Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover
Published on November 15, 2013 by Random House Inc
101 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • FaZe_ReaderFriday, September 1, 2017 at 7:38 am
    This book was cool until the love intrest died.
    • lrohne2005
      lrohne2005Friday, August 25, 2017 at 4:17 pm44 starsFeatured
      I am not usually the type of person who loves fantasy, but I read Eragon for a reading challenge and liked it. Eragon was a normal boy who lived on a farm with his uncle and cousin. But when he was out hunting one day, he came across a quite unusual blue stone that was hollow and seemed unbreakable. As he was laying in his room one night, the stone starting cracking. He was stunned when a dragon popped out from the egg, which he thought was a stone. From then on, Eragon's life was changed forever. He goes on a quest with the town storyteller Brom to kill the Ra'zac, who murdered Eragon's uncle Garrow. I really loved this book, and plan on reading the rest of the series in the future. I rate this book 4/5 because it was a little boring at times, but overall it was a great book. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 11+.
      • tofu13
        tofu13Monday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
        BEST SERIES EVER!!!
        • basenjilover
          basenjiloverMonday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
          Very intense and well written!
          • vampirekitten76
            vampirekitten76Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 7:25 am55 stars
            I love this book!!!! better then the movie of course!!! and to be honest I like it better then Wings of fire. Its and awesome book!!! I'm almost finished with the series.
            • shadowstabber
              shadowstabberMonday, April 17, 2017 at 1:24 pm55 stars
              Great book
              • ladyirene
                ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:45 pm55 stars
                Best book ever I love it 5 stars fo show<3 Although it has some tough words i got im a 4th grader and i read this last year<3
                • ladyirene
                  ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                  Best book ever I love it 5 stars fo show<3
                  • ladyirene
                    ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                    It was a great book dont get me wrong but I did love it its just that it is so hard to read those words <3
                    • noahr1189
                      noahr1189Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 6:05 pm55 stars
                      This is such a good book if you're into adventure. It is about a farmer boy named Eragon who finds a dragon egg in the spine and goes with a story teller to defeat the evil empire