Small Steps: The Year I Got Polio (Houghton Mifflin The Nation's Choice: Theme Paperbacks On Level Theme 1: Courage, Grade 6) (Houghton Mifflin Reading: The Nation's Choice)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.228431
In September 1949, Peg collapses at her school in Austin, Minnesota . She goes home with a high fever, and around midnight, she starts to vomit. Her parents take her to the hospital where she is diagnosed with three different kinds of polio. She spends a little time at Sheltering Arms before she is transferred to University Hospital because she needs a respirator. Peg is placed under an oxygen tent to help her breathe a little easier. After a few days, she is allowed to move out of isolation but all of the things in her room are burned because they may contain the virus. Her new room has a roommate named Tommy who is put into an iron lung. Peg reads to him when she's feeling better, and they listen to The Lone Ranger. Every day, she changes the hot pack part of the Kenny treatment to hot baths instead. After she starts to recover, the so-called Mrs. Crab does the stretching exercises. After Peg improves, she is moved back to the Sheltering Arms hospital where she rooms with four other girls who have polio, Dorothy, Shirley, Alice and Renee. The girls all partake in the Christmas program, where Peg is able to walk with a boy to the stage.
Paperback, 184 pages
Published on September 15, 2000 by HOUGHTON MIFFLIN
ISBN-10: 0618062742
ISBN-13: 9780618062744
13 Book Reviews
  • Amilia Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 6:16 pm
    Amazing I almost cryed
    • lupitaaa
      lupitaaaFriday, October 14, 2016 at 10:50 am55 stars
      I read this for a group and I didn't like it but now I really like it and it's so interesting And it's easy for someone to relate to this book :)
      • ebm
        ebmTuesday, November 3, 2015 at 12:13 pm
        Peg got polio and she was paralyzed from the neck to down. Her parents took her to Sheltering Arms right away. After Sheltering arms she went to University Hospital in Minnesota. She stayed there for a very long time. She had to learn to walk. When she got better she went back to Sheltering arms. Will she be able to walk? Read the story if you want to know the whole story.
        • nickfnaf4
          nickfnaf4Tuesday, November 3, 2015 at 12:07 pm44 stars
          I like this book because it shows tonever give up,but wil peg walk agian.
          • byefelicia
            byefeliciaTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 7:40 am
            this book is just amazing! She went through all this pain and she fought for her life. She didn't give up. She wanted to live! I can't imagine what she had to go through, she fought polio, she wasn't willing to give up her life. She's an inspiration, a female roll model. I want to be as brave as she was when I'm older.
            • am1209
              am1209Tuesday, October 13, 2015 at 7:37 am
              Peg's story was so inspiring. It shows that she was brave and had the courage to fight through what seemed like the toughest battle that she ever had to go through. You should read this book because it has a lot of great details.
              • aphillips1Tuesday, October 13, 2015 at 7:33 am
                This book is just amazing! I mean she is a hero and a roll model. She didn't give up, she fought polio. She went through all this pain. This is her battle, she has lived with polio, she went through torture time and therapy It's hard to imagine what she went through. She didn't want to give up she didn't want to lose everything she had. You should read this book. I give it five stars!
                • cameljump
                  cameljumpTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 7:29 am
                  This book is a very good book. Its about a girl named Peg Kehret and she got polio and paralyzed from the neck down
                  • aquabubble
                    aquabubbleTuesday, June 9, 2015 at 3:15 pm
                    Following Peg's journey feels like you are there in the moment with her: everything she went through in this story in a way, reaches out to you. I loved hearing her long road to recovery: she made so many friends and learned so much! I would definitely recommend this book to any older kid, it would appeal to so many people! 10/10 for Small Steps!
                    • acase
                      acaseFriday, April 10, 2015 at 11:21 am55 stars
                      Warning: This book mad me cry! Its so sweet! I LOVE THIS BOOK!