The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Book 1 of 4 in the The Penderwicks Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Hardcover, 262 pages
Published on June 14, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375831436
ISBN-13: 9780375831430
100 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • readingkendal
    readingkendalSaturday, July 22, 2017 at 12:37 pm55 stars
    This book about 4 sisters and a boy. The 4 sisters and their father go to Arundel for summer vacation. There they meet Mrs. Tifton who is very mean and rude. There they discover Jeffrey Mrs. Tifton's son. They become great friends and help to stop Mrs. Tifton from sending him to military school. If you like friendship, loyalty, and fun you should read this!!!!!
    • casgirl
      casgirlThursday, July 13, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
      i really liked this book , it had kind of classical sort of feel to it . i haven't read the other ones in this series yet , but i plan to .
      • ilikebunnies
        ilikebunniesFriday, June 30, 2017 at 4:26 pm
        In the book the penderwicks the four sisters go on many adventurs one of them is when they went on a walk there yongest sister almost got hert because of a bull when she went into the cage it was only. In the end the penderwicks had many adventurs to gather.
        • soffles
          sofflesTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 2:05 pm55 stars
          This was a really good book. I just loved their summer adventure and everything that happened. I definitely recommend this book to everybody! It was a great book!
          • lotusdance
            lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:36 pm55 stars
            The Penderwicks is one of my favorite books because of the adventure and the sisters. If you like a bit of adventure and are always looking for series to read then the Penderwicks is for you.
            • lotusdance
              lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
              this one of my favorite books and I recommend it to everyone. The four sisters different personalities and how they react to situations makes the book a joy to read. In the end, the summer turns out to be an adventure no one expected.
              • jumpforjoy
                jumpforjoyTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 12:22 pm55 stars
                I have read this book many times, and every time I open it I dig into it. Four sisters; Rosalind, Skye, Jane, and Batty, go on a vacation with their father to a charming cottage in Massachusetts to meet a friendly yet mysterious boy, and make many memories they they will forever treasure. Rosalind is a thirteen year old teen who acts like a mother to her younger, motherless siblings. Skye is a practical, tom- boyish, mathematician who is my personal favorite with her careless, high- spirited personality. Jane is the dreamiest sister who has hopes to someday be an author. Batty has a quiet, sweet personality who is closest to Rosalind, and thinks of her dog, Hound as a king in her own small world. She is mostly content as long as she is near Hound, and wearing her beloved, tattered butterfly wings. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a classic book to love and always remember.
                • llpanda
                  llpandaThursday, June 8, 2017 at 5:58 pm55 starsFeatured
                  Don't ever judge a book by its cover you'll be sorry you did. About three years ago my mom picked up this book and said that she thought it would be a good read. I took one look at the cover and said " that looks boring ". She insisted that I try it and over the summer I did. It was fantastic! The very book is now sitting on my shelf and I have re-read it many times. Rosalind,Skye,Jane,and Batty are not entirely sure what this summer may hold for them but they are determined to make it a Penderwick one. Rosalind the oldest and the prettiest if you ask any of the other sisters acts like the girls' mother because their mother died years before while also trying to sort out her feeling about a teenage gardener named Cagney. Skye the only sister that looks anything like their mother with blond hair and blue eyes is ready for a relaxing summer with just the perfect amount of sisters fun and trouble. Jane the head in the clouds author sister is working on her new Sabrina Starr book. Batty the youngest is happy to be out playing with her best friend the family dog named Hound. What looks to be a good summer turns into a great one with adventures like a man goring bull, two rabbits, a grouchy neighbor, and a very mysterious boy.
                  • jumpforjoy
                    jumpforjoyFriday, June 16, 2017 at 1:41 pm55 stars
                    That is a great summarization, llpanda!
                  • rrwwnn
                    rrwwnnSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 11:36 am
                    their going on a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel and their exploring the magic filled gardens and turns out the cook makes the best cookies ever.
                    • lees
                      leesThursday, June 1, 2017 at 11:49 am55 stars
                      one summer day the three Penderwick girls and there dog and father go on vacation to a place where they meet a very adventurous boy and many adventures.