Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.261113
This Newbery Honor-winning, hilarious Floridian adventure involves new kids, bullies, alligators, eco-warriors, pancakes, pint-sized owls, and more. A New York Times bestseller!

Everybody loves Mother Paula’s pancakes. Everybody, that is, except the colony of cute but endangered owls that live on the building site of the new restaurant. Can the awkward new kid and his feral friend prank the pancake people out of town? Or is the owls’ fate cemented in pancake batter?

“A wonderful tour de-force.” —The Boston Globe

“A rollicking, righteous story.” —The Miami Herald

“Yes, it is a hoot.”—The Washington Post
Paperback, 56 pages
Published on November 5, 2007 by Mary Glasgow Magazines
ISBN-10: 1905775040
ISBN-13: 9781905775040
187 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bsc
    bscSunday, November 1, 2020 at 3:56 pm11 star
    I did not like this book all! Lots of violence.
    • A R Thursday, October 29, 2020 at 6:47 pm
      Personally, I really liked hoot. It is about a boy named Roy who is new to Coconut Cove, Florida and is bullied. As that is happening, Mother Puala's All American Pancake house is being built on a construction site with burrows from burrowing owls. At the construction site, there have been many cases of vandalism and they are looking for the culprit. Meanwhile, Roy makes friends with Beatrice and Mullet Fingers, Beatrice's step brother. When they find out about the owl burrows, they do everything that they can to protect them. Officer David Delinko is the cop in charge of protecting the construction site and one time, he fell asleep on the job and when he finds out about the owls, he is torn between doing his job or saving the owls. Actress Kimberly Lou Dixon plays the role of Mother Paula in the commercials and will be coming to Coconut Cove for the opening Ceremony but, there is no restaurant to go in to so they did it in front of the construction site.
      • MKThursday, October 29, 2020 at 2:23 pm
        Hoot is a book which you can deeply connect to on different levels. It is a book filled with mystery, sympathy, adventure, and being brave. Roy Eberhardt is an amazing person to look up to, he is an inspiring character. This is a realistic fiction book, it makes you want to help save the environment! I love books which have character development and this is a book with major development. He is a shy new kid in the beginning, but in the end he makes national TV! This book is for all ages, I recommend it to anyone!
        • SAWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 1:34 pm
          Hoot is absolutely awesome. I have read the whole entire book and I love how the author makes such a small situation turn into such a big thing with all of his detail and description of events. Roy is the new kid who faces a huge decision whenever he learns that a new pancake house is going to be built on the homes of some burrowing owls. Along with his running friend Mullet, who is a lot like Tarzan, and Beatrice the Bear, Roy will have to fight the law to do what's right, but will his personality allow him to do this? Will Roy look past his fears and speak for what's right? Will he save the owls?
          • JLWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 1:34 pm
            This book unmistakably was an enjoyable one although the plot was kind of predictable to be honest. Included many moral lessons and messages and I would definitely recommend this to others.
            • JAWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 1:19 pm
              Hoot (in my opinion), is a very good book. I love how the story just feels like it is going in the right direction for most of the story like how it explained that Roy moved a bunch of times and at that point I knew that Roy had a hard past which built up some of his character. I feel like this author was making this book to maybe raise awareness about dying animals by creating a book with and animal noise as its name and making the book around protecting the owls. One big reason why more people should read Hoot is because the character development is astonishing a tough, mean girl ends up becoming soft and caring, a "regular person" becomes an animal care activist. To top that, many scenes in the novel are just super funny like when curly shoots his toilet because of how scared he is, or when Roy encounters the bald man with his vicious dog while riding his bike.
              • joelWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 1:13 pm
                great book
                • A.S.KWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 1:12 pm
                  There is a Pancake House who is making a new story in the town of Coconut Cove. There is a curious boy who moves constantly. There is a runaway delinquent. There is a mean mother. The pancake property gets constantly vandalized. But why? And who is doing it? There is an irresponsible police officer. A kind actor. A horrible Vice President. But most importantly, there are Owls.
                  • MAWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 1:12 pm
                    I think that that this is a very good book with a nice plot. I very much think that some of the characters in the book are good for a lesson, kinda like the good guys, and then there are the characters with the bad influence, like the bad guys. I think that what the good guys are doing is pretty bad, but at least they have a good reason for it. The events that happen in this book are pretty weird, but still kinda funny. I like the ending, where everyone kind of goes their own ways. The only thing that I do not really like about the book is that there is some cussing in it. Overall though, I would probably rate it four and a half stars.
                    • MHWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 1:11 pm
                      I thought that this book was really good. Roy moves to a new town, school, and is having trouble making friends/fitting in. He spots something intriguing but someone tried to stop him. Later on he finds out that he needs to save something more than having a breakfast place right in his town. Roy tells the school bully something that made the bully tried to steal something. He ended up somewhere unpleasant. Roy then helps his new friends save the little animals. The day of the construction site groundbreaking was when something exciting happened. Roy's friend (ran away from family) does something heroically and his mom tries to claim she is brave of him. The ending of that ended very well, but Roy's friend doesn't have a very happy ending.