Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6n/an/an/an/a

“Fresh and funny.” ―New York Times Book Review

Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey.

When best friends are not forever . . .

Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others.

Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group―or out?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724164
ISBN-13: 9781626724167
57 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • picklestheduck
    picklestheduckTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 12:05 pm55 stars
    This is SUCH a good book!!! It really shows some struggles with things like social anxiety, fake friends, and public situations. This relates to me and a lot of other people. PLEASE READ THIS!!!!!!
    • applebutter
      applebutterMonday, November 4, 2019 at 8:36 am55 stars
      This book speaks to anyone who has lost a group of friends or been bullied. I for one fit in that category. When you have a group a friends that you trust and that you tell secrets to and then they turn your back to you. ITS HEART RETCHING! Many people have had this happen to them. This book speaks to those people and shows you how to realize who your real friends are. I LOVE this book so much.
      • blythem
        blythemWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 8:42 pm44 stars
        I really like this book because, Shannon and I have a lot in common. 1. We both have glasses 2. We're both shy sometimes I also think this book is interesting this book, because it is a little sad that she is left out.
        • SksksksksksWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 4:37 pm
          I loved this book it was so good and i really enjoyed it cause it was a graphic novel I would recommend it to anyone anyday!
          • SomeoneTuesday, October 29, 2019 at 3:35 pm
            I love this book its the best its funny and a real life story where you can learn about it and also they should do another part in my opinion😆 Best book ever
            • NanaMonday, October 21, 2019 at 2:58 pm
              Its amazing. I love it. Theirs the Next one is beat Friends it is in scholastic book fairs
              • menameisfeefer
                menameisfeeferMonday, October 21, 2019 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                This is the best book I have ever read it is very exciting and there is lots of transitions.
                • 22trans
                  22transThursday, October 17, 2019 at 6:20 pm55 stars
                  This book is basically about finding out who your friends want to hangout with and who they want to be as a person. That is what happened to the main character she had to find a new group of friends to hangout with. I really liked this book because it had a really good meaning and story behind it.
                  • reiley628576
                    reiley628576Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 2:46 pm44 stars
                    This book is a really good book.It is about a girl who loses her friend first she moves away then she comes back and leaves her.The girl wants to hang out with her friend but the group she hangs out with is rude and mean.I can relate to this because one time my friend left me.She went with the popular group of girls and left me and it made me sad.I got new friend and in this story she does too.
                    • hdc
                      hdcTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:34 pm55 starsFeatured
                      When best friends are not friends forever...anything to stay on top...even if it means bulling the others. Real friends is a great book about friendship and kindness to others . Shannon Hale and Leuyen Pham are amazing authors I think this book is awesome.The main characters are Jenny ,Adrienne , Jen ,and Shannon are the main characters. Adrienne met a new friend and is not wanting to be Shannon's friend because Shannon is jealous and Adrienne and her"friends" are popular so they don' t want to be friends with Shannon because she's not popular.I love this book because it tells things like friendship and how to treat others the way you want to be treated. "um...... can I be in your group" Jenny asks "um....... no" Shannon says. You would love this book because it has a great message and it's just a good book.