Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.540620
“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

From the bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and co-author with James Patterson of I Funny, House of Robots, and Treasure Hunters, comes a hilarious illustrated series about all the wacky things that happen when you live in a motel!


Eleven-year-old P. T. Wilkie may be the greatest storyteller alive. But he knows one thing for a fact: the Wonderland Motel is the best place a kid could ever live! All-you-can-eat poolside ice cream! A snack machine in the living room! A frog slide! A giant rampaging alligator! (Okay, that last one may or may not be made up.) There’s only one thing the Wonderland doesn’t have, though—customers. And if the Wonderland doesn’t get them soon, P.T. and his friend Gloria may have to say goodbye to their beloved motel forever.

They need to think BIG. They need to think BOLD. They need an OUTRAGEOUS plan. Luckily for them, Gloria is a business GENIUS, and OUTRAGEOUS is practically P.T.’s middle name. With Gloria’s smarts and P.T.’s world-famous stories and schemes, there’s got to be a way to save the Wonderland!

BONUS: Includes fun extras like P. T. Wilkie’s outrageous (and sometimes useful) things you learn living in a motel. Installment 1: How to say “Help! The toilet is clogged!” in over twenty languages!

Here's What People are saying about Welcome to Wonderland!

“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars! Kids who check into this madcap motel will want to stay forever!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

"So funny I fell off my bed!"--Izzy B., age 10

"Classic Grabenstein. The mystery should satisfy Grabenstein’s “Mr. Lemoncello” followers, and the humor and visuals will appeal to fans of his collaborations with James Patterson. This new series should be a hit."—School Library Journal

“A delight. P.T. is a hoot and a half. A funny, madcap dash. Grabenstein . . . threads in a mystery that blooms in the last act and that puts this particular read over the top."—Kirkus Reviews

“Charm galore. Easy and breezy, this well-paced novel . . . belongs in the hands of any readers wanting their bad guys bad, their good guys great, and a little of Wonderland’s promised fun in the sun.”The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on October 4, 2016 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0553536028
ISBN-13: 9780553536027
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • 30057
    30057Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 2:14 pm
    This book seems like a fun comical story to read. The cover of this book already looks like a great kids book, a nice, relaxing story to read during the summer. I am interested in seeing what this book is about at why everybody recommends and LOVES it! I can't wait to start reading.
    • dybook2018
      dybook2018Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 3:56 pm
      Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel is a book about the wonder world that Walt wilkey made in the 1963's i think and the "ice"that was hidden in the train. its a very fun book to read.
      • jaden07
        jaden07Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 1:04 pm
        i really liked this book. the hotel has lots of cool things. Such as the Hawaiian stinky fruit and the mouse that eats sausages and cheese and Stinky Beard, and the frog. i was glad when they got the lost jewels. i thought the frog shows and the pirate huntwas cool. the author outdone himself once again!
        • jso6
          jso6Saturday, June 30, 2018 at 9:45 am55 stars
          P. T. Wilkie lives at Wonderland Motel. The motel has poolside ice cream, a soft drink machine, and a ton of other things, but when a banker comes and says that they have to pay back a loan of 100,000 dollars in a week, P. T. and a girl named Gloria have to try to help save it. This was an awesome book, and I would totally recommend it to anyone in grades 5th through 8th.
          • kruzingwithk9s
            kruzingwithk9sThursday, June 28, 2018 at 1:52 pm55 stars
            This book was really funny. It is about this boy who needs to save his hotel/home. So he teams up with a girl to SAVE THE DAY!!!!!! I am so getting the next book. You need to read this.
            • bobelly
              bobellyWednesday, June 27, 2018 at 7:59 am55 stars
              All I can say is WOW! That was a very good book. It's an adventure and sort of a mystery at the same time. The characters are funny and interactive and it makes the reader feel like he's in the story. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a funny mystery story. I am also looking forward to reading the next book.
              • ShanayaMonday, June 18, 2018 at 1:18 am
                This is amazing. I wish to go to wonderland .
                • happy_cat
                  happy_catSunday, June 17, 2018 at 8:55 am55 stars
                  "Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel" is, in short, Hilarious with a capital H! By the author of the Mr. Lemoncello series (which I love!), Jacky Ha-ha (which is the best!) and iFunny series (one of the best series ever!), Chris Gaberstein does it again! A hilarious graphic novel/ novel (is a novel but has graphic novel-like pictures), this book is about P.T Wilkie, who has an amazing motel filled with great things. But has no customers, and Gloria, his friend, and him help to make it the best motel ever
                  • extrememsb
                    extrememsbFriday, June 15, 2018 at 6:28 pm44 starsFeatured
                    Ever stayed at a motel. If you have or haven't then, you should go to the Wonderland motel. This is the worlds wackiest motel! The main characters are P.T. Wilkie, Gloria, grandpa, and mom. One day a person comes from the bank and says that they have to pay a $100,000 balloon payment. Now you see, the Wonderland hasn't been getting a lot of customers. Luckily, Gloria is like a business women. She knows like everything about business. They make a lot of program such as the frog show and the treasure hunt which is available to the public. You would have to pay for certain things. A long time ago(1737) Then Sneemer brothers stole a $2,000,000,000 worth diamond. This person named Sheila Boom Boom Bailey hid it in the wonderland motel. P.T. eavesdrops what the brothers say . Thin they search for the diamonds at this zoo. This book was really awesome. This felt like a different type of an adventure book. I rate this book four out of five stars. This book is recommended to anyone. I feel like this book has an interest level of grades three and up. This is one of my favorite books!! I hope you enjoy this book!
                    • auntieb
                      auntiebThursday, June 14, 2018 at 11:03 am55 stars
                      I really love Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel it makes you want to dive right in with P.T Wilkie and his grandfather and sing along to the frog karaoke and to dig for pirate's treasure! I also love love loved the Illustrations!! Such a well done book will be reading the sequels soon!

                      More TopicsView in 3D