Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3577 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hufflepup
    hufflepupSaturday, September 19, 2020 at 6:20 am44 stars
    Raina lost her two front teeth in a ascendant. She tripped and fell after her Girl Scout meeting. Her mom rushed her to the dentist and they put a cast on the teeth to hold them in place while the heal. When they took off the cast the teeth were not even with the other teeth. This was because the bone on top of the teeth was broken so that the teeth healed in one place. Raina felt really weird with braces on. Later on in the book Raina realized that her friend weren't that great of friends and stoped handing out with them. At the end of the book was really hart warming, she fond herself real friends and smiled, (without braces)!!!
    • Akemi says goFriday, September 18, 2020 at 9:10 pm
      Sad for raina sobbing because of this book
      • cookiedough_24
        cookiedough_24Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 1:06 pm55 stars
        Great book! Amazing plot about a girl who lost her 2 front teeth and has to go though all these dental stages. As Raina experiences these stages, she wonders if she'll ever have normal teeth again. DEFINITELY 5 stars! Great job Raina!
        • bookworms4ever
          bookworms4everTuesday, September 8, 2020 at 7:02 pm55 stars
          This book is awesome! It is an biography of Raina Telgemier, the author. The summary is: One day, she tripped and fell, and her front teeth came out. After that, she got braces until high school. Some things that are in this book are: boy drama, dental drama, and more! Hope you enjoy it!
          • amers_24
            amers_24Tuesday, September 8, 2020 at 4:40 pm55 stars
            Great book!!!❤ #loverainatelemiger
            • Mike Huckabee Saturday, September 5, 2020 at 5:55 am
              I do not like this movie because my dad keeps on telling me don't watch this movie and I'm watching every day he keeps on making me sad inside of that and he keeps getting mad and mad at me
              • honeycat92
                honeycat92Wednesday, September 2, 2020 at 7:10 am
                omg i love it
                • imunicornlover1
                  imunicornlover1Tuesday, September 1, 2020 at 6:27 pm55 stars
                  Raina is a typical middle school girl with an overbite. But one day after girl scouts something unexpected happens! She trips while racing with her friends and her two front teeth fall out!!! She has braces till she is in high school. I personally LOVED this book! This book is fill with tons of boy issues, bully's you thought were your friends, and dental drama. (Like the trailer said) I would 100% recommend this book to you and all of the other books by Raina Telgemeier! :) (PS please follow and like! I PROMISE to follow back within 24 hrs!
                  • prettychick
                    prettychickSunday, August 30, 2020 at 11:44 am55 stars
                    Raina is a kinda dorky middle-schooler who is kind but is very stressed.One night she and her friends are racing in the dark and she trips.Her front two teeth come out .She deals with a lot of orthodontics and dental issues.The book goes on until she is a highschooler. The book is a true story by the author,Raina Telgemeier. Through out the book it also deals with her teen pressure,family issues,and boy blah.I found the book very funny and heart opening about how much I should appreciate my family(and my teeth)!
                    • ananyadhar05
                      ananyadhar05Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 10:07 am55 stars
                      I loved reading this book! great read.