Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.948783
#1 New York Times bestseller Brandon Mull launches Scholastic's wildly popular multiplatform phenomenon.

Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers. Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible beasts -- a wolf, a leopard, a panda, a falcon. Suddenly the paths of these children -- and the world -- have been changed forever.

Enter the world of Erdas, where every child who comes of age must discover if they have a spirit animal, a rare bond between human and beast that bestows great powers to both. A dark force has risen from distant and long-forgotten lands, and has begun an onslaught that will ravage the world. Now the fate of Erdas has fallen on the shoulders of four young strangers . . . and on you.

Part engrossing book series, part action role-playing game -- discover your spirit animal and join the adventure.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 10, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545522439
ISBN-13: 9780545522434
72 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bb500
    bb500Wednesday, April 3, 2019 at 8:17 pm55 stars
    OMG when i read the first page i fell in love with this book
    • unknown Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 10:50 am
      so good read all the books and i am literally in LOVE
      • SidThursday, July 5, 2018 at 8:10 am
        In the world of Erdas, turning eleven means you drink the Nectar, a liquid that, if you are lucky, summons a spirit animal, a creature whom you will bond with. You will become a Greencloak, one who protects Erdas. Long ago, the Devourer, who most people now think is just legend, conquered Erdas with the help of two of the fifteen Great Beasts who live in Erdas. (Kovo the Ape and Gerathon the Serpent.) Four other Great Beasts (Briggan the Wolf, Uraza the Leopard, Jhi the Panda, and Essix the Falcon) gave their lives to defeat Kovo and Gerathon, and then came peace. Now, rumors are spreading, and battles have started in Zhong, an area of Erdas. The peace is unsettling. However, four children turning eleven drink the nectar and... they summon a wolf, leopard, panda, and falcon.The four Great Beasts who sacrificed themselves in the war have returned, in the form of a spirit animal. Erdas will soon be at war. The Four Fallen have returned. The future is unclear. One thing is for sure: history has been changed in the most dramatic way possible.
        • starsong
          starsongWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 8:10 am55 stars
          I wasn't sure about this book at first but was so glad I started reading it! It's a very adventurous book and I loved it! I have read this book at least 2 times because it is so great. It's about 4 kids that summon very powerful spirit animals during a coming of age deal. They go to the end of Erdas to claim spirit animal talismans. I highly recommend it and all the books in the series!
          • ragestargate7
            ragestargate7Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 4:31 pm55 stars
            This is a well written introduction to this series. This book is directed to 3rd graders and up, and is wonderfully funny. The story follows four young kids who learn to grow and bond with their animals. It is timeless. This deserves 5 stars.
            • miraculousfan
              miraculousfanTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 2:12 pm55 stars
              An amazing adventure, so good I could almost not put it down!
              • nugget198
                nugget198Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 1:46 pm55 stars
                spoiler alert! Its about 4 11 year old's that get spirit animals. They get a wolf, puma, panda, and hawk. The animals all have cool eyes. Then they fight a mountain goat! I loved this book because it was action packed and funny. It is a good book and i recommend it to all of you!
                • dogloverforever
                  dogloverforeverTuesday, December 12, 2017 at 2:17 pm55 stars
                  now, if you like animals and , love books this is the book to you, i love this book and the other books, spoilers up head, its about 4 kids with different lives and they all get a rare animal so they go off with these people to help them spoilers end, so everyone get this awesome book
                  • navrax290
                    navrax290Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at 1:35 pm55 stars
                    read the series its AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :) :)
                  • adamaka6909
                    adamaka6909Monday, November 14, 2016 at 4:27 pm
                    I think this is a great book and is great for animal lovers and is great to read ion spare time
                    • YAYMonday, November 14, 2016 at 2:49 pm
                      I'm glad for other ppl who like this book. At last, I find my true book friends.