Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545132061
ISBN-13: 9780545132060
3337 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ojplexi
    ojplexiWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 4:54 pm44 stars
    Because it is a good comic hall should read it
    • devilgirl2
      devilgirl2Tuesday, November 12, 2019 at 9:17 am55 stars
      Super cool
      • myreyaTuesday, November 12, 2019 at 7:16 am
        really interesting
        • GGMonday, November 11, 2019 at 1:57 pm
          Pretty awesome and interesting book.
          • princessari
            princessariSunday, November 10, 2019 at 7:42 am44 stars
            This book is likke the rest of this series. I like this book and I do not like it. There is blood in this book but that is ok for me. raina feel when she was racing to her house her mouth started bleeding. Then she went o the dentist to go get braces. I can relate a little because my dentist said I might have to ge braces.
            • Chevelle Saturday, November 9, 2019 at 5:38 pm
              OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!
              • AlexSaturday, November 9, 2019 at 3:20 pm
                Love this book
                • puzle
                  puzleThursday, November 7, 2019 at 12:55 pm55 stars
                  Best book in the world!#1! read all of Raina Telgemeier's books!There all soooo good.It's a series. The three books are: Guts, Sisters, and Smile.They are all graphic novels.I love graphic novels but if your not into them you shouldn,t get the books Smile, Sisters, and Guts.
                  • Dave Kim Thursday, November 7, 2019 at 10:41 am
                    I love this book, but I don't want to spoil the book. But it's about a girl named Rian, she was running, then she fell and two of her teeth. But will she look normal again, just like other people? Read to the end to find out. (Also "Guts" is a new book and it's out.)
                    • cheyenne Thursday, November 7, 2019 at 5:12 am
                      i loooove this book