Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 5P4.332853
Who stole the hamster from Room 11? A once-happy class is set on edge in this humorous, highly relatable mystery perfect for middle-grade readers.

The day the hamster disappears from Smashie McPerter’s class begins like any other. Well, except for the fact that the teacher is out sick and Smashie’s class is stuck with Mr. Carper, the worst substitute in the world. And except for the mysterious business with the glue. And except for the fact that Smashie is wrestling with a terrible problem, which only partly stems from her extreme aversion to hamster feet. As the peaceable and productive days of Room 11 turn into paranoia-fueled chaos, as natural suspects produce natural alibis and motives remain unmotivated, Smashie and her best friend, Dontel, are forced to the limits of their parlor-room detecting to set things right.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on February 10, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763661457
ISBN-13: 9780763661458
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • finessedshorty
    finessedshortyMonday, July 30, 2018 at 3:19 pm55 stars
    I Got this book from the library and from the back cover it seemed like it was going to be a interesting book so far I would rate this 5 stars and probably recommend this.
    • Nindy Wednesday, December 7, 2016 at 5:25 am
      Wonderful book!
      • NinWednesday, December 7, 2016 at 5:24 am
        I LOVE this book!!
        • inventor60
          inventor60Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 5:44 pm33 stars
          It all starts when the teacher is out sick and Smashie's class gets the worst substitute on the Earth. But the chaos has just started. The hamster comes next as it goes missing from the class................................ ........ ........................ ................................... ..........................
          • catface173
            catface173Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 4:23 pm11 star
            No offense but the cover looks bad and the book is bad. I normally LOVE mysteries but I didn't like this one . . .
            • squirmyloo
              squirmylooThursday, September 24, 2015 at 11:28 am44 stars
              This book was hilarious! I love to read mystery books and guess how stories are going to end. I recommend this book for the suspense.
              • hullo
                hulloTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 2:57 pm
                I did not really like this book. I did not understand what the author was trying to pursue. All I understood is 'who stole the hamster from Room 11?'
                • genius1326
                  genius1326Saturday, August 22, 2015 at 12:54 pm33 stars
                  It was ok, but not the best. But I thought it was good, and it was a really thought provoking book that is a page turner. I liked it, and you probably will, too!
                  • sushi321
                    sushi321Friday, July 31, 2015 at 11:26 am22 stars
                    This book was like meh. It was sorta confusing and the book was weird. The mystery was a missing hamster. It was also incredibly boring. I didn't like and I really DO NOT recommend it.
                    • bobelly
                      bobellyFriday, July 31, 2015 at 11:13 am55 stars
                      This is an fun story to try to figure out. It wasn't who I thought it would be and my guess changed a lot. I think Smashie does funny things.