Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545132061
ISBN-13: 9780545132060
3537 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • geographyboy27
    geographyboy27Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 7:02 pm55 stars
    It was nice
    • Love dogsSunday, July 5, 2020 at 5:29 pm
      I really like this video so much I really want to read this book
      • janan10
        janan10Monday, June 29, 2020 at 5:12 pm
        It is a good book and it's so cool reading about someone's life especially in could and picurs
        • kittycat0604
          kittycat0604Sunday, June 28, 2020 at 6:32 am44 stars
          Very interesting
          • kittycat0604
            kittycat0604Saturday, June 27, 2020 at 7:02 am44 stars
            Very cool it’s about a girl who fell and who lost some teeth so she got braces I think (I don’t have a good memory.).
            • lovereading310
              lovereading310Friday, June 26, 2020 at 5:11 pm55 stars
              Hello! I LOVED this book. It has that special humor raina always includes in her stories. Even if i can't relate to this story now, I probably will soon! %100 one of the best books i own!
              • elmc20116
                elmc20116Friday, June 26, 2020 at 7:40 am55 stars
                This book has a very interesting story. This story is maybe a teeny bit like me. I've had an expander for about an year, and now, I am wearing braces. I have this book at home, and have read it several times. Raina sure put great illustrations, with plenty of great words to describe how she felt, acted, and survived these hard challenges between her teeth, siblings, boys, and even friends. I will highly recommend this book to those who enjoy reading about other's life, with twists and turns during sixth grade through high school.
                • ninjanugget
                  ninjanuggetWednesday, June 24, 2020 at 5:11 pm55 stars
                  This book is my favorite raina telgemeier book!! I love the first part were she is racing with her friends to her house but something bad happened to raina ... She can't do some stuff because of it! And she has to visit the doctor like every week!she's very tired of it and shes embarrassed 😳 to ''Smile''! But she can get though it and she can do it! But you'll have to read the book to find out what happens next :)and I recommend this book for any one!! I love it!!
                  • mistycool
                    mistycoolWednesday, June 24, 2020 at 1:38 pm
                    This book is about sixth grader Raina going to high school and her major problem is her is her dental issues . And because of that raina's life more complicated.Although she does find new friends other that her old untrustable ones .With all these dental problem raina never smiled but after she got new friends for once in a while she smiled
                    • sea-doggos
                      sea-doggosWednesday, June 24, 2020 at 12:04 pm55 stars
                      I can relate alot to Raina!