Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.45068
Raina Telgemeier’s #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile!

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.

Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540607
ISBN-13: 9780545540605
1196 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tazzie
    tazzieTuesday, November 12, 2019 at 2:15 pm55 stars
    very funny and interesting. I love all Raina Telmeier books.
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprSaturday, November 9, 2019 at 11:16 am22 stars
      Before you read this book review, I want to clarify that this is just my opinion, and please do not get angry at me for feeling this way. I first was introduced to Smile by a friend and I LOVED it so obviously, I decided to read Raina's other books because I thought that if this book was excellent her other books would be too! But I was SO wrong. Smile was really meaningful to me, and I actually learned things from it. The characters were developed excellently and the story was brilliant and relatable. In Sisters, I didn't even know if a plot existed, and I learned nothing from reading this. The pace was sluggish and I could barely finish this book, but I finished it, for the sake of Smile. Next, I read Drama. The plot wasn't very interesting, unless you like mushy romance from which you don't learn anything. The characters were developed well, but I still couldn't completely understand their actions. Again, the pace was terribly slow and boring and I learned NOTHING from reading this. I moved onto Ghosts, and Guts. I don't know what motivated me to read them, but I still did. I was looking for a book that was as good as Smile but I found none. Recently i read Guts.. I didn't get the story. I didn't get the plot. I didn't get WHY Raina was writing this. It was just a book that wasted paper and didn't teach me anything. If this review discouraged you not to read Smile or any of Raina's books, please read them. Smile was a truly wonderful book but after that everything went downhill. For this book i would give it 2 stars, just to be nice, for the sake of Smile.
      • breathofthewild
        breathofthewildThursday, November 7, 2019 at 9:42 am44 stars
        Its good. Kinda short, but that may just be me because I read big books. It's an autobiography. love it
        • KITTY102Thursday, November 7, 2019 at 8:59 am
          Sisters is a AWESOME book! when my friend read the book at libaery when we were in line i asked her what book is that she said baby sister and when we went to libary again i saw sisters and it was AWESOME
          • sitra501
            sitra501Wednesday, November 6, 2019 at 4:13 pm
            OMG SUCH A GOOD BOOK!!!! THE BEST
            • emilyyadron
              emilyyadronSunday, November 3, 2019 at 4:33 pm55 stars
              I don't want to give away to much information but it is a true story. It is about a girl name Rian and how she wants a sister.
              • BayliemSaturday, November 2, 2019 at 6:25 pm
                this book is so so so so so so true😂
                • mysteriousbeast
                  mysteriousbeastWednesday, October 23, 2019 at 11:37 am55 stars
                  its really good
                  • icecream_heavan
                    icecream_heavanThursday, October 10, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
                    Hey guys this is a great book about two sisters who need to learn to get along. You guys should read it. Shout out to noooo because a acceidently made her un-follow me so I diceded to follow her. I will shout out my followers now.
                    • bagels
                      bagelsSaturday, October 5, 2019 at 5:22 pm55 stars
                      It's about Raina and her sister Amara Amara Hates every one and this summer they went to Colorado for a family reunion and Raina Is Trying to stay peaceful