Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.5135275

A #1 New York Times bestseller

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price--and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can't pull it off alone...

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction―if they don't kill each other first.

Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on September 29, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1627792120
ISBN-13: 9781627792127
8 Book Reviews
  • scythe123
    scythe123Monday, May 24, 2021 at 8:03 pm55 stars
    This was a really well done book about six teens who are offered a chance at completing a heist for 30 million kruge (that is the currency in this book). I think the characters were my favorite part of this. I liked exploring each one of their personalities. And I know, some people may totally disagree, but I found most of the content in this suitable for someone 11 and up. I read it when I was 10 myself, and there was nothing that disturbed me greatly. In my opinion, this is a very well done YA fantasy novel. I see why it is one of the most popular YA fantasy novels.
    • ellasin
      ellasinFriday, May 14, 2021 at 4:50 pm
      AMAZING WRITING! LEIGH BARDUGO HAS CREATED SUCH A MAJESTIC (AND PERFECT) UNIVERSE WERE PERFECT CHARACTERS DO EXIST! THIS BOOK HAS BRIGHTENED MY LIFE! I WAS IN LOVE WITH THE CHARACTERS AND WITH EVERY SECOND I SPENT READING! HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
      • 878Tuesday, April 21, 2020 at 11:06 am
        First of all Leigh Bardugo's writing improved a lot from the Grisha Trilogy . I think that this book has unfathomably amazing, well thought-out , and incredibly realistic characters. These characters combined with Bardugo's exquisite world building,and impeccable storyline make this one of the best books of all time . In
        • fewunderstand
          fewunderstandFriday, November 4, 2016 at 12:48 pm55 stars
          My #1 favorite book ever out of around 100 i have read. Love this book so much, became emotionaly attached to the characters. <3
          • JackSunday, October 16, 2016 at 7:53 am
            I read this book before it even came out (I got an ARC) and I immediately fell in love with it. The characters, the setting, the attention to detail, everything about it is spot on. Every single chapter is brimming with interesting concepts and characterization. The attention Bardugo has taken to each character's backstory is incredible and the depth of the Grisha world is unbelievable. This made my top five books of all time list without even trying!
            • EllaFriday, October 14, 2016 at 3:24 pm
              THIS DUOLOGY IS ONE OF THE BEST THINGS EVER!! It is such a unique and amazing read. It has diversity, LGBTQ+ representation, it has strong female characters, an amazing setting, many plot twists (that will have you going back several pages and rereading), the writing is so wonderful. Everything, just everything about it is magnificent and beautiful. Definitely a must read!
              • Ava Becken Wednesday, August 24, 2016 at 8:11 am
                I liked this book a lot. The characters and plot are great, and the setting is unique. My favorite characters were Kaz and Inej. I can't wait for the sequel.
                • Andres LanzasMonday, August 22, 2016 at 8:12 pm
                  I personally really found this book interesting, it makes me reflect on my life and how thankful I should be to not be in a situation like the character is in. Kaz is in a bad style of life, he surrounds himself with criminals,older people, and just bad influences on him. As I read the book, I can't stop but think what I would do in the situation and how I would react to what is happening. But all that is just me, what would you do if you were in Kaz's situation?