Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062104896
ISBN-13: 9780062104892
242 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • midnightluna
    midnightlunaThursday, July 12, 2018 at 9:03 am33 stars
    The School for Good and Evil is a story about two girls who discover that sometimes, what you think you want, isn't quite what you truly want. Your ideas for good and evil will be thoroughly explored!
    • rosey1
      rosey1Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 5:53 pm
      I love this book so much! it takes you into a whole different world with magic, mysteries, and of course, good and evil. it is so amazing and I recommend it to anyone who wants to escape to a world full of magic!
      • dreambig100
        dreambig100Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 2:06 pm44 stars
        The School for Good and Evil is a wonderful tale about friendship, fairytales, and most importantly good and evil. Sophie and Agatha are best friends but there just different Sophie is popular, pretty, and acts kind. While Agatha is kind hearted (but no one knows that), stubborn, and sometimes, grumpy. When an important day arises Sophie and Agatha are secretly placed in The School for Good and Evil. Except Sophie is in the School for Evil while Agatha is in the school for good. The ending is very unexpected, know one would ever have guessed what happened. This is one of my favorite books, I can't wait to read the 2nd one.
        • belle252
          belle252Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 2:56 pm55 stars
          Sophie and Agatha are both blinded by looks and tastes .But when these two best friends are put into two different schools one for good and one for evil the realize who they really are Agatha the bad one is good and Sophie the good one is evil , they find out who is who and get a fairy tale about themselves i can not wit to read the rest of the series.
          • 30057
            30057Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 9:52 am
            A School for Good and Evil. These 2 traits don't seem to match well, but it would be interesting how people keep this school in the right order. It would be cool to see good and even evil people become friends with each other and the problems that might fall into. I am really curious to begin reading and see what mysterious things lie in this strange odd school.
            • candyexpress
              candyexpressWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 8:54 pm55 stars
              This was an incredible book, a recommendation from a friend. The plot and idea of the book were very interesting. The general idea was that children were taken away to the School for Good and Evil, and there, they would be trained to be villains/antagonists or superhero/protagonist. I found this as a unique but enjoyable idea that made to be a stable foundation for the rest of the book. The plot twists that were thrown in throughout the book kept me captivated. I enjoyed the book greatly, and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in starting a book that they won't be able to put down until the last page.
              • camkayekitten
                camkayekittenTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 11:10 am55 stars
                Loved this book! In fact while I was reading it, I actually met the author Soman Chainani! He taught us writing tips at writeout camp and I was in his class!
                • cerulian
                  cerulianTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 8:15 am44 stars
                  I read this book and it was exciting and amazing. It was very interesting concept because children are kidnapped so that they can be trained into heroes and villains. I wonder what would happen to me if I was a child in this book that got kidnapped. I am excited for the second book. Recommend it for anyone that likes fantasy!
                  • katiebug37
                    katiebug37Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 2:25 pm55 stars
                    This book was so cool! A girl that thought that she should be a princess ends up at the evil school and the girl who thought that she'd be evil had to go to the good school and it follows them as they fight with the program to go where they want.
                    • kenziegirl2008
                      kenziegirl2008Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 9:06 am55 stars
                      This book is about two girls Agatha and Sophie who live in the small town of Gavaldon where they are caught up in the legend of the school for good and evil. While Sophie believes in the legend and dedicates every day of her life to making sure that she will be kidnapped and brought to the school for good Agatha thinks nothing of it. Agatha is sure to be enrolled in the school for evil and Sophie the school for good, right? But on the legendary night that the school master comes to kidnap two children, one good one evil, all Sophies dreams go in the drain and Agatha and Sophie`s lifes take a big flip flop.This is a fantastic book that made me want to stay up all night reading and I reccomend third through sixth graders this book.