Shiloh (The Shiloh Quartet)

Book 1 of 4 in the Shiloh Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 4 - 7R4.429617

Marty will do anything to save his new friend Shiloh in this Newbery Medal–winning novel from Phillis Reynolds Naylor.

When Marty Preston comes across a young beagle in the hills behind his home, it's love at first sight—and also big trouble. It turns out the dog, which Marty names Shiloh, belongs to Judd Travers, who drinks too much and has a gun—and abuses his dogs. So when Shiloh runs away from Judd to Marty, Marty just has to hide him and protect him from Judd. But Marty's secret becomes too big for him to keep to himself, and it exposes his entire family to Judd's anger. How far will Marty have to go to make Shiloh his?

Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307260151
ISBN-13: 9780307260154
90 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lvd3091
    lvd3091Friday, November 29, 2019 at 6:09 am
    Great it was the best book I ever read in my life I did not cry at all thank you.
    • lvd3091
      lvd3091Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 3:52 pm
      really great
      • reveille
        reveilleWednesday, July 10, 2019 at 11:01 pm55 stars
        I LOVE this book soooo much to where iv'e read it over 40 times and have memorized the entire book. I still could read this book again though and probably 100 times more. It is sad, but gets happy. It moves at the perfect pace for a reader like me. The only negative thing about this book is that it's super easy to read for me, and i'm only 12 years old. I 100% recommend this book to people, unless they are really really sensitive to dogs being hurt.
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprMonday, June 3, 2019 at 3:35 pm44 stars
          When Marty sees a dog near the Shiloh schoolhouse, he is sure that he is being abused by his owner. But havingg been told by his parents to return the dog back, Marty decides to help the dog, which he names Shiloh, in every possible way. I would recommend this book for ages 8+ This book was really good and it seems like all the Newberry Honor/Award dog books are sad. XD This book was set at a good pace and I really like dogs so this was perfect for me so I would recommend it to dog lovers.
          • ccswishingstar
            ccswishingstarTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:23 pm55 stars
            Sad, but an amazing book!
            • america😈Friday, April 26, 2019 at 1:22 pm
              this book is the best but it is sad😢
              • hannahFriday, April 26, 2019 at 10:44 am
                the book was good in thwe beginging but got sad
                • BobWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 3:06 pm
                  Awesome
                  • ShilohTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 2:16 pm
                    Shiloh is a great book. My 3rd grade teacher read this book to me along with the series and I'm still in love w/ it( i'm in 6the grade now)
                    • bookerMonday, July 2, 2018 at 2:27 pm
                      wow