Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307931471
ISBN-13: 9780307931474
186 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • demigod3000
    demigod3000Monday, August 13, 2018 at 5:51 am55 stars
    Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is an amazing book. These kids have to play this game-to escape from the library. They must solve all sorts of riddles and team up in order to be the ones to escape. The colorful characters, funny humor and tense pressure makes this book a must read.
    • eaglegamer
      eaglegamerFriday, August 10, 2018 at 10:27 pm55 stars
      I liked Mr. Lemoncello's Library because it contains lots of riddles and puzzles to solve. There is a rivalry between the two main characters, Kyle Keeley and Charles Chillington. Kyle plays by the rules and is fair, but Charles turns out to be a bully and cheats all the time. There is a lot of suspense and twists and turns in the competition to see who can figure out how to get out of this high tech library.
      • jwarne
        jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 4:55 pm55 stars
        I love this book! I would so love to be in this library. It reminded me of the Wonka factory, but with books. It was really full of adventure and I liked it a lot.
        • 400bella
          400bellaMonday, August 6, 2018 at 11:45 am55 stars
          This is one of my new favorite books. when the new library is built. 12, 12-year-olds get picked to stay the night in the library before it opens. in the morning Mr. Lemoncello announces that they are now playing a game. A few kids leave but the ones who stay get to play. This is how the game works, the first person to find a way out that is not an entrance or a window wins the game and will be famous. The kid's team up. Team Kyle against team Charles. Each team is finding clues. different clues, but in the same way out. When all Charles teammates leave his team for Kyles, can Charles do it by himself they did find a lot of clues. There are clues everywhere. But the question is Which Team Will Escape First?
          • Man manSaturday, August 4, 2018 at 4:20 pm
            I love this book. I don’t have the exact book but I have one that is the same. Kyle Keeley loves Mr. Lemoncellos’s games. But as he is playing one of his favorite games with his 2 brothers, he breaks a window and gets grounded. Then there is a contest at his school on which 11 kids’ essays are the best and The prize, they get to stay overnight in Mr. Lemoncellos library. Kyle, along with some friends and enemies are,chosen. Then there is a contest to get out of the library and then the game goes crazy. This book is sure to bring you to surprises everywhere, and everything could be a trick to your senses, don’t trust anything. In the end __________ wins.
            • toriburn
              toriburnWednesday, August 1, 2018 at 3:51 pm55 stars
              Kyle Kelley loves mr. Lemoncello's games. He is Kyle's idol. So when Kyle finds out about a essay that could get him into the new Lemoncello library before it opens, Kyle jumps at the chance. But when he finds out that him and some other kids are locked in, Kyle and his friends must find a way out of the library before anyone else. A fascinating book filled with puzzles and fun, Chris Grabenstein really outdid himself.
              • dangerred
                dangerredTuesday, July 31, 2018 at 10:31 am55 stars
                This book is about four kids and they have to escape from this library and its a puzzle.I like this book because its fun and funny.
                • readytoread
                  readytoreadMonday, July 30, 2018 at 4:45 pm55 stars
                  It is such a fun read! It may even be my fav book. And I like the bonus puzzle in the end. It is also nice to see different people's perspectives in the book. Even though Charles is supposed to be the "bad guy", he's interesting to read about. It all starts out when Kyle wins the prize for getting to be locked up in the new library...
                  • readytoread
                    readytoreadMonday, July 30, 2018 at 4:29 pm55 stars
                    This book should be read by every child. It brings you to a point where you can figure out reading brings great knowledge. They even explain this at the end of the book. Such interestingly made up characters, and a fun read. It makes me imagine how cool it would be to be locked up in a library. It may even be my favorite book.
                    • lpro24
                      lpro24Sunday, July 29, 2018 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                      This is great. Loved this book and was so interesting . I never wanted to put it down and wanted to solve the problems in it
                             
                       

                      Our Apps and Plugins