Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3260 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • I love booksTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 12:51 am
    I read it, it is so funny and nice
    • meatlover
      meatloverWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 3:49 pm
      I recommend this book because this is probably going to be the book for comic reader's.😎
      • sweetcheese
        sweetcheeseWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
        This book is awesome!!!!!I checked out from the library and loved it.I totally recommend this book to any girl ages 8-15. This book showed the adventure of how Raina survived getting braces, headgear, and got her ears pierced all at the same time. The funny part is that this happens during middle school and high school. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I did.
        • milkywaylover
          milkywayloverWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 9:32 am55 stars
          it was a great book over all, I thouroughly enjoyed it Raina Telgemier is a great writer she really brings her charactors to life in her books. you can really tell she is inthousiastic about her work!
          • ryducufo-155992117798
            ryducufo-155992117798Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 11:35 am44 stars
            This book "Smile" is about a girl named Raina which is in 6th grade but she is not a normal 6th grader but she's not. It all happened a night after girl scouts when she was running to her house with her friend but she fell and injured her 2 front teeth. She has to go through lots of surgeries and have to wear fake teeth. She also has to wear headgear and a braces. Her siblings, friends and peers keep on telling her that she looks like a 6 or 7 year-old because she has no fronyt teeth and wears ponytails. Raina is embarassed by all of these comments and is having a terrible time in 6th grade. Theres also another thing about 6th grade she likes a boy but the boy does not pay a lot of attention for her. Will Raina be able to survive 6th grade will she have friends that do care about her? A fun fact about the graphic novel is that Raina is the..... AUTHOR!!!! I would really reccomend this book to kids and teens who like graphic novels and drama.
            • briana119223893
              briana119223893Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
              it is cool it help you learn about your teeth and take care of it
              • aengman
                aengmanMonday, June 10, 2019 at 3:14 pm44 stars
                I did not like all the blood. But it was still good. I liked that she was a girl scout! Her siblings were kinda rude.
                • selina
                  selinaMonday, June 10, 2019 at 1:35 pm55 stars
                  Raina is just a normal 6th grader. After tripping and injuring her 2 front teeth she has to go through embarrassing headgear and a retainer with fake teeth and surgeries. On to top all that pain she has boy trouble, a major earthquake and even fake friends! If only she had something to protect her from all this pain and embarrassment.
                  • bestever22
                    bestever22Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 2:52 pm55 stars
                    Thanks so much selina!!! I needed to write a book review about that book but I was way to tired. Thanks so much !! :)
                  • chloeyeetMonday, June 10, 2019 at 7:44 am
                    i'm not done reading this book yet, but it's heartwarming and i recommend it to high-level readers like me.
                    • feathermoon
                      feathermoonMonday, June 10, 2019 at 12:42 am55 stars
                      I don't know this but my friend told me that there was lots of blood.