Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.246970
Cameron Boxer is very happy to spend his life avoiding homework, hanging out with his friends, and gaming for hours in his basement. It's not too hard for him to get away with it . . . until he gets so caught up in one game that he almost lets his house burn down around him.
Oops.
It's time for some serious damage control--so Cameron and his friends invent a fake school club that will make it seem like they're doing good deeds instead of slacking off. The problem? Some kids think the club is real--and Cameron is stuck being president.
Soon Cameron is part of a mission to save a beaver named Elvis from certain extinction. Along the way, he makes some new friends--and some powerful new enemies. The guy who never cared about anything is now at the center of everything . . . and it's going to take all his slacker skills to win this round.

Hardcover, 230 pages
Published on April 26, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545823153
ISBN-13: 9780545823159
117 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Donald_TrumpThursday, October 31, 2019 at 8:27 pm
    I say this book is great for the world and everyone should read it. #WallBuilder
    • ball_is_life_14
      ball_is_life_14Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 6:59 pm33 stars
      I really didn't like this book. It was kind of boring. All of the people were beavers. It is about a boy who is a really lazy person. He wasn't the smartest either. But somehow he manages t get student council. I can relate to the main character because we are both lazy. Overall I didn't really like this book.
      • JakeWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 2:54 pm
        This is a nice book. Had good details and I even read it twice. You should read it.
        • Nathan PougeMonday, June 10, 2019 at 7:19 am
          I thought SLACKER was an amazing book! I feel like I am Cam because LOVE to play Video Games.
          • Gus KerrMonday, June 3, 2019 at 6:41 am
            I liked Slacker because the book involved video games and helping other people. The one thing I disliked about Slacker was that it started off slow. In the beginning, we were introduced to Cam and Pavel they were best friends and that they liked playing video games together but that is really all they told us about. In the middle of the book, it started to get interesting because Cam got in trouble so he had to join a club but he did not want to so e made a fake club. Near the end of the book, Cams club was one of the most famous clubs in the world because they helped everybody in the community. That is why I really liked the book. In stars, I would give it a 4.5 rating.
            • EvilmckillpeoplTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 8:07 am
              Who reads books when you can play video games???
              • kruzingwithk9s
                kruzingwithk9sSunday, May 19, 2019 at 10:26 am55 stars
                Cameron Boxer, who lives his life playing video games. Nearly lets his house burn down after not hearing his mom about a baked ziti, after that his parents tell him that unless he gets involved, he wont be able to play video games anymore. Him and his friends make this "fake" club called the P.A.G. aka, the positive action group. However the fake club goes down the tube when people start to JOIN. Now he has no time for video games besides a little here and there! What will he do? read it and find out!
                • NinjaSunday, April 28, 2019 at 8:32 am
                  this is my favorite because it is fun to read and I chose this book because im a gamer and I like video-games.
                  • mememasterSaturday, April 27, 2019 at 6:33 pm
                    Ok so this boook ISSSSSSS GOOOOD
                    • SomeoneIguessFriday, April 26, 2019 at 9:35 pm
                      This book is actually really great but I wish there was a bit more . :p