Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.932818
Twelve-year-old Matt is left on his own in the Maine wilderness while his father leaves to bring the rest of the family to their new settlement. When he befriends Attean, an Indian chief’s grandson, he is invited to join the Beaver tribe and move north. Should Matt abandon his hopes of ever seeing his family again and go on to a new life?


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on April 17, 1986 by Collins Educational
ISBN-10: 0003300293
ISBN-13: 9780003300291
28 Book Reviews
  • awesomegirlb1
    awesomegirlb1Monday, November 9, 2020 at 1:56 pm55 stars
    It shows all the emotions a person needs. It help people create a more wiser mind. It is a very fun book to read in any way.
    • nac
      nacTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 12:16 pm55 stars
      Now that their frontier house is finished, 12 year-old Matt must stay behind while his father travels to bring their family to the frontier. And Matt becomes friends with an Indian boy his own age, and teaches him to read. From this Indian boy and his tribe he learns how to trap fish and animals, hunt, and turn nothing into something. And from them he also learns lessons of loyalty and trust, and as the winter comes and goes, Matt wonders if his family will ever come....... I enjoyed this story because of how he learned to survive on his own, and all the survival skills were cool.
      • efdgsgfgWednesday, January 9, 2019 at 1:33 pm
        good awesome
        • TrinityThursday, November 29, 2018 at 5:39 pm
          I don’t like this book i had to read it for school and i lost interest in it and it was pretty boring to me but it may but better for others, that is just my opinion.
          • firepause551
            firepause551Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 4:38 pm33 stars
            This book was ok...o me... i kinda lost interest at the start but then it got better!!! my fav part is the end (not the sad part)!
            • fudagiwuny
              fudagiwunyTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 11:14 am55 stars
              in the book he is left home alone his parents do... blank come home reccomended
              • majise
                majiseFriday, November 10, 2017 at 9:18 am55 stars
                I LOVE THIS BOOK!
                • jynyhivafi
                  jynyhivafiFriday, November 10, 2017 at 7:55 am
                  The sign of the beaver is a bout a boy who his dad leaves for a couple months and leaves his gun with his kid so he can get food but then it gets stolen and meets someone who can help him.
                  • pobubaredi
                    pobubarediThursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:04 am55 stars
                    Matt is left alone at his house for a few months until his family comes to see him. Matts biggest fear is Indians and he has heard that Indians have been spotted close to where he lives. Will he ever conquer his fear of the Indians?
                    • gekixejago
                      gekixejagoWednesday, October 4, 2017 at 5:17 am55 stars
                      The book is very good. I like how Matt survives without his family. I should say Matt is a survivalist.