The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.663976

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson-a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any "normal" friends.
But things don't stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia-only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name.the Bermuda Triangle.
Now Percy and his friends-Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson-must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family-one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon's son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on March 20, 2007 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423103343
ISBN-13: 9781423103349
353 Book Reviews
  • qcoco
    qcocoMonday, July 19, 2021 at 2:09 am
    Actuality i love Greek novels and adventures and that is what Percy books are all about
    • nalahong1019
      nalahong1019Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 5:07 am55 stars
      I've read all of the PJO, the entire HoO series, the whole ToA series, every book from the KC series, and most of MCA series. I love all of Rick Riordan books, and I recommend all of them!
      • ivyian
        ivyianThursday, June 10, 2021 at 12:02 am55 stars
        I have read the Percy Jackson series. I really love the statement "I write my own destiny!". Additionally, I think it is a great feeling to recognize all the gods from the Greek Mythology while reading. I really appreciate the author to write this novel, as it really takes me on a journey through portals of time and space. I strongly recommend everyone to give it a try, don't even hesitate!
        • sreadergirl
          sreadergirlMonday, April 26, 2021 at 11:13 am55 stars
          I've read the whole PJO series, the whole HoO series, and I'm on Trials of Apollo. I love all of Rick Riordans work, its amazing. PJO and HoO are both one of my fav book series. ToA is good but i liked PJO and HoO better.
          • danny-boy
            danny-boyFriday, February 5, 2021 at 1:55 pm55 stars
            This is book 2 in the series. I have already recommended book 1.
            • ananyadhar05
              ananyadhar05Sunday, January 24, 2021 at 12:46 pm55 stars
              Amazing book.
              • reymarvel
                reymarvelMonday, January 11, 2021 at 12:02 am55 stars
                This is amazing. I love this book so much. I am addicted to the series.
                • babyyodafan1
                  babyyodafan1Friday, January 8, 2021 at 4:49 pm55 stars
                  This book is really good. The best part about the book was chapters 14-16. I just really liked how Polyphemus kept Grover and how they went to his island to retrieve the Golden Fleece and how they had that big battle with Polyphemus. I suggest you res this book.
                  • itsagoodday21
                    itsagoodday21Monday, December 28, 2020 at 6:46 am55 stars
                    I just read this book and loved it!!
                    • bubbly_girl2
                      bubbly_girl2Monday, December 28, 2020 at 5:51 am
                      Love the series! I'm on the third book! Percy Jackson is the best series ever. Can't wait to take an AR test.