Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8Y5.6157220

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover
Published on November 15, 2013 by Random House Inc
114 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ERAGONROCKSTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:21 pm
    This series is definitely an all time favorite. I am in 6th grade and finished the series in less than a month. My favorite book was Brisingr. Thank you so much for writing this book, Christopher Paolini!!!!
    • septembergirl
      septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:48 pm22 stars
      It was ok.
      • septembergirl
        septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:48 pm22 stars
        I like a lot of fiction its just got to be the right kind of fiction. Not my favorite series.
        • navrax290
          navrax290Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
          im reading it right now love it :D
          • thatonebookworm
            thatonebookwormWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 7:05 pm55 stars
            loved it, read it a million times.
            • nikuinlimbo
              nikuinlimboMonday, February 5, 2018 at 3:25 pm55 stars
              It is a really good book with lots of action and adventure and funny moments. There are 4 books in this series.
              • elisa45
                elisa45Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 7:53 pm55 stars
                This is the best book I have ever read in my life!!!!
                • papergirlsfb
                  papergirlsfbTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
                  This book gives lasting reading : not only is it thick enough , its good enough . Good enough to be read again , and still a cant-put-it-down book .
                  • Josh IsemingerTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 7:55 am
                    It is very easy to get sucked into
                    • lazanovedo
                      lazanovedoThursday, October 26, 2017 at 8:01 am44 stars
                      I really liked this book. I stayed interested in it. Its got some harder words in it but, if you feel like you can read words like Alagaësia then your all set. This book is a little like Harry Potter in the sense that it has a lot of magic.
                      • navrax290
                        navrax290Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at 1:33 pm55 stars
                        I´v read the whole harry potter series and your right :)

                      More TopicsView in 3D