Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.364955
A New York Times Bestseller

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz


Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive--one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn't want to fade into the background--and it's a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, while emphasizing the importance of role models, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0399186212
ISBN-13: 9780399186219
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 4awesomesauce
    4awesomesauceWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 11:18 am55 stars
    This book is described vividly. I can see all the things Julia describes.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 6:06 pm55 stars
      As a short person myself, this book is so funny and is like you’re actually there with the character! Told by a girl named Julia Marks, this book is her adventure of her summer and her navigation of life. You’ll love this book, no matter what!! :D
      • queen_strong
        queen_strongMonday, May 25, 2020 at 2:41 pm
        I think this book is great!!
        • applemango
          applemangoSunday, May 17, 2020 at 11:07 pm55 stars
          I really loved this book. Julia is an awesome character, at the end of this book I read it again. I was so hooked into this book. I can imagine the costumes too!
          • bsc
            bscMonday, May 11, 2020 at 11:42 am55 stars
            Holly Goldberg Sloan does a wonderful job writing this book, making readers want more. Julia is short. That is something that has always bothered her. But one summer her mom signs her brother and her up for a play of The Wizard of Oz. Both of them get the part as munchkins! During her weeks of practice she learns that she is special just the way she is. I give this book 5 stars.
            • Zairr_roblox loFriday, May 8, 2020 at 11:47 pm
              Love this book
              • lenaplayzgames
                lenaplayzgamesFriday, May 1, 2020 at 10:50 am55 stars
                XD wow i wish i was short like Julia she doesnt know how good she has it but anyways i loved the book im in the 4th grade and almost 5 feet xD 10 out of 10 would read again
                • coolSaturday, March 16, 2019 at 6:42 pm
                  awesome book
                  • soccer_lover101
                    soccer_lover101Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 stars
                    Love it!
                    • lil123
                      lil123Friday, December 7, 2018 at 7:12 am
                      I love this book because it is bacisly the story of my best friend.