Josie always liked visiting her grandmother in the countryside. But when her mother loses her job in the city and they're forced to relocate along with Josie's sister, Annie, she realizes she doesn't like the country that much. Especially because Grandma Jeannie has some strange rules: Don't bring any dolls into the house. And never, ever go near the house in the woods behind their yard. Soon though, Josie manages to make friends with the most popular girl in the sixth grade, Vanessa. When Vanessa eventually invites Josie back to her house to hang out, Josie doesn't question it. Not even when Vanessa takes her into the woods, and down an old dirt road, toward the very house Grandma Jeannie had warned her about.
As Josie gets caught up in her illicit friendship with Vanessa, Annie is caught in the crossfire. What follows is a chilling tale of dark magic, friendship, and some verrrrrry creepy dolls.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on August 28, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338212249
ISBN-13: 9781338212242
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • california13
    california13Wednesday, November 4, 2020 at 12:05 pm22 stars
    It’s a good book, but it’s more of a triller than a horror.
    • lenikhvadagianiMonday, November 2, 2020 at 5:01 am
      I love this book..... I read it a million times. It is not scary for me but really exciting!
      • TanishaSaturday, October 31, 2020 at 10:43 pm
        It is scary book .but i liked it
        • owlfluff
          owlfluffSaturday, October 31, 2020 at 8:34 pm44 stars
          This book isn't nearly as scary as people say. It was exciting; not as terrifying as the cover makes it seem though.
          • Adam Friday, October 30, 2020 at 11:44 am
            The book Collector is a scary book that involves these 5 character's. Beryl,Vanessa,Grandma Jeannie,Josie and Anna. There is also these weird rules called 1,no dolls 2,Keep windows close mader what 3,Don't go in the woods behind the house.8 and under should not read this book because the dreams's are scary. The end of the book is terrifying.
            • quinns
              quinnsFriday, October 30, 2020 at 11:42 am55 stars
              The Collector is really Scary. It involves witches, magic, rules, and mystery. My favorite character is Beryl ! There three rules in the book 1 Don`t go into the woods! 2 No dolls in the house! 3 Keep the windows shut at night no matter what . I love this book. It is so shocking. I highly recommend 5th graders and up to read this amazing book!
              • kyzefipyrafy
                kyzefipyrafyFriday, October 30, 2020 at 11:41 am55 stars
                The collector is a scary book and fascinating book. I recommend for you to read this book because it's very scary. You should read this book to learn about the book. The collector is an excellent book. I recommend 4th grade and up that can read this book.
                • wakumekolydo
                  wakumekolydoFriday, October 30, 2020 at 11:39 am
                  You should read the collector because it will give you nightmares and also it will give you chills down your spine .If you are reading it by your self will be scared.You wont even want to read it by your self. The collector is scary and terrifying if you live by the woods you would want to read and if you read it enough and you know Beryl you would be scared and frightened.
                  • wyjulycalahu
                    wyjulycalahuFriday, October 30, 2020 at 11:36 am
                    This book is scary. IT is one of the most scariest books that any of my teachers have read to me. Tanks you KR Alexander for making the book Collector. It was funny when Beryl whispered Josie because every one got chills. Warning: kids up to ten and older will maybe not be scared or have bad dreams.
                    • pafuzudezavi
                      pafuzudezaviFriday, October 30, 2020 at 11:30 am
                      i like collector because it has a lot of scary details and is kind of scared me.I think a lot of people should read this book. Its obout a girl and her sister and there mom. they went to go live with there grandmother.there grandmother had strange rules . #1 never leave the window open at night #2 no dolls in the house #3 dont ever go in the woods.