Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.932818
Twelve-year-old Matt is left on his own in the Maine wilderness while his father leaves to bring the rest of the family to their new settlement. When he befriends Attean, an Indian chief’s grandson, he is invited to join the Beaver tribe and move north. Should Matt abandon his hopes of ever seeing his family again and go on to a new life?


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on April 17, 1986 by Collins Educational
ISBN-10: 0003300293
ISBN-13: 9780003300291
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • efdgsgfgWednesday, January 9, 2019 at 1:33 pm
    good awesome
    • TrinityThursday, November 29, 2018 at 5:39 pm
      I don’t like this book i had to read it for school and i lost interest in it and it was pretty boring to me but it may but better for others, that is just my opinion.
      • firepause551
        firepause551Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 4:38 pm33 stars
        This book was ok...o me... i kinda lost interest at the start but then it got better!!! my fav part is the end (not the sad part)!
        • fudagiwuny
          fudagiwunyTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 11:14 am55 stars
          in the book he is left home alone his parents do... blank come home reccomended
          • majise
            majiseFriday, November 10, 2017 at 9:18 am55 stars
            I LOVE THIS BOOK!
            • jynyhivafi
              jynyhivafiFriday, November 10, 2017 at 7:55 am
              The sign of the beaver is a bout a boy who his dad leaves for a couple months and leaves his gun with his kid so he can get food but then it gets stolen and meets someone who can help him.
              • pobubaredi
                pobubarediThursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:04 am55 stars
                Matt is left alone at his house for a few months until his family comes to see him. Matts biggest fear is Indians and he has heard that Indians have been spotted close to where he lives. Will he ever conquer his fear of the Indians?
                • gekixejago
                  gekixejagoWednesday, October 4, 2017 at 5:17 am55 stars
                  The book is very good. I like how Matt survives without his family. I should say Matt is a survivalist.
                  • e06
                    e06Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 9:43 am
                    This is a required reading book in 5th grade and my class just finished it! It is about a 13 year old boy named Matt and his father leaves him in the forest alone with a wooden cabin, rifle, and a watch that he has to remember to wind everyday. Soon Matt bumps into indians that seem a little intimidating but soon it seems to grow on Matt. Go read the book to see all the other adventures Matt and the indians have!
                    • dogoreader1
                      dogoreader1Monday, February 13, 2017 at 6:38 pm55 stars
                      I read this book and it was excellent. This book was about a 13 year old boy named Matt learning more about how to survive in the woods by the Native Americans. Attean taught Matt many things. Matt is left alone for a while to guard the family's wilderness home in Maine. This book is also related to "My Side of the Mountain". That book is about a 15 year old boy named Sam Gribley who runs away from his home from his parents and 8 siblings. Also he meets and trains a falcon naming her Frightful. He meets new people and has many adventures with them. He is still able to survive throughout 2 winters. He made all kinds of suits and made strange foods. I'm making a connection to "The Sign of the Beaver".