Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5S4.366476
Meet Homer Pudding, an ordinary farm boy who's got big dreams-to follow in the footsteps of his famous treasure-hunting uncle. But when Uncle Drake mysteriously disappears, Homer inherits two things: a lazy, droopy dog with no sense of smell, and a mystery.

Why would his uncle call this clumsy dog his "most treasured possession?" And why did he put a gold coin on the dog's collar?

And who will continue Uncle Drake's quest-to find the most coveted pirate treasure in the world?

Join Homer, his sister Gwendolyn, and Dog on an adventure that will test their wits and courage as they leave their peaceful farm and head into a world where ruthless treasure hunters hide around every corner. Where they discover that Dog has a hidden talent and that treasure might be closer than they ever imagined...
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on May 1, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316043982
ISBN-13: 9780316043984
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • EmmaMonday, January 7, 2019 at 8:45 pm
    This book is my favorite book!! I loved it!!!!! So did all my friends that read it!
    • reeahe1617
      reeahe1617Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at 7:19 amFeatured
      Do you want to read a story about a dog that doesn’t make you cry? Well, Smells Like Dog by Suzanne Selfors is the book for you. This book takes place in modern days, and traverses through many different locations such as the pudding farm, the town of Milkydale, the big city, Ajitabh’s tower, the museum, and Madame’s lair. The protagonist is Homer Winslow Pudding. He is a 12 year old boy with big hopes of becoming a treasure hunter and becoming like his departed Uncle Drake. The antagonist is Madame le Directeur. She is the one who murdered Homer’s uncle because they were looking for the same map. The book focuses on a very droopy dog named Dog. He was Homer’s uncle’s most valued possession due to his secret treasure hunting abilities. The first conflict in the story is that Homer’s father will not let him pursue his treasure hunting dreams. The second and larger conflict is that Madame Le Directeur is looking for the same map that Homer is, and is willing to kill him to get it. The turning point is when Homer’s uncle’s most treasured possession is delivered to him after the death of his uncle. This possession turned out to be a very droopy dog with a mysterious coin that throws Homer into his treasure hunting dream. This book was great. It was funny, mysterious, and very enjoyable. I recommend it to everyone with a sense of adventure.
      • s35130
        s35130Thursday, March 12, 2015 at 9:21 am
        homer wants to be like his treasure hunting uncle. but when he finds out about his uncle being eaten by a giant man-eating tortoise he feels lost like couldn’t find his way home lost like home was another place you can go to. homer inherits 2 thing from uncle drake. the 1st thing is a lazy dog with droopy ears and the 2nt thing is a mystery will he figure out what L.O.S.T really means? will is dog really be help full?
        • brannancreekside
          brannancreeksideThursday, September 18, 2014 at 11:35 am55 stars
          love this book
          • secret_booker
            secret_bookerThursday, June 5, 2014 at 6:30 pm55 stars
            At first I only read this book to get ar points but then After about maybe pg 30 I was hooke and started reading the whole series Please check this book out
            • ikyra_marie
              ikyra_marieTuesday, March 18, 2014 at 10:13 pm
              looks good.I'm confused whether it's a good book or not though.Either people say it is good or they say it's not.
              • hyper_monkey
                hyper_monkeyMonday, January 27, 2014 at 3:02 pm22 stars
                It's alright . . . I guess. I had to read this for Battle of The Books a couple of years ago. The thing is, it's kind of a complicated plot, and if you miss something, you end up confused for the rest of the book. There are just too many characters and names to remember to make this really worth reading. And I'm not easily confused. I am, however, easily bored.
                • hello_summer
                  hello_summerTuesday, January 28, 2014 at 6:06 pm22 stars
                  This book is just, well weird. Seriously eaten by a tortoise?
                • kfdancer2003
                  kfdancer2003Monday, January 27, 2014 at 10:18 am55 stars
                  i am in battle of the books at school and it is amazing i it cool when he is figuring out what he is tring to find
                  • hello_summer
                    hello_summerMonday, January 27, 2014 at 4:44 pm22 stars
                    I read it for Battle of the Books too! It is a really good book.
                  • mangogirl12
                    mangogirl12Wednesday, October 23, 2013 at 10:08 am55 stars
                    Another good book. It is about a dog who can smell treasure and a boy who goes to the city w/ his sister. They go through an evil woman and a MAN EATING TORTOISE!!!!!! Will they get their treasure? Read this book to find out.
                    • loverThursday, October 3, 2013 at 3:05 pm
                      this book is awesome it talks about about a dog who was a stor when he was a regular dog