Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.248441

Two years after being released from Camp Green Lake, Armpit is home in Austin, Texas, trying to turn his life around. But it’s hard when you have a record, and everyone expects the worst from you. The only person who believes in him is Ginny, his 10-year old disabled neighbour. Together, they are learning to take small steps. And he seems to be on the right path, until X-Ray, a buddy from Camp Green Lake, comes up with a get-rich-quick scheme. This leads to a chance encounter with teen pop sensation, Kaira DeLeon, and suddenly his life spins out of control, with only one thing for certain. He’ll never be the same again.

In his first major novel since Holes, critically acclaimed novelist Louis Sachar uses his signature wit combined with a unique blend of adventure and deeply felt characters to explore issues of race, the nature of celebrity, the invisible connections that determine a person’s life, and what it takes to stay on course. Doing the right thing is never a wrong choice – but a small step in the right direction.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 10, 2006 by Doubleday Canada
ISBN-10: 0385661576
ISBN-13: 9780385661577
18 Book Reviews
  • hamstergirl11
    hamstergirl11Wednesday, December 23, 2020 at 7:22 am
    Louis Sachar is a really great author and this book is a sequel to the book "Holes". This book follows Theodore Johnson, otherwise know as "Armpit", has adventures with his friend Ginny. Really good and happy and very sad at times. READ!!
    • skeleton-boi-01
      skeleton-boi-01Friday, October 16, 2020 at 10:10 am33 stars
      that book sounds really interesting!!!
      • skeleton-boi-01
        skeleton-boi-01Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 9:39 am33 stars
        i have not read it yet
        • snowthaproduct
          snowthaproductSunday, July 12, 2020 at 1:18 pm55 stars
          Best book ever sequel from Holes it follows Armpit after he is released from Camp Green Lake. Along with his friend X-Ray so if your a fan of Holes by Louis Sachar this book is for you.
          • blossomreader
            blossomreaderSunday, May 24, 2020 at 8:13 am44 stars
            Armpit wants to do a lot of things after returning from camp. He really wants to lose the name Armpit, save money, avoid violent situations, and more. He was doing well until he becomes a part of a ticket scam with his friend X-ray. This is trouble! What will happen? Read this book to find out! I really liked this book, and if you read Holes, I'm sure you will too.
            • bobbobbob
              bobbobbobSunday, February 23, 2020 at 3:50 pm44 stars
              Armpit has just been released from jail. He is trying to turn his life around while he earns money. He gets $6.50 for each hour he works. Suddenly, his old friend, whose name is X-Ray, comes up with a get rich quick scheme. The plan is to buy 12 tickets to a Kairia DeLeon concert. Then resell the tickets for $135. At first, Armpit is hesitant. He has worked very hard me 3 months. But he eventually agrees. This idea(💡)leads to his friend almost being arrested. Along the way, he becomes Kairias close friend and saves her and her bodyguard from being murdered by Kairia's boss, El Genius who is stealing money from her bank account. In the end, she and Armpit break up although they were never really together anyway. Finally, I find this book, overall, a good sequel(although I was disappointed 😞 not to find Stanley Yelnats in the book).
              • roxanne3
                roxanne3Friday, January 24, 2020 at 8:32 pm33 stars
                I read this and did not especially like it, I asked another well read friend and my school librarian to read it, but no feedback yet!!
                • chacedaneil18
                  chacedaneil18Friday, June 1, 2018 at 8:02 am
                  my little brother can read this
                  • mrupp
                    mruppWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 9:02 am44 stars
                    Even though I have not seen the movie of Holes, or read the book, I felt like I did not need to read(or watch) to understand small steps. It has the same characters, but they are in a different place, and are on a COMPLETELY different story line, mentioning the holes story line, every once and a while. Armpit's friend has come up with a "Get-rich-quick" scheme, and Armpit is worrying if it will work or not. I would TOTALLY recommend this book, but for people 11-12 to read it, because it has some parts that younger kids would not understand.....
                    • kingoftimothy
                      kingoftimothyMonday, June 23, 2014 at 10:18 pm
                      This is a great sequel to holes (not exactly a sequel but has some of the characters).There are two guys that are trying to sell tickets. They get in trouble and go through many different problems.