Marty will do anything to save his new friend Shiloh.

When Marty Preston comes across a young beagle in the hills behind his home, it's love at first sight -- and also big trouble. It turns out the dog, which Marty names Shiloh, belongs to Judd Travers, who drinks too much and has a gun -- and abuses his dogs. So when Shiloh runs away from Judd to Marty, Marty just has to hide him and protect him from Judd. But Marty's secret becomes too big for him to keep to himself, and it exposes his entire family to Judd's anger. How far will Marty have to go to make Shiloh his?

Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307260151
ISBN-13: 9780307260154
72 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • macaroni9
    macaroni9Tuesday, April 25, 2017 at 3:33 pm
    this is such an amazing book but kinda sad at the same time!!
    • eyp
      eypSunday, February 19, 2017 at 9:03 am
      A classic book that everyone should read.
      • leeglo000
        leeglo000Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 7:48 am
        This is one of my BOB books. I think that is just not right the way people treat some dogs. It is unacceptable.
        • CuteBunnies Friday, January 27, 2017 at 2:00 pm
          A beautiful story of friendship, secrets, kindness, and doing what is right.
          • godisiam
            godisiamWednesday, February 24, 2016 at 1:56 pm
            I love this book to... I read it in 4th grade. 3 beautiful years ago.
            • bluehorse3
              bluehorse3Wednesday, February 24, 2016 at 1:43 pm44 stars
              I read this in forth grade with a small group. I remember it being kind of sad, but pretty good. I don't know if I recommend this. If you love dogs and would get really super sad if one got mistreated, then this isn't a good book for you to read.
              • finnamon
                finnamonWednesday, February 3, 2016 at 1:05 pm44 stars
                So far I really like it. The first chapter is about a kid that finds a dog while he's out on a walk. The dog follows him home but it doesn't seem like his parents are going to let him keep it. I will keep reading because I like the dog and I want to find out what happens to him.
                • stanley20
                  stanley20Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 5:37 am55 stars
                  This book "Shiloh" is about a boy who find a dog that is beside the lake.The dog is hurt and the boy too care of him and they were good friend after that.But after he found out who's dog is it.He was disappointed and know why the dog was hurt.He try to let the owner to give the dog to him and he did a lot of thing.At last he got the dog.This story isn't just a story the dog of the book is a real the in the world and the arthur find the dog near a bridge call Shiloh bridge and the book's idea is from here.
                  • karlafrede
                    Mrs. FrederickMonday, September 21, 2015 at 6:55 pm55 stars
                    Excellent book if you like stories about boys and their dogs! Sad, happy, it has all the emotions.....
                    • lolfreinds101Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 3:31 pm
                      my freind sad it was crazy sad for them

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      This is one of my favorite books...
                      The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                      alestr1718
                      alestr1718 wrote:

                      I'd love to read this.
                      Surviving High School: A Novel

                      Jake Paul wrote:

                      Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                      Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                      Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                      I have that book already!!!?!
                      The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...