Marty will do anything to save his new friend Shiloh.

When Marty Preston comes across a young beagle in the hills behind his home, it's love at first sight -- and also big trouble. It turns out the dog, which Marty names Shiloh, belongs to Judd Travers, who drinks too much and has a gun -- and abuses his dogs. So when Shiloh runs away from Judd to Marty, Marty just has to hide him and protect him from Judd. But Marty's secret becomes too big for him to keep to himself, and it exposes his entire family to Judd's anger. How far will Marty have to go to make Shiloh his?

Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307260151
ISBN-13: 9780307260154
75 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • livlovesdogs
    livlovesdogsSunday, November 19, 2017 at 5:00 am55 stars
    I read this book at home and for school and I absolutely love it! Dog lovers and animal lovers will love this book as well
    • purplepumpkin
      purplepumpkinSaturday, November 18, 2017 at 5:07 pm55 stars
      The thing about this book is that you don't know when its gonna end. When i read this book i was so into it that i kept reading and reading because it was so interest. Marty is a ten year old boy that would risk his life for a dog.
      • bunigikolo
        bunigikoloThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:11 am55 stars
        I love shiloh!! He is a wonderful dog and character. This is like a classic that everyone should read! :)
        • macaroni9
          macaroni9Tuesday, April 25, 2017 at 3:33 pm
          this is such an amazing book but kinda sad at the same time!!
          • eyp
            eypSunday, February 19, 2017 at 9:03 am
            A classic book that everyone should read.
            • leeglo000
              leeglo000Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 7:48 am
              This is one of my BOB books. I think that is just not right the way people treat some dogs. It is unacceptable.
              • CuteBunnies Friday, January 27, 2017 at 2:00 pm
                A beautiful story of friendship, secrets, kindness, and doing what is right.
                • godisiam
                  godisiamWednesday, February 24, 2016 at 1:56 pm
                  I love this book to... I read it in 4th grade. 3 beautiful years ago.
                  • bluehorse3
                    bluehorse3Wednesday, February 24, 2016 at 1:43 pm44 stars
                    I read this in forth grade with a small group. I remember it being kind of sad, but pretty good. I don't know if I recommend this. If you love dogs and would get really super sad if one got mistreated, then this isn't a good book for you to read.
                    • finnamon
                      finnamonWednesday, February 3, 2016 at 1:05 pm44 stars
                      So far I really like it. The first chapter is about a kid that finds a dog while he's out on a walk. The dog follows him home but it doesn't seem like his parents are going to let him keep it. I will keep reading because I like the dog and I want to find out what happens to him.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      animal lover wrote:

                      I loved the puppy and I wish I h...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      gusto
                      gusto wrote:

                      This is a great story!
                      The Tapper Twins Go to War (With...

                      madimin05
                      madimin05 wrote:

                      Yes, I have read the book and th...
                      The Land of Stories: Worlds Collide

                      immaweirdo14

                      i wanted to read this book becau...
                      Tom the Turkey (Thanksgiving Boo...