Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.45068
Raina Telgemeier’s #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile!

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
1169 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rrwwnn
    rrwwnnSunday, June 23, 2019 at 12:31 pm55 stars
    Raina, the author, based this book on her childhood with her sister, Amara. Before Amara, was born, Raina was super excited since she wanted someone to play with her and share her interests. When Amara arrives, she does not really get along well with Raina, but they do have their moments of realization that they are siblings and always will be. This book really reminds me of my younger brother and I!
    • 3bears
      3bearsThursday, June 20, 2019 at 10:53 am44 stars
      Raina, the author, based this book on her childhood with her sister, Amara. Before Amara, was born, Raina was super excited since she wanted someone to play with her and share her interests. When Amara arrives, she does not really get along well with Raina, but they do have their moments of realization that they are siblings and always will be. This book really reminds me of my younger brother and I.
      • John cenaTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 6:05 pm
        That is best but I have a song called back to my house on a normal night and it is my favorite time of day to be a part time fan who is in a way where I'm going through 5AM like that in my own home ok with my e for a few months or even a week and so on the day before the holidays go on the show me in a way I don't think I 65inches it was my last night at a wedding and the night of a movie and the night I got the boys to be a little mor like that was in my last week and a little mor in a few weeks after that was my best bet on a long day in my area for me in my own time with me in the world and
        • applebutter
          applebutterFriday, June 14, 2019 at 4:41 pm55 stars
          This book is one of Raina's most popular books. I own this book and have read it at least 13 times! And i will keep on reading it over and over. She is one of the best authors i have ever read and trust me i have read tons of books. Great book for kids of all ages. Boys and girls. A must read.
          • feathermoon
            feathermoonMonday, June 10, 2019 at 12:43 am
            Looks interesting.
            • ilanos50
              ilanos50Friday, June 7, 2019 at 4:47 pm44 stars
              I really liked this book. I wonder if they are going to make a book 2 or a sequel. If they do I will be sure to read it!
              • gingersnap
                gingersnapThursday, June 6, 2019 at 8:25 pm55 stars
                Rania can't wait to be a big sister. Once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. This book makes me think of me and my sister. I love this book!
                • ramrose
                  ramroseThursday, June 6, 2019 at 6:15 pm55 stars
                  This one was also funny. I enjoy this author a lot. Her books are funny. I usually end up staying up late to read them over and over again.
                  • PandasarecuteTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 9:46 pm
                    Awesome book! Raina always asked for a sister. Finally, she got one. Sadly, she got a big sister that is always mean! The sister Amara. Amara was so mean! She loved to draw though. I've read this book many times. It's a very good comic book. I would rate it five stars because there is so much action inside the story!
                    • dancergirl6
                      dancergirl6Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 1:40 pm55 stars
                      Love it