Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Hardcover, 485 pages
Published on March 7, 2007 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316057770
ISBN-13: 9780316057776
102 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • poh
    pohWednesday, July 26, 2017 at 8:30 am
    This is the best book I've ever read it's so suspenseful and fun.
    • edmodo-xpldfyjzhq
      edmodo-xpldfyjzhqSunday, July 16, 2017 at 11:45 am55 stars
      I'm reading the second one its amazing never want to stop reading so many cliff hangers!:)
      • thekid1
        thekid1Friday, July 14, 2017 at 7:53 pm
        This is a really fun book to read over and over again. It's about four gifted kids - Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance that work together to find a man called Bennedict. They name themselves The Mysterious Benedict Society and end up doing a lot more exciting missions along the way. Highly recommend this one!
        • eddykids68
          eddykids68Wednesday, July 5, 2017 at 4:48 pm44 stars
          The MBS is better than the BFG (sort of)! Why else would mysteries, secrets, and excitement be hiding around every corner? This is a long book, but is TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!
          • soffles
            sofflesMonday, June 26, 2017 at 12:54 pm55 stars
            I love this book! The tests, the kids, their talents! Their adventures! It's sooo good! Iread this one and then Iread the second one! They are both so cool!
            • levi0sa
              levi0saFriday, June 23, 2017 at 10:37 am55 stars
              i really loved this book it has a lot of adventure in it i cant wait to read the rest of the series ! i recommend this book to people who like adventure stories .
              • eyp
                eypSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 8:04 am44 stars
                The book was an interestnig book to read. First of all, it tells on how four children use their special talents and wits in order to stop evil villains such as, Mr. Curtain. For readers it can tell you about interesting topics such as morse code. The climax of the book is when the children suscessfully destroy Mr. Curtain's mind manipulating machine called the whiseper. The book is very suspensful, enjoyable, interesting, and good to read. I would reccommend this book to kids of all ages. Over all, this book was awesome.
                • hannah_kwonn
                  hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:39 pm55 stars
                  What if the world was in danger of a mad-man that wanted to be respected by the world? Well, you're in the same boat as Constance Contraire, Sticky Washington, Kate Wetherall, and Reynie Muldoon. When the four children pass the tests for being a gifted child, they soon come to understand that the tests weren't just silly game, but they must go on a secret mission to save the world from the Whisperer. In this very back-chilling, risky mission, all the kids go through their own struggles, which they must defeat together with the help of others. Can Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance save the world from being saved from the Whisperer and its creator?
                  • jumpforjoy
                    jumpforjoyTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                    I have read this whole series and have enjoyed it very much. It really makes you think I love how it is a mystery as well as a classic book. Reynie Muldoon and his friends; Kate, Sticky, and Constance, each have a lovable personality, each in their own way. I could hardly put the book down. I would recommend this book for anyone who loves classics with a fun, mysterious twist.
                    • anagkan
                      anagkanMonday, June 12, 2017 at 8:47 am55 stars
                      It all starts with Reynard Muldoon, or Reynie. He and his tutor and the orphanage see an ad for "special privileges". Reynie takes the tests and eventually meets 3 more kids who join to become a team, The Mysterious Benedict Society. The four children are Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance. But before they become a team, they all pass the tests and meet Mr. Benedict. Mr. Benedict explains a project he is working on, on that could save the world. The project is to stop The Sender (Ledroptha Curtain/Mr. Curtain) from planting secret messages in the heads of everyone on Earth using thought and his machine, The Whisperer. Together, they travel to Nomansan Island and become the students of the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened. They all work hard to uncover what Mr. Curtain is doing. Together, Reynie and Sticky become Messengers and find out about Mr. Curtain's plans. At the end, they have a final plan to dismantle Mr. Curtain's plan. They follow through with it, but the mastermind behind the messages escapes. I would rate this book 5 stars.