Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on March 1, 2001 by HarperCollins UK
ISBN-10: 0007111827
ISBN-13: 9780007111824
260 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • snibborj
    snibborjSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 12:01 am55 stars
    I highly recommend this book and series! So intense and interesting. The society is completely taken over by the government. Jonas thinks all is normal until he meets the giver. He is given memories and knowledge of the world before the government controlled everything. He learns it is not so lerfect after all and plans to escape. Such a good book.
    • bookstory13
      bookstory13Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:00 pm55 stars
      I'll be honest-in the beginning I expected this book to be trash. BUT....we we reading it in school do I didn't quit reading it. It turned out to be really good! The Giver teaches us about what would happen if the government controlled our society-like completely controlled it. What would happen if we could't make choices. What happened if they chose when we were born, the job we could have, even who we marry! But then again, no one is hungry. Everyone has a job. And sudden deaths rarely happen. Jonas sees this as a perfect community...until he is selected as a giver. That changes it all.
      • sweetgirl823
        sweetgirl823Friday, May 4, 2018 at 11:02 am22 stars
        I would recommed it to people who doesnt cry easy. This is a really sad book. And i read some of it and i cried for hours because it was sad.
        • hawiian_girl
          hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:32 pm55 stars
          such a good book!!!
          • pripri10005124
            pripri10005124Friday, April 27, 2018 at 11:51 pm44 stars
            it's like a dystopian novel... it's really a good venture to know what's the feeling of being controlled over a society that is unwanted by others
            • zombie22
              zombie22Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 2:40 pm55 stars
              the giver is a great book
              • m1lk3y_w4y
                m1lk3y_w4yThursday, March 1, 2018 at 2:34 pm55 starsFeatured
                Jonas is an eleven year-old boy who lives in a world with color or war. Basically, a world where everything is uniform. They call it "Sameness." All Jonas wants is to live a normal life, but during the Ceremony of Twelve, the one where all the elevens would be assigned their assignment for the rest of their lives, his whole life if turned upside down. Soon Jonas has to train alone and separately, and feels isolated from his friends and family. He tries to help but all he does is make things worse. Now he feels aloof and reserved, and he can't tell anyone about it. He decides to run away as a way to help himself not starve for choice and as a way to help his people, since Sameness/Climate Control has taken away so much from him. His teacher, The Giver, agrees and helps Jonas plan a way to escape. Jonas is the Receiver of Memory who plans to change the course of history. Can he do it? Or will he get caught and be forced to live a terrible life as an outsider? To find out, read The Giver, by Lois Lowry. I give this 5 stars and recommend it to anyone wanting a challenge. This was one of my favorite novels I've read.
                • epringles23
                  epringles23Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 11:53 am55 stars
                  This is a great and heartfelt book! It is a lot like The Selection series, so if you read this and really liked it, I recommend you read the Selection! Not for younger ages, absolutely for at least middle school age. Very heartfelt, and kept me on the edge of my seat!
                  • meadowlark12
                    meadowlark12Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 11:55 am55 starsFeatured
                    This is the best book i have ever read. It is a book about discovering new things and embracing them the best you can. Jonas is about to turn twelve, the age where all children are given a role and job in their colorless, well-oiled machine of a community. Before his ceremony of Twelve, he sees flashes of what seems to be color. At his Ceremony, he is selected to be the next Receiver of Memories under the Giver. The Giver, an old man, shows Jonas memories of beauty, color, and love- but also war, and pain. This book is truly deserving of the Newbery Medal it won in 1994.
                    • gtaylor505
                      gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:45 am55 stars
                      The Giver is a great book, centered around a boy named Jonas in a dystopian society where everything is without color, music, or memories. If you're looking for something to read, definitely try out this book, as well as the other companion books.

                      More TopicsView in 3D