Twelve-year-old Matt is left on his own in the Maine wilderness while his father leaves to bring the rest of the family to their new settlement. When he befriends Attean, an Indian chief’s grandson, he is invited to join the Beaver tribe and move north. Should Matt abandon his hopes of ever seeing his family again and go on to a new life?


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Paperback, 135 pages
Published on August 2, 2011 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547577117
ISBN-13: 9780547577111
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • e06
    e06Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 9:43 am
    This is a required reading book in 5th grade and my class just finished it! It is about a 13 year old boy named Matt and his father leaves him in the forest alone with a wooden cabin, rifle, and a watch that he has to remember to wind everyday. Soon Matt bumps into indians that seem a little intimidating but soon it seems to grow on Matt. Go read the book to see all the other adventures Matt and the indians have!
    • dogoreader1
      dogoreader1Monday, February 13, 2017 at 6:38 pm55 stars
      I read this book and it was excellent. This book was about a 13 year old boy named Matt learning more about how to survive in the woods by the Native Americans. Attean taught Matt many things. Matt is left alone for a while to guard the family's wilderness home in Maine. This book is also related to "My Side of the Mountain". That book is about a 15 year old boy named Sam Gribley who runs away from his home from his parents and 8 siblings. Also he meets and trains a falcon naming her Frightful. He meets new people and has many adventures with them. He is still able to survive throughout 2 winters. He made all kinds of suits and made strange foods. I'm making a connection to "The Sign of the Beaver".
      • hanli
        hanliWednesday, February 24, 2016 at 11:41 pm55 stars
        The Sign of the Beaver was an excellent introduction to life among pioneers and Native Americans in the eighteenth-century American colonies. The book was about a 13 year old boy named Matt who was left behind with a cabin in the Maine wilderness as he awaits his father to bring the rest of Matt's family. As his father left, Matt struggled and developed a relationship with a Native American boy named Attean, and eventually became a trusted person of the Beaver tribe. The novel was full of precise details concerning the tasks and objects that filled everyday life, as well as contained a good deal of adventure and suspense. The author, Elizabeth George Speare, had an insightful and sensitive portrayal of the relations among white settlers and Native Americans. The external conflict between Matt and Attean often made me felt uneasy throughout the story when the tension between the two boys build up. However, I felt it was very heartwarming when Matt finally realized that he had became part of the Beaver tribe and he was accepted as one of their members. I found this book to be quite meaningful, and I learned that maturity comes when one accepts responsibility and learns to be resourceful and self reliant. Self-reliance and an understanding of how to live in harmony with nature can ensure survival in even the most pressing situations. Therefore, I believe people should consider the viewpoints of those who are different from them and be open to learning from them. Finally, I really enjoyed the ending of The Sign of the Beaver because Matt chose to wait for his long lost father even when he was given a chance to move along with the Beaver tribe, and I was full of happiness when Matt’s father did finally arrive to see Matt had kept their cabin safe and sound.
        • alex28
          alex28Thursday, June 13, 2013 at 5:34 pm11 star
          I read it and did not like it.
          • ammy59
            ammy59Monday, May 6, 2013 at 3:27 pm44 stars
            I am reading this book in my book club... and it's pretty good
            • gtaylor505
              gtaylor505Wednesday, May 1, 2013 at 3:58 pm33 stars
              I like this okay, but maybe you will disagree. This book is an interesting story about a boy who has to survive the dangerous wilderness by himself. But then he discovers the sign of the Beaver! Little does he know, more adventure is still to come…
              • bballo14
                bballo14Tuesday, April 9, 2013 at 5:01 pm55 stars
                Awesome
                • cherrylollipop
                  cherrylollipopTuesday, April 9, 2013 at 9:54 am55 stars
                  I just read this book in class but I already read it last year in 4th grade for JTU, Jenkins,Thurston University but I really liked it i mean it was ok you should try reading it
                  • donutgirl234
                    donutgirl234Thursday, March 28, 2013 at 10:25 am55 stars
                    I'm reading this book for class and so far it's really interesting.
                    • alliecatsmeow
                      alliecatsmeowWednesday, March 27, 2013 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                      i like this book because my class is reading it now and all the characters are amazing, for example Attean and indian boy, and matt the white boy/ odd one out.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      This is one of my favorite books...
                      The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                      alestr1718
                      alestr1718 wrote:

                      I'd love to read this.
                      Surviving High School: A Novel

                      Jake Paul wrote:

                      Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                      Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                      Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                      I have that book already!!!?!
                      The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...