Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 4 - 7R4.429617

Marty will do anything to save his new friend Shiloh in this Newbery Medal–winning novel from Phillis Reynolds Naylor.

When Marty Preston comes across a young beagle in the hills behind his home, it's love at first sight—and also big trouble. It turns out the dog, which Marty names Shiloh, belongs to Judd Travers, who drinks too much and has a gun—and abuses his dogs. So when Shiloh runs away from Judd to Marty, Marty just has to hide him and protect him from Judd. But Marty's secret becomes too big for him to keep to himself, and it exposes his entire family to Judd's anger. How far will Marty have to go to make Shiloh his?

Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307260151
ISBN-13: 9780307260154
81 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookerMonday, July 2, 2018 at 2:27 pm
    wow
    • Owen KFriday, May 25, 2018 at 6:25 am
      I thought this book was very good. At my school we read this book for lit. circle. My class even thought it was so great that we even watched the movie during school. It is a classic realistic fiction book to read. The book is about a boy named Marty and he went to an abandoned house called the shiloh house far out in the country and he saw a young dog laying in the shade and he went up to the dog and the young dog got very scared everytime he got close to it and when he whistled the dog came right up to him wagging its tail and during the book there was an old man that would beat his dogs if they do barely anything. This book was very touching for some people, and was one of my favorite books to read.
      • noobMonday, April 23, 2018 at 9:55 am
        its the best book I ever reid
        • alllaMonday, April 23, 2018 at 9:54 am
          I love it
          • pugcurry
            pugcurryTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 6:44 am
            hello today i am going to talk about the great book shiloh. shiloh is a book a book about a kid called marty who a dog closet to his house and names him shiloh . martys family dose not want shiloh at first but after shiloh stays at martys house for a
            • 268livTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 11:41 am
              😍This book is so touching and sad. I love dogs and foster them it made me sad and happy. Go read this amazing book!
              • livlovesdogs
                livlovesdogsSunday, November 19, 2017 at 5:00 am55 stars
                I read this book at home and for school and I absolutely love it! Dog lovers and animal lovers will love this book as well
                • purplepumpkin
                  purplepumpkinSaturday, November 18, 2017 at 5:07 pm55 stars
                  The thing about this book is that you don't know when its gonna end. When i read this book i was so into it that i kept reading and reading because it was so interest. Marty is a ten year old boy that would risk his life for a dog.
                  • bunigikolo
                    bunigikoloThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:11 am55 stars
                    I love shiloh!! He is a wonderful dog and character. This is like a classic that everyone should read! :)
                    • macaroni9
                      macaroni9Tuesday, April 25, 2017 at 3:33 pm
                      this is such an amazing book but kinda sad at the same time!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ilikebunnies

                      So far this is a good book. i li...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...

                      ilikebunnies

                      This is a good book and I like a...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...

                      Karenpopo wrote:

                      It was really nice book. I crie...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      snicker9
                      snicker9 wrote:

                      Grumbolt is a mismatched stuffed...
                      Toy Academy: Some Assembly Requi...

                      Our Apps and Plugins