Soon to be a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson in March 2019!

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2019 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1534437347
ISBN-13: 9781534437340
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • stellaluna
    stellalunaFriday, January 24, 2020 at 6:26 am55 stars
    This book was amazing. I was living inside the pages, in each characters lives. I cried so hard, and smiled so wide. This book has so many emotions. This is a must read. (I have read it four times) but slightly inappropriate. For fifth and up
    • sirireads
      sirireadsSunday, January 19, 2020 at 9:58 pm55 stars
      This book is an amazing love story (romantic enough to satisfy but not inappropriate). You can almost feel their pain and longing for each other. Although it does have obscene language, I read it in 5th grade and I was fine. It broke my heart in the best possible way and I´m not much of a book crier, but I let me tell you, I really CRIED!!! In the end it was well, still heartbreaking!! But it resolved itself to be heartwarming as well. I encourage you and anyone else to read it!!
      • roxanne3
        roxanne3Monday, January 20, 2020 at 11:32 am
        I have not read this but it sound amazing!!
      • resmeet264
        resmeet264Friday, January 17, 2020 at 10:44 am55 stars
        ~I think this book looks cool~ From:Resmee
        • riyaFriday, January 17, 2020 at 10:03 am
          This book was really inspiring. It introduces the hard life that people with CF have to deal with. The characters are really relatable even for people who don’t have CF. This book shows that you can push through anything life throws at you while also telling a beautiful love story. I give it a 10/10.
          • riyaFriday, January 17, 2020 at 8:44 am
            This book was really inspiring. It introduces the hard life that people with CF have to deal with. The characters are really relatable even for people who don’t have CF. This book shows that you can push through anything life throws at you while also telling a beautiful love story. I give it a 10/10.
            • applebutter
              applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 12:32 pm55 stars
              Omg this book. ok this book is SO GOOD( the movie is good to) it is about two kids with sis tic fibrosis where there lungs fill up with fluid. They are both in a hospital because of this illness. When they fall in love they can only be together if they are five feet apart. If not it could be deadly. Is love worth the risk? you will have to read the book to find out :)
              • catlover22
                catlover22Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 12:12 pm
                I want to read this book so bad I hope it is good
                • stellaluna
                  stellalunaFriday, May 17, 2019 at 4:35 pm55 stars
                  Just read it, no words to describe it. I cried because of its powerful beauty, and I highly recommend it to mature readers. This book does have foul language, and inappropriate scenes.
                  • MischaWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 8:11 pm
                    Loved this book although I did cry the entire movie then I read the book and cried all over again
                    • gibson2018
                      gibson2018Thursday, April 25, 2019 at 7:07 am55 stars
                      Loved this book! recreamend it to all. I read it in 3 days. I WAS ADDICTED TO IT! amazing, wounderful no words to describe it.