Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Hardcover, 262 pages
Published on June 14, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375831436
ISBN-13: 9780375831430
137 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • haydengirl71907
    haydengirl71907Monday, June 18, 2018 at 7:43 pm33 stars
    I liked this book because it as exciting and adventurous. It has funny moments throughout the book.I recommend this book for kids who like adventures.
    • e06
      e06Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 6:03 pm55 stars
      This is perfect for summer! I loved it! It was so intresting and entertaining . One of my favorite books! Highly recommend! Definitely should read!
      • awesomessb
        awesomessbFriday, June 15, 2018 at 10:28 am33 stars
        The Penderwicks are a family who have recently rented a place to live in. The girls learn of two kids who live there, Cagney and Jefferey. They help each other and form a new friendship. This was a cool book, but not one I enjoyed a lot. It is a great story for grades 5 and up.
        • tybook2018
          tybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 10:03 am
          The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy is a magical book that i really enjoy very much!
          • eybook2018
            eybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:44 pm55 stars
            The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy is sooooo magical and fun I don't know how to describe it!
            • nybook2018
              nybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:29 pm
              The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy is a very magical book for me. it makes me think about all the magic in this book and many others.
              • eybook2018
                eybook2018Monday, June 11, 2018 at 2:37 pm55 stars
                This book sparked my imagination and allowed to make a picture in my head so virtual that i thought i was actually there. And i totally recommend this book!
                • jmvolcano
                  jmvolcanoSunday, June 10, 2018 at 11:32 am55 stars
                  This book is absolutely incredible! I really loved this wonderful tale of the Penderwicks. The story is so intricately woven, so much that it kept me interested all the way through. I love the storyline, how it seems so much like real life, but not enough that it’s not interesting to read about. All four of the Penderwicks sisters and Jeffery (and Hound) have their distinctive personalities that make them who they are. How Skye stands up for her beliefs, how Jane has a superb imagination, how Rosalind has a big-sister personality and a loving heart, how Batty loves animals, how Jeffery is kind, and how Hound is... well.... Hound. You will love this story, every minute of it, like something soft to wrap around yourself and hold close.
                  • extrememsb
                    extrememsbSaturday, June 9, 2018 at 11:27 am44 stars
                    This was a heartwarming book. It is about these four sisters Rosalind, Jane, Skye, and Batty being the youngest. Their mother has died so they only have their father. They would usually go to their rented vacation spot in Cape Cod but, the manager sold their vacation house. Now they are going to this place in Arundel. When they first reach their, they see a mansion. Now they are supposed to stay in a cottage. The cottage is in the back of the mansion. There are so many rooms in the cottage and they think that it is the perfect house. They later meet these two boys named Cagney and Jeffrey. Jeffrey has a problem. he has to go to this military academy but he doesn't want to. He plans to run away from his parents. He hides at the Penderwick's cottage. Towards the end, Jeffrey explains why he doesn't want to go to the military academy. He ends up not going and everything turns up fine. This was a very simple story. It is also very heartwarming. This was an awesome book. It was mainly about friendship. This is definitely one of my favorite books. I recommend this book to anyone. I rate this book four out of five stars!
                    • adventure0329
                      adventure0329Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
                      This book is ssssssssssssssoooooooooooooooo good.The penderwicks are going to#11 staford street for the summer vacation.The penderwicks don't know anyone there!This is going to be a terrible summer break,or will it?

                      More TopicsView in 3D