Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.069911
A thrilling new series soars above the competition and redefines middle-grade fantasy fiction for a new generation!

The seven dragon tribes have been at war for generations, locked in an endless battle over an ancient, lost treasure. A secret movement called the Talons of Peace is determined to bring an end to the fighting, with the help of a prophecy -- a foretelling that calls for great sacrifice.

Five dragonets are collected to fulfill the prophecy, raised in a hidden cave and enlisted, against their will, to end the terrible war.

But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when the select five escape their underground captors to look for their original homes, what has been unleashed on the dragon world may be far more than the revolutionary planners intended . . .

Published on July 3, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1407147765
ISBN-13: 9781407147765
344 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jchen
    jchenWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 4:35 pm55 stars
    Wings of Fire is an interesting book about dragons. I really like this book and I hope to read the other book in this series.
    • jwarne
      jwarneTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 9:05 am55 stars
      This book was full of adventure. It really built up the tension in the war, and even though it seemed weird that he was so young and getting ready to be in war, I rooted for him the whole time.
      • jso6
        jso6Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 1:43 pm33 stars
        Clay is a six year old dragon. There has been a dragon war his whole life, and he is part of a movement called the Talons of Peace. I sort of liked this book, but it was really violent.
        • A ReaderMonday, July 23, 2018 at 2:19 pm
          I think this book is very well done. It is the story of a dragonet (baby dragon, in this case six years old) named Clay. He has spent his entire life living with a peace movement called the Talons of Peace. It turns out Clay and his friends are part of a prophecy that will end the Great War, which is raging across Pyrrhia, the dragon's continent. However, the book does have quite a bit of violence and gore; eggs are smashed, poisonous tail barbs are stabbed through skulls and other body parts, battlefields are drenched in blood and covered in rotting corpses, dragons are murdered, claws, teeth, and fire are used, necks are snapped on multiple occasions, the Talons of Peace members who are supposed to be taking care of the dragonets plot to kill one of them in her sleep, acidlike venom melts faces in detail, a dragon bites the head off of a "Scavenger" (human), dragons fight to the death in brutal arena battles, a dragon who has deadly burning scales burns dragons alive, and a bloodthirsty, not exactly mentally stable queen orders multiple executions and thoroughly enjoys the fighting in her arena. Languagewise, there isn't much; "heck" is uttered once. Later in the series, dragons have their own version of swear words (i.e, camel farts) but in human terms, it really doesn't mean anything other than "camel farts". Insults are thrown around ("RainWings are lazy and stupid," "That's a stupid idea", etc.), which leads us to the next thing: stereotypes. Dragons stereotype on another based on their tribe. RainWings are stupid, lazy, and incompetent. The NightWings are all great and powerful big-headed magical beings. However, each tribe is ruled by a queen, not a king. A good portion of the strong chracters are female. As for other... stuff.... a "breeding night" is mentioned , which leads to MudWings not knowing their fathers. There is drinking at a party (a queen orders a servant to find the most sober guards she has). However, the book is really good; the plot is absorbing and the characters are all very distinct. I'd definitely recommend it.
          • wolfiethewolf
            wolfiethewolfMonday, July 23, 2018 at 8:38 am55 stars
            This series really caught my attention when I was scrolling around on DOGO new. I went on there website and read a bit of the sample given and decided to borrow it from a library. I really recommend this book to all of you. I had a amazing time reading this book and I think you will too.
            • armcginn
              armcginnWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 1:00 pm55 stars
              A prophecy. A lost sky wing. A rainwing. Five dragonets born to stop the fight. Sunny (a sandwing), Tsunami (a seawing), Glory (a rainwing), Clay (a mudwing), and Starflight (a nightwing) have lived in a cave deep within a mountain all their lives, are they really capable?
              • pizzagirl7
                pizzagirl7Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 12:25 pm22 stars
                Ok I was not a fan of this book...There was action and it was kinda funny just not THAT good ok so this one Dragon clay was living in a mountain his whole life and there is a war during the dragons 🐉 and there is 5 chosen dragonets but they where still in there eggs!There is SO much action but I just was not to interested but I like how in the beginning it showed all of the dragons 🐉😃I rate it two stars and don't really recommend it sorry 😔...
                • ANNAWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 12:37 am
                  • ajg15
                    ajg15Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:56 pm44 stars
                    Clay, Glory, Tsunami, Starflight and sunny are the dragonets of prophecy hatched on the brightest night, they were born to end the fight. They were takin from there homes before they were even hatched for safety and hidden away for years. But one of them are now in danger because she is not believed to be the dragonet of the prophecy. In order to protect her clay and the others from under the mountain and go on an adventure of there life....and it's not the one they or anyone else expected. great book, you won't want to put it down until you've finished. -ajg15
                    • reader_red
                      reader_redTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 8:10 pm55 stars
                      This book was really good! Five eggs, Nightwing, Seawing, Mudwing, Sandwing, and Rainwing, are stolen to become the Dragonets of the prophecy. One big problem: There wasn't suppose to be a Rainwing, it was suppose to be a Skywing. Clay, Tsunami, Starflight, Sunny, and Glory decide to break out into freedom. But trouble comes right after they leave the mountain. Queen Scarlet, the Skywing queen, is after them...

                      Our Apps and Plugins