The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Book 1 of 4 in the The Penderwicks Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Hardcover, 262 pages
Published on June 14, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375831436
ISBN-13: 9780375831430
104 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • crazycat
    crazycatTuesday, September 12, 2017 at 3:26 pm55 stars
    This book was about four sisters and their interesting neighbor. It is a sweet story and very fun to read. I loved it and I am sure you would too!! ;)
    • annette
      annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:26 pm44 stars
      I read this book a few years ago but I found it at the library last week and started reading it again since I forgot a lot of the story line. Once I picked it up I couldn't stop reading it until I finished again. I liked this book when I was younger and I still think it is cute now.
      • georgiasilver
        georgiasilverThursday, August 24, 2017 at 10:00 pm
        Just like the interesting Boy, I assume that this adventure of the Penderwicks will be just as amazing, possibly magical, nostalgic and interesting tale. I look forward to reading this book, and the fact that it has won such an award motivates me even more.
        • gothicgirl85615
          gothicgirl85615Wednesday, August 23, 2017 at 6:14 am22 stars
          it was okay but it didnt interest me it was really boring i like adventure boks but te cover looked cool so i read it but it didnt interest me
          • readingkendal
            readingkendalSaturday, July 22, 2017 at 12:37 pm55 stars
            This book about 4 sisters and a boy. The 4 sisters and their father go to Arundel for summer vacation. There they meet Mrs. Tifton who is very mean and rude. There they discover Jeffrey Mrs. Tifton's son. They become great friends and help to stop Mrs. Tifton from sending him to military school. If you like friendship, loyalty, and fun you should read this!!!!!
            • casgirl
              casgirlThursday, July 13, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
              i really liked this book , it had kind of classical sort of feel to it . i haven't read the other ones in this series yet , but i plan to .
              • ilikebunnies
                ilikebunniesFriday, June 30, 2017 at 4:26 pm
                In the book the penderwicks the four sisters go on many adventurs one of them is when they went on a walk there yongest sister almost got hert because of a bull when she went into the cage it was only. In the end the penderwicks had many adventurs to gather.
                • soffles
                  sofflesTuesday, June 27, 2017 at 2:05 pm55 stars
                  This was a really good book. I just loved their summer adventure and everything that happened. I definitely recommend this book to everybody! It was a great book!
                  • lotusdance
                    lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:36 pm55 stars
                    The Penderwicks is one of my favorite books because of the adventure and the sisters. If you like a bit of adventure and are always looking for series to read then the Penderwicks is for you.
                    • lotusdance
                      lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
                      this one of my favorite books and I recommend it to everyone. The four sisters different personalities and how they react to situations makes the book a joy to read. In the end, the summer turns out to be an adventure no one expected.