Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.246970
Cameron Boxer is very happy to spend his life avoiding homework, hanging out with his friends, and gaming for hours in his basement. It's not too hard for him to get away with it . . . until he gets so caught up in one game that he almost lets his house burn down around him.
Oops.
It's time for some serious damage control--so Cameron and his friends invent a fake school club that will make it seem like they're doing good deeds instead of slacking off. The problem? Some kids think the club is real--and Cameron is stuck being president.
Soon Cameron is part of a mission to save a beaver named Elvis from certain extinction. Along the way, he makes some new friends--and some powerful new enemies. The guy who never cared about anything is now at the center of everything . . . and it's going to take all his slacker skills to win this round.

Hardcover, 230 pages
Published on April 26, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545823153
ISBN-13: 9780545823159
122 Book Reviews
  • amari21Wednesday, December 16, 2020 at 10:50 am
    the book was OK it has a good story line but the ending could have been better
    • belle252
      belle252Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 12:05 am55 stars
      Cameron Boxer is an average 8th grader with an average lifestyle the way he likes it, simple. But he's really good at one thing and that is Video Games if anything he spends all his time playing video games with his friends but his parents don't approve of that lifestyle. They want him to join a club or take part in something bigger than video games. So he comes up with a club called P.A.G. He doesn't intend for it to be serious just a joke and he really hopes no one joins. But one day a girl notices the club and joins along with her a guidance counselor also notices it and they both think it's the best thing ever. Soon over half the school has joined the P.AG and now Cameron is in charge of the biggest thing at school, this is so not his lifestyle. Read this book to see how Cameron changes as a person and realizes video games are not a lifestyle and there are things bigger than that.
      • the-odd1sout
        the-odd1soutThursday, July 30, 2020 at 6:49 am44 stars
        I really liked the book. I thought that the ending could have been better.
        • kyzakycy-158023957526
          kyzakycy-158023957526Friday, January 31, 2020 at 3:41 pm33 stars
          This book was okay this book is about a slacker person that thinks that video games are better than his life. Then he gets into trouble, os he creates a fake school club that he uses to cover him slacking off. But soon he starts to get into a mission that revolves around saving a beavers life.
          • coc01222
            coc01222Friday, January 31, 2020 at 9:05 am33 stars
            This book called Slacker is a decent book but has some problems. First of all the ending did not have a good visual and it just said that they saved the beaver there was no action. Second of all, there were a lot of details but the climax didn't pop out at all. Lastly, the book was ok overall but there wasn't much suspense.This is why I give this book a 3 star rating.
            • Donald_TrumpThursday, October 31, 2019 at 8:27 pm
              I say this book is great for the world and everyone should read it. #WallBuilder
              • jayden6924
                jayden6924Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 6:59 pm33 stars
                I really didn't like this book. It was kind of boring. All of the people were beavers. It is about a boy who is a really lazy person. He wasn't the smartest either. But somehow he manages t get student council. I can relate to the main character because we are both lazy. Overall I didn't really like this book.
                • JakeWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 2:54 pm
                  This is a nice book. Had good details and I even read it twice. You should read it.
                  • Nathan PougeMonday, June 10, 2019 at 7:19 am
                    I thought SLACKER was an amazing book! I feel like I am Cam because LOVE to play Video Games.
                    • Gus KerrMonday, June 3, 2019 at 6:41 am
                      I liked Slacker because the book involved video games and helping other people. The one thing I disliked about Slacker was that it started off slow. In the beginning, we were introduced to Cam and Pavel they were best friends and that they liked playing video games together but that is really all they told us about. In the middle of the book, it started to get interesting because Cam got in trouble so he had to join a club but he did not want to so e made a fake club. Near the end of the book, Cams club was one of the most famous clubs in the world because they helped everybody in the community. That is why I really liked the book. In stars, I would give it a 4.5 rating.