Will Conlan is an unconventional thinker. After winning a baseball game with an innovative toss of a rosin bag, he catches the interest of a chief operative of the Homeland Security’s Analytic Red Cell. Employing the creative problem solving of philosophers, futurists, and Hollywood movie writers, this intelligence unit is seeking any original ideas about anticipating terrorist plots.

As a recent surge of terrorist activity undermines these fresh insights, the operative banks on the notion that Will’s youthful imagination, unclouded by the premise of “it can’t be done,” may provide the key insight they need and seeks to secretly exploit Will’s unhindered “out of the box” thinking.

Unaware of the magnitude of danger surrounding him, Will uncovers something he wasn’t supposed to discover—a connection between a television advertisement and a master terrorist plot. Narrowly surviving, he alone foils a bombing at Wrigley Field. Uncertain about the knowledge he now holds, he has to figure out the terrorists’ next target. Will just doesn’t realize…it’s him.

Paperback, 164 pages
Published on March 29, 2010 by iUniverse
ISBN-10: 1450212077
ISBN-13: 9781450212076
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • LililMonday, September 21, 2020 at 11:54 am
    I really liked this book. It had many twists, and the plot was amazing. But I feel like certain things were too predictable, and the whole thing about Will working for the CIA is too common among books. Overall, I would give this 4/5 stars. It was a bit rocky in some places, but mostly a smooth ride.
    • Sky D.Friday, September 18, 2020 at 11:57 am
      I believe this is a good book with a very good plot. If you are into action books this book is for you. Will (the main character) is made out as a sweet and courageous boy with a strong heart.
      • Westen RFriday, September 18, 2020 at 11:48 am
        I love this book. It had a great story and was very entertaining. There was a great twist at chapter 12. the story bord of the book was grate
        • AidenFriday, September 18, 2020 at 11:45 am
          I really liked this book because of the action. Will is a brave person and would be fun to have around.
          • RidleyFriday, September 18, 2020 at 11:43 am
            This book is ok. you do need to know a bit about baseball but that is the one drawback. One other thing that my might need to know is what the red cell is, but if you dont it is still readable. So if you are into baseball and spy's this could be a good book for you.
            • ScotlynFriday, September 18, 2020 at 11:43 am
              This book was so amazing! I love that plot twists happen almost out of nowhere. This book is great for people that like baseball. If you don't like baseball, no worries! There is much much more about this book that you will love! I definitely recommend this book!
              • KaylaFriday, September 18, 2020 at 11:42 am
                I really liked this book because of how many twists there were, and how this book was related to terrorism. Finding out that the one person who I thought was really suspicious was actually apart of the good side and would help Will was mindblowing to me. In my opinion, I really thought this book was entertaining, and fun to read.
                • LyleFriday, September 18, 2020 at 11:41 am
                  I really liked this book. It's about Will Conlan, an 8th-grade middle school student who thinks differently. Terrorists are trying to attack Chicago, and Will tries to figure out why, or how. I think the terrorism aspect is very interesting. This looks like a sportsbook on the outside but it's really more like and action book.
                  • Gabe M.Friday, September 18, 2020 at 11:41 am
                    I like it but it is a bit predictable. I like the opening and the twist with the third attack but I think the second attack and the general's identity were predictable.
                    • zeek3408
                      zeek3408Friday, September 18, 2020 at 11:40 am33 stars
                      it ok I was bored most of the book but I like the more i read