Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.963307
A roaring, supernatural adventure that spans New York, and the globe!

After their parents' plane goes down over the ocean, Leo and his brother Hollis are forced into the custody of their rich and enigmatic uncle Crane, a dealer of rare and probably illicit antiques. But almost as soon as he's settled--or as close to settled as he can get in the bleak Brooklyn mansion, surrounded by his uncle's dubious staff--Leo receives a mysterious package his father put together long ago, to be opened on his 13th birthday. With the package, Leo discovers he has an amazing ability. He can hear the history of any object by touching it. But when Leo finds a strange helmet buried among his uncle's artifacts, and hears a pained cry coming from it, a mystery unravels as to its origin.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on November 1, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545196922
ISBN-13: 9780545196925
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ey2020
    ey2020Friday, May 24, 2019 at 2:01 pm55 stars
    Sound bender keeps you off of your chair every second of the book. Through the action, and mystery two brothers go through an adventure no average kid would be able to keep their head up.
    • choco1234
      choco1234Friday, May 24, 2019 at 1:58 pm11 star
      Sorry not into this book
      • ey2020
        ey2020Wednesday, May 22, 2019 at 7:58 pm55 stars
        This book puts you on the edge of a cliff! It's unique suspense and awesome imagery allows you to visualize it so vividly you would be mistaken that you were actually in the story. I also enjoyed the sequel. ( So dramatizing.)
        • spider2001
          spider2001Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 1:24 pm55 starsFeatured
          While it has been a while since I have read this book, I distinctly remember it. At the time, it was one of my favorite books. It was unique, and different. While it does borrow some similar elements from some other stories, it never looses it´s originality. It kept me interested in the world of the Sound Bender from beginning to end. This story centers around Leo, a young teenager who is sent to live with his filthy rich uncle after his parents were killed in a plane crash. As the story progresses, Leo begins to uncover his amazing ability to hear the history of an object when he touches it. He uses his new found abilities to uncover the truth of his Uncle Crane, and who he really is. If you haven't yet read this book, I suggest you give it a try. Every chapter progressively get better, until the heart stopping finale that leaves you wanting more. Sound Bender is definitely worth a read!
          • ghost1
            ghost1Wednesday, April 22, 2015 at 11:07 am55 stars
            This book was really amazing
            • fred7
              fred7Monday, June 16, 2014 at 2:47 pm33 stars
              Amazing, I loved Sound Bender it had action and drama. Lin and Theo did amazing. This book had action, drama and friendship
              • 20amehlman
                20amehlmanMonday, February 18, 2013 at 10:53 am55 stars
                This book was amazing. The minute I picked it up I was sucked into Leo's world. His parents are assumed dead after a plane mysteriously disappears. His mysterious past is revealed to him on his 13 birthday. Things start getting crazy after that.
                • lillianna765
                  lillianna765Saturday, January 5, 2013 at 5:14 pm33 stars
                  I pretty much think that it's a little boring, but I don;t leave a book once I start reading it.
                  • 18swilkinson
                    18swilkinsonMonday, February 6, 2012 at 7:58 pm44 stars
                    Amazing, Lin and Oliver pulled me through a whole new vail looking at thing with a different perspective.