Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Hardcover, 262 pages
Published on June 14, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375831436
ISBN-13: 9780375831430
158 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jaden07
    jaden07Monday, August 6, 2018 at 5:47 am
    this was an boring book. this was definitely not my favorite. it seemed like a boring classic . i dont recommend this book. im sorry for the negative review, i usually like all books.
    • mSaturday, August 4, 2018 at 7:02 am
      I think the books get better as you go along, so if you thought it was just okay, YOU NEED TO READ THE WHOLE SERIES. YOU WILL THANK ME FOR IT :D
      • jwarne
        jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:20 am
        I got a little lost reading this book. I think because it's so big? I want to read it again, but we have books out at the library right now so I have to wait. This book is one I want to try again, because everybody says it's so good.
        • bailey2005
          bailey2005Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 9:25 am44 stars
          This is such a funny book! I has started reading it, but I was too busy to finish it. Usually when there are alot of main characters it is confusing, but this made so much sense! I love how all the siblings had those meetings.
          • toriburn
            toriburnTuesday, July 31, 2018 at 11:00 am33 stars
            The Penderwicks was about four sisters, Rosalind, Sky, Jane, and Batty. For their summer, they rent a house and meet two boys named Cagney and Jeffrey. they have some interesting adventures together, but then Jeffrey must go to military school and the sisters try to save him. Funny and well written, i dub 'the three stars.
            • dangerred
              dangerredTuesday, July 31, 2018 at 10:15 am55 stars
              This book is a super good one. I think it is very inspiring. The characters are so funny and brave .My favorite character is Batty.
              • sports_star
                sports_starFriday, July 27, 2018 at 7:20 am44 stars
                It's a book about, well, four sisters. They get to spend the summer on a big estate, and have tons of fun there. I don't really know how to describe it, but it is a really fun book, and you should definitely read it!
                • ajg15
                  ajg15Thursday, July 19, 2018 at 10:46 am44 stars
                  The 4 Penderwick girls: Risalind, Skye, Jane & Batty plus there cargo on a summer holiday at a beautiful cottage at an estate (Arundel), they discover a nice biy, Jeffery, that happens to be the son of the estate owner, Mrs. Tifton. Mrs. Tifton does NOT like the penderwick girls and believes they are a bad influence to her precious Jeffery. Other then that Jeffery and the girls end up having greatest summer of there lives.This is a great story, you'll fall in love with the Pemderwick's. Thanks for reading -Ajg15
                  • dolphin8
                    dolphin8Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 3:23 pm44 stars
                    so far in this book it was relay cool . Fire went on in the hotel because they left the oven on the fixed it though. When they were on there trip they go lost but found the hotel still.
                    • Puppygirl Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 2:34 pm
                      I have never heard of it before but i could try it.

                      Our Apps and Plugins