Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1891 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Sorting hatWednesday, August 14, 2019 at 1:15 pm
    So amazing!! My fav character is hermione!
    • kiapaint
      kiapaintFriday, August 9, 2019 at 12:04 pm55 stars
      I have seen both the movie and the book they are so good I don't even know what to say!
      • cue
        cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:41 pm
        I know lots of people love harry potter, but I really don't think that it is all that. It is entertaining but lets be real the story of kid wizards isn't original. However, it was worth the read, but I think the movies are better entertainment.
        • JuliaSaturday, August 3, 2019 at 3:23 am
          We had Harry Potter today!
          • 26julor
            26julorWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 9:42 pm55 stars
            It's amazing!
            • Hp 123Sunday, July 28, 2019 at 5:30 am
              Brilliant book
              • seaotterfan123
                seaotterfan123Saturday, July 27, 2019 at 3:46 pm55 stars
                Definitely the best Harry Potter book suspense drama and friendship mixed together I read it aloud to my sister she adores Hermione I like Luna
                • Spaced OutFriday, July 26, 2019 at 8:58 am
                  This book was amazing!! My aunt gave me the first and second book as a birthday present, so thanks to her, I'm so into HARRY POTTER!! I'm a huge Potter Head! The book was so good, I just had to see the movie! Harry Potter's life changes once he gets a strange letter from a professor from a magical school! The same professor who saw him as a baby! The background of his parents murder, how he got a scar, how he's being chased the the world's darkest wizard, Lord Voldemort (aka Old No nose, Mr. Baldie)! The movie actually made me scream, the party where Voldemort comes out in the form of a ghost! Best series ever!! One million stars out of 5 stars!! 🌟
                  • genius2009
                    genius2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 9:16 am44 stars
                    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is already a good book, although I read about the first 20 pages. I'm reading the latest edition. Remember, no spoilers. I haven't read a sixth of this book yet.
                    • zack1111
                      zack1111Sunday, July 21, 2019 at 11:10 am44 stars
                      It was a great book . It is not like I S O S O like it , but it is okay .