Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.948783
#1 New York Times bestseller Brandon Mull launches Scholastic's wildly popular multiplatform phenomenon.

Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers. Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible beasts -- a wolf, a leopard, a panda, a falcon. Suddenly the paths of these children -- and the world -- have been changed forever.

Enter the world of Erdas, where every child who comes of age must discover if they have a spirit animal, a rare bond between human and beast that bestows great powers to both. A dark force has risen from distant and long-forgotten lands, and has begun an onslaught that will ravage the world. Now the fate of Erdas has fallen on the shoulders of four young strangers . . . and on you.

Part engrossing book series, part action role-playing game -- discover your spirit animal and join the adventure.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 10, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545522439
ISBN-13: 9780545522434
79 Book Reviews
  • cr4td4l
    cr4td4lTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 3:41 am44 stars
    This book is great! But I do not like changing the point of view
    • cr4td4l
      cr4td4lSaturday, June 27, 2020 at 4:40 am44 stars
      So Good I have whole series
      • thistle912
        thistle912Friday, June 19, 2020 at 8:51 pm55 stars
        Sensational story...creatively written, well-built, and a great book! Perfect for cozying up on the couch with and reading on a cold day. I loved this story and enjoyed it very much, along with the rest of the books in the series. Adventurous and interesting, a must-read!
        • bluedragon1
          bluedragon1Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 9:45 am55 stars
          I really liked this book! I am excited to finish the series and learn what happens! My favorite part in this book is when they get there spirit animals
          • bt21isawsome
            bt21isawsomeFriday, January 10, 2020 at 7:10 am55 stars
            Very good book. Lots of action in the book. The book changes point of view frequently which keeps the book interesting. This book is a great start to the series.
            • ridedavu-157615959605
              ridedavu-157615959605Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 6:59 am44 stars
              This was a great book. Brandon Mull has put a lot of action in this book. The only thing about this book is that it kept on switching the character's point of view. Otherwise, the plot was amazing and the characters acted realistically. It was like I was in the book.
              • eledoggy
                eledoggyThursday, July 4, 2019 at 7:44 pm33 stars
                Spirit Animals Wild Born (book 1) is an good start to the Spirit Animals series. Kids who turn eleven in the current year all over the erdas get the opportunity to drink the bonding nectar to have a chance to bond with a spirit animal. The people who don't drink the nectar either don't bond or get a natural bond which is more painful than the nectar bond. 4 kids summoned spirit animals: Connor (a sheep herder), Rollan (clever street boy) Abeke, (amazing hunter) and Meilin (Martial artist) Connor gets a wolf named Briggan, Rollan gets a gyrfalcon named Essix, Abeke gets a leopard named Uraza and Meilin gets a panda named Jhi.
                • bb500
                  bb500Wednesday, April 3, 2019 at 8:17 pm55 stars
                  OMG when i read the first page i fell in love with this book
                  • unknown Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 10:50 am
                    so good read all the books and i am literally in LOVE
                    • SidThursday, July 5, 2018 at 8:10 am
                      In the world of Erdas, turning eleven means you drink the Nectar, a liquid that, if you are lucky, summons a spirit animal, a creature whom you will bond with. You will become a Greencloak, one who protects Erdas. Long ago, the Devourer, who most people now think is just legend, conquered Erdas with the help of two of the fifteen Great Beasts who live in Erdas. (Kovo the Ape and Gerathon the Serpent.) Four other Great Beasts (Briggan the Wolf, Uraza the Leopard, Jhi the Panda, and Essix the Falcon) gave their lives to defeat Kovo and Gerathon, and then came peace. Now, rumors are spreading, and battles have started in Zhong, an area of Erdas. The peace is unsettling. However, four children turning eleven drink the nectar and... they summon a wolf, leopard, panda, and falcon.The four Great Beasts who sacrificed themselves in the war have returned, in the form of a spirit animal. Erdas will soon be at war. The Four Fallen have returned. The future is unclear. One thing is for sure: history has been changed in the most dramatic way possible.