Ben her life, and maybe the two have became closer! Find out more in the next book!
          • reader2009
            reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 9:04 pm55 stars
            I love that this book refers back to what happened in the last book, but I love that it's a different adventure.This is the best series ever!!!
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 8:30 am55 stars
              In this second book in the Spy School series, Ben Ripley is looking forward to a calm summer vacation back at home. But when he discovers that he must attend Spy Camp he´s a little disappointed. But Spy Camp turns out to be more then he expected... Will Ben survive and come out alive? Read the book to find out!
              • Bryan gReatWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 5:39 pm
                SUCH A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!
                • sdkhfidsf
                  sdkhfidsfSaturday, September 22, 2018 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                  great book
                  • Kev manSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 9:38 am
                    great!!
                    • grinch45
                      grinch45Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 7:06 am44 stars
                      I like how you feel like WHAT'S GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT! I also think that it is a good flow or transition from spy school to spy camp. I also like in this book because it's a little more adventures because it's in the woods. I also like how Erica just's drop's in more time's.