Spirit Animals: Book 3: Blood Ties

Book 3 of 7 in the Spirit Animals Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.546812
The adventure continues in this third book in the New York Times bestselling series.

Erdas is a land of balance. A rare link, the spirit animal bond, bridges the human and animal worlds. Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan each have this gift-and the grave responsibility that comes with it.

But the Conquerors are trying to destroy this balance. They're swallowing whole cities in their rush for power-including Meilin's home. Fed up with waiting and ready to fight, Meilin has set off into enemy territory with her spirit animal, a panda named Jhi. Her friends aren't far behind . . . but they're not the only ones.

The enemy is everywhere.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on March 25, 2014 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545522455
ISBN-13: 9780545522458
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • skywatcher2140
    skywatcher2140Friday, June 19, 2020 at 9:07 pm55 stars
    An awesome, thrilling book with great storylines and an amazing structure. Well-built, nicely wrapped, and creatively woven! I think this is a great read for anyone who just wants a good book, and I'm sure many animal lovers will enjoy it. Adventurous and wonderful!
    • eledoggy
      eledoggyThursday, July 4, 2019 at 3:25 pm44 stars
      Spirit Animals Blood Ties (book 3) is an amazing book of courage, especially shown by Meilin because she went through the whole bamboo maze with only the help Jhi and xue, to help her father in war, only later to see him die right before her eyes. The definition of Blood Ties is that Meilin wants to see her long lost father and help him in war and the "four fallen" (almost "three fallen" for the whole book) try to seek Dinesh's talisman with Meilin, Rollan, Connor, Abeke, Tarik and Lishay who had some horrible losses, and they still seem to end up with the slate elephant talisman. Sorry for some spoilers I might have given.
      • cutee_girl1Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:18 pm
        I loved this book, spirit animals have been my favorite since I´ve read the first book :)
        • starsong
          starsongWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 8:26 am55 stars
          I love this book. I already in the second series of Spirit Animals.This book is great and I recommend it and the rest,
          • repwarior
            repwariorMonday, April 10, 2017 at 6:22 am55 stars
            the cover made me want to read this book and the summary it was interesting that everyone in her village counted on melein to get the stone of spirits.
            • repwarior2
              repwarior2Friday, March 31, 2017 at 3:03 pm55 stars
              cause i wondered what my spirit animal is
              • SPOOKAYGUYThursday, April 28, 2016 at 11:56 am
                I HEART THIS DANG SERIES THE CREDIT GOES TO THE AUTHORS!!
                • BusterBronco33Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 7:19 am
                  If you don't read this series you are lost in the world of books.
                  • dawnstone
                    dawnstoneThursday, February 4, 2016 at 6:41 pm55 stars
                    This series of books are super cool if you like animals and a little fantasy. I love these books, and I hope you will enjoy them too.
                    • LolzzzzzSunday, November 22, 2015 at 1:25 am
                      Meilin had some great characteristics in this book. I didn't like her very much at first because she was a bit bratty, but this proves that she is selfless and cares deeply for her friends and family. Rollan caught Sunset Death, and I cursed the Rino Riders for not giving him the seeds. Poor Meilin. Her father died at Dinesh's temple.