Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.370717
It’s a murder mystery on the moon in this humorous and suspenseful space adventure from the author of Belly Up and Spy School.

Like his fellow lunarnauts—otherwise known as Moonies—living on Moon Base Alpha, twelve-year-old Dashiell Gibson is famous the world over for being one of the first humans to live on the moon.

And he’s bored out of his mind. Kids aren’t allowed on the lunar surface, meaning they’re trapped inside the tiny moon base with next to nothing to occupy their time—and the only other kid Dash’s age spends all his time hooked into virtual reality games.

Then Moon Base Alpha’s top scientist turns up dead. Dash senses there’s foul play afoot, but no one believes him. Everyone agrees Dr. Holtz went onto the lunar surface without his helmet properly affixed, simple as that. But Dr. Holtz was on the verge of an important new discovery, Dash finds out, and it’s a secret that could change everything for the Moonies—a secret someone just might kill to keep...
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 16, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442494867
ISBN-13: 9781442494862
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 13iamgroot
    13iamgrootTuesday, August 20, 2019 at 5:38 pm33 stars
    Dashiell lives on the moon. You might think that sounds super cool. Well Dash will tell you otherwise and give you all the reasons that it isn't, in this hilarious novel by Stuart Gibbs. No one believes Dash when he thinks that there has been a murder, so he decides to investigate himself. With the urging of temporary resident on Moon Base Alpha, Zan, and his new friend Kira, Dash goes full scale investigation because of a conversation he heard in the bathrooms. In the end, he finally busts the murderer and learns that Zan is not what she seems. Anyone ages 7 to 14 will love this book and the rest of the series.
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Friday, July 19, 2019 at 4:16 pm55 stars
      This is the first book in the moon base alpha series written by Stuart Gibbs. 12 year old Dash lives in space. Really, he does. Well... he has for the past few months anyway. When Dash and his family was first offered to go into space, they thought it would be very exciting. But after arriving in space they start to realize that it might not be as exciting as they thought... in fact, it might be down right boring. So when Dash finds out that someone might have been murdered where he and all the other scientists in space reside, Dash is determined to find out who did it. In fact, he's decided he must find them before the next space ship leaves for Earth... or they'll be trapped with the murder for another few months. Will Dash find the murderer? Read the book to find out! Stuart Gibbs is an amazing author and this is a wonderful series, as well as the Spy School and Fun Jungle series! Hope you like this book!
      • Spaced OutThursday, December 20, 2018 at 1:35 pm
        Hi! I'm in 5th grade! I love this book. It gave me a nightmare or two, but it was still enjoyable!! :D
        • tancred_torsson
          tancred_torssonMonday, September 24, 2018 at 6:03 pm55 stars
          This is a great book. I love how Stuart Gibbs always includes so many surprises and twists that you don't expect. Also, Dash is super smart. Love this book! :)
          • kingkitty2005
            kingkitty2005Friday, June 8, 2018 at 9:02 am55 stars
            This book is a really good mystery story written by the same author as the Spy School Series and the FunJungle Series. When Dr. Holtz is found dead it gets kind of creepy, but when evidence shows up about how he got killed the fright wears off. The story is overall pretty realistic as it comes when describing daily life on the Moon. The idea of teleportation into another being's mind far away is kind of far-fetched, but it sparks new interest in intergalactic space travel.
            • cornilious
              corniliousTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 11:32 am
              I would love to be in your book club.
              • bluejay108
                bluejay108Monday, May 15, 2017 at 12:33 pm
                This is a true story
                • mybooksandi
                  mybooksandiSaturday, April 8, 2017 at 6:59 pm44 stars
                  Well, well, well, look what we have here! This novel took me by surprise. I've heard that this book is fairly good. People rarely rated it five stars, four was the least. When I picked up this book, I was expecting something average. Not too good, but not bad. I am shocked because............. Lana LIKED this book. I thought the story was original. Not like Hunger Games meets Harry Potter kind of book. This book stood out from the crowd. I loved Dash, I loved Violet, and I loved Zan, ( But don't think too much about her appearing mysteriously in his room, It will get creepy fast. Now, why do you ask did I give it four stars? I do not know, but I felt like something teeny-tiny was missing. I would have given this book 4.5 stars, but that was not an option. Well there you have it, another AMAZING book by Stuart Gibbs!
                  • fantomsky26
                    fantomsky26Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 7:08 pm44 stars
                    This book is so true and so good.
                    • harrypotter87
                      harrypotter87Saturday, February 25, 2017 at 5:57 pm55 stars
                      really good book