Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062104896
ISBN-13: 9780062104892
254 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • happy_cat
    happy_catSunday, August 19, 2018 at 11:41 am55 stars
    Sophie and Agatha live in a world where there is a school for Good and Evil. For example, while princesses like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty go to the School for Good - evil witches like Queen E.V.I.L go to the School for Evil. Sophie has her hopes set for the Schoo, of Good - I mean, she’s pretty good, while her friend Agatha favored the School of Evil. However... they both enter the School for Evil. This book is too good to explain with words - it’s such a cool fantasy fairy tale, and besides, the cover? Loving it!
    • kruzingwithk9s
      kruzingwithk9sSunday, August 19, 2018 at 9:20 am55 stars
      Every four years on the eleventh day of the eleventh month, the School Master takes two kids. One that is good and pure, and one that is evil, and rotten. A girl named Sophie has been waiting her whole life to be taken, to be good and pure and find true love, well when the School Master kidnaps Sophie, her best friend gets into it somehow. But there is a bit of a mix-up. Sophie is in the SCHOOL FOR EVIL!!!! Will this show what her true colors are? This was a really good book and i could not put it down, when i cant put it down, then you know its a good book. So i think you need to read it, so what you waiting for?
      • demigod3000
        demigod3000Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 4:16 pm55 stars
        This book-The School for Good and Evil is really great. If you are into good/evil books or books where there is some sort of magicalish school-for example, Harry Potter, then this is the book series for you.
        • kathead
          katheadSunday, August 12, 2018 at 8:48 pm55 stars
          Honestly, after reading this only one time through I was absolutely in love with everything. I've now read it more times than I can count and any time I come into my library they now ask if I want to check this book out again. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read.
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
            This book really has a cool take on fairy tales. I like how you read on, expecting Sophie and Agatha to go to the school they're supposed to, but when they are switched, they end up finding out more about themselves.
            • evasivekid
              evasivekidWednesday, August 1, 2018 at 9:52 am55 stars
              I think that this book gets of to a slow start but by Chapter eight the book really held my interest. This is a pretty long book that I would recommend to any true readers, but if you are just reading because Mom/Dad is making you then this is probably not for you. I rated this book five stars because there were multiple twists and turns at the most unexpected of times.
              • katniss122
                katniss122Sunday, July 29, 2018 at 10:49 am44 starsFeatured
                Sophie and Agatha are utter opposites. Sophie with her pink dresses, beauty creams, and good deeds are sure to win her a definite spot in the school for good. While on the other hand Agatha is a black loving gloomy girl that couldn't care less about the school for good or the school for evil. But suddenly the girls are swept away into the night and taken to the mysterious schools. But Agatha lands her self in the beautiful crystal palace known as the shcool for good. While Sophie some how finds her self in the filthy old palace known as the school for evil. Sophie ad Agahta both immeditaly think there must have been a horrible mistake and that Agatha should be in the school for Evil and Sophie must belong in the school for good. But Agatha's just home sick and trying to find a qay home. While Sophie on the other hand wants to win the heart of Tedros who she believes is destine to be her true love and claim her rightful spot in the magnificent school of good. But does she really belong there? Was what Agatha and Sophie thought a mistake actually where they belong? In this mysterious fantasy novel to girls must find out who they truly are and where they truly and rightfully belong. "The School for Good And Evil" is a great book and I highly suggest it for anyone who is looking for a great fantasy read.
                • SophieistehbestFriday, July 27, 2018 at 3:52 pm
                  Of all books I would say The School for Good in Evil is my favirote. Reccomend you to read it!
                  • snicker9
                    snicker9Saturday, July 21, 2018 at 8:09 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Every few years two children are taken in the middle of the night - the best and the worst. Years later they appear as characters - as heroes and villains -in fairytale books that appear in the town. Sophie has dreamed of going to the School for Good and becoming the perfect princess. But her best friend Agatha is completely opposite from her, with a fondness for black clothes and cats, and keeps to herself. Everyone assumes that she will the other child taken from the village, but will attend the School for Evil. But things are completely turned upside down and both girls are out of their element when they are switched. Sophie is forced into the School for Evil and Agatha is a student at the School for Good. All Agatha wants to do is go home. All Sophie wants is to be taken to her true school, and win the heart of her true love. Will their friendship survive as they are set against one another? Will they find what they both think is their happily ever after? Or was the mistake really not a mistake at all? The School for Good and Evil is one of my new favorite books! Going into reading it, I thought that the concept wouldn't be pulled off right, but I was wrong, and it was amazing! My favorite part was definitely watching the character growth of Agatha and Sophie, as well as their interactions with the characters around them. It really pulled me into the character's heads, and I never was bored, I always wanted to keep reading. I love reading books about fairytale stories, and I thought this was a really original tale about how fairytales come about. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it to fairytale and fantasy lovers.
                    • soyster
                      soysterFriday, July 20, 2018 at 2:41 pm44 stars
                      I liked how this book was so exiting. Sophie and Agatha lived in a village where every once in a while somebody named the School Master who so far would take 2 kids one being good (typically pretty, kind, ect.) and the other evil (typically ugly, an outcast, ect). Sophie, who loved pink and wore fancy dresses looked like the best candidate for good, while Agatha wore black frocks, had a mean cat, and disliked people. When they are taken though, Sophie goes to the school for Evil, while Agatha goes to the school for good. Through a series of twists and turns, they find out how their story unravels. This book was really cool as it left me feeling hungry for what would happen next.
                             
                       

                      Our Apps and Plugins