Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3501 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kensiethecutie2
    kensiethecutie2Friday, May 29, 2020 at 9:08 am55 stars
    A funny book about self-confidence! Rianna is an amazing character who is actually the author of this book. So I know it's based on true events I totally recommend this book. Great for any good summer read!
    • vipwannabe
      vipwannabeWednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:30 pm55 stars
      The second you start reading this you can't put it down, you'll l burst into huge fits of laughter! I recommend this to anyone who has a great sense of humour, even if it is just a little : )
      • greecelover84
        greecelover84Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 12:59 pm55 stars
        A great book. A must see. I'm not making a review because that's just spoiler. Hope you enjoy it!!
        • mesodog
          mesodogWednesday, May 27, 2020 at 12:55 pm55 stars
          This book is amazing! I have braces like Raina did. I like how she handled it she went through a lot but she new she had to do it. I also like how she was brave it can be scary going through that kind of stuff but she did it anyway and she lived through it! I HIGHLY recommend this book.
          • Chloe ChinTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 12:01 am
            It is very funny and that is a wonderful book.
            • hedgedog
              hedgedogFriday, May 22, 2020 at 1:34 pm55 stars
              This book is really funny. I recommend it for anyone with a good sense of humor. You'll be laughing when you read a little bit of it.
              • cherry-blossom
                cherry-blossomThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:02 pm44 stars
                Smile is a wonderful book by Raina Telgemeier. I really liked it because it showed the true meaning of friendship, and what it truly takes to put a smile on somebody's face. Can be read by anybody, anytime.
                • alushi
                  alushiThursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:28 am55 stars
                  i think this is amazing
                  • doogoo
                    doogooThursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:04 am55 stars
                    I have this book and it is AWESOME. you cannot ever get tired of it. It helped me get ready to have braces and now i have them. she changed my life.
                    • queen_strong
                      queen_strongFriday, May 22, 2020 at 10:07 am
                      I have a dance friend who got braces recently too!
                    • mesodog
                      mesodogThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:41 am55 stars
                      This book is amazing! I have braces like Raina did. I like how she handled it. She's brave! And she went through a lot but she dealt with it. And stayed strong!