A New York Times Bestseller

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz


Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive--one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn't want to fade into the background--and it's a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, while emphasizing the importance of role models, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0399186212
ISBN-13: 9780399186219
16 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • gamingqueen103
    gamingqueen103Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 4:25 pm
    I LUV THIS BOOK! Although, it doesn't relate to me actually...
    • Goodgirl758536Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 11:37 pm
      I really love this book ;D
      • Goodgirl758536Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 11:27 pm
        A really nice book to read ;D
        • destinyFriday, May 12, 2017 at 9:13 am
          this book is so long to read?
          • LoloHappyFriday, May 12, 2017 at 9:06 am
            Julia is short. But she is boycotting the word. When her mother forces her to do a summer camp she really doesn't want to do, Julia ends up meeting an adult with dwarfism, named Olive. She also meets a next door neighbor, Mrs. Chang, who is very artistic. As for the summer camp she doesn't want to do, it is a theatre camp, and the play is The Wizard of Oz. Julia gets casted as a munchkin, and she starts to realize who she truly is with love, friendship, and becoming an actress.
            • bookqueen1o13
              bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:09 pmFeatured
              Short is a funny heart filled novel that i will never forget. in this book julia marks is well a short person put she likes to avoid the word short . in this book her town is putting on a play ....THE WIZARD OR OZ!!!! and she meets her first adult friend named olive.( A adult with dwarfism) At her first rehearsal her brother randy all so tried out for the play.the question is will she have fun doing this play that her mom forced her into or will this be the summer she'll never forget.
              • generalchris101
                generalchris101Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 4:52 pm
                A VERY interesting book. Im gonna give it a 6 outta 10
                • super10
                  super10Sunday, March 19, 2017 at 9:31 am55 starsFeatured
                  I really thought this was a barrier breaking book. It helped me to see people who are short in a better light. It helped me realize the world from a different point of view! In the book Short, a girl named Julia Marks wants to have a summer of just writing letters to her friends and relaxing. But this is dream is crushed, because she has to try out for a university performance, and she makes it! This turns out to be a problem early, but she meets new friends along the way, like a artistic neighbor named Mrs. Chang, and she starts to enjoy and have pride in the performance! This book helped me learn to see the world in a optimistic point of view. An example of this was when Julia met Olive, an adult who was short. Olive knew that people would look at her often, but she let it go, and didn't get angry! I would definitely recommend this book to my friends, because I feel that it would inspire them, no matter how tall or short they are. Because of the inspiration I felt when reading this book, I rate it 5 out of 5 stars.
                  • CarmaMonday, February 6, 2017 at 2:53 pm
                    I like it because I'm short.
                    • jeffdaboss
                      jeffdabossThursday, January 12, 2017 at 3:11 pm55 starsFeatured
                      Julia is quite short, and doesn't particularly have talents in the theatrical business. Keeping this in mind, it surprises her that she and her brother are forced to audition for her town's summer production of Wizard of Oz. They land roles as Munchkins, and Julia doesn't like all the grueling work to which she is assigned. But once she is upgraded to flying monkey, she shifts her perspective on the world, seeing things and people in a new, artistic light. This book really focuses on a personal adventure, where Julia discovers who she is, and makes friends with the most interesting characters. She learns not to let her height define her, but her bold and creative personality. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created another success.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...