Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.076096
They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive? She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice. Son thrusts readers once again into the chilling world of the Newbery Medal winning book, The Giver, as well as Gathering Blue and Messenger where a new hero emerges. In this thrilling series finale, the startling and long-awaited conclusion to Lois Lowry’s epic tale culminates in a final clash between good and evil.
Paperback, 400 pages
Published on May 6, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544336259
ISBN-13: 9780544336254
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • heavytoothpaste
    heavytoothpasteMonday, October 28, 2019 at 7:07 pm55 stars
    They called her Water Clare. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn't exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never new. What was his name? Was he even alive? She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.
    • watercolrwonder
      watercolrwonderFriday, June 7, 2019 at 7:48 am55 stars
      This book is part of the Giver Quartet. It is a book full of perseverance and strength, and I love how it entwines with the other three books in this series. You will want to read this book over and over again.
      • camkayekitten
        camkayekittenFriday, June 22, 2018 at 11:07 am55 stars
        I loved this book and would highly recommend. It's amazing to see the superior story of hope and love, from a different view. Claire was only 14. Imagine going through that much at age 14! Claire had a son, but he was taken from her. Will she be able to find Gabe again?
        • olliebob
          olliebobFriday, May 18, 2018 at 8:37 am55 stars
          In this fourth installment in The Giver series, we follow the story of a girl named Claire. She has a son named Gabe who is taken away from her, but she will do anything to get him back. She winds up in a small village and from there continues her search for her boy. This is a beautiful story of a mother's intense and unshakable love for a son she has never really even met. I really recommend this book, but make sure to read the first three before it.
          • shellel499
            shellel499Monday, January 22, 2018 at 8:53 am55 stars
            This book has a great plot and really tells some great details of village life.
            • sugar642
              sugar642Tuesday, January 17, 2017 at 8:02 am55 stars
              good bock Read giver first tho I reccomend it
              • sunnyf
                sunnyfSunday, February 28, 2016 at 12:29 pm44 starsFeatured
                What happened afterwards? After Jonas took Gabriel to elsewhere? I had always been a fan of the The Giver quartet. As I was reading this book, I felt like being a part of it since everything came along together smoothly and everything in the book seemed so familiar. If you had read The Giver, I recommend you to finish up this book as well! The reason why will simply be while recalling the exhilarating stories of The Giver, new adventures await. Since Son was written in a totally different point of view, you’ll find out exploring what was happening on the other hand very interesting. Well, not just the story itself, but also the lessons and things I had learnt from it, were all reasons this book is recommended by me. You’ll find out everything has a dark side no matter how perfect it seems. Enjoy the adventure of Claire, Gabriel’s mother, and let your soul be cleansed by her spirit!
                • candyexpress
                  candyexpressSunday, October 4, 2015 at 6:30 pm55 stars
                  So I kinda read this book in the worst order being that it was the last book in the series and the first one I read out of the whole series, but the book was still really good. Even though I read in the wrong order, the book was so descriptive, I was able to understand it really well. This book was wonderful and so well written. Lois Lowry is a talented and good writer.
                  • fmaglalang
                    fmaglalangWednesday, April 1, 2015 at 7:49 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Son is the next story of the Giver. I would totally read the Giver before you read this one. This story explains on how a mother is willing to do everything for her son, Gabe. If you ever wondered what happened to Jonas and Gabe then I would totally read this book. Lois Lowry is an AWESOME author.
                    • fmaglalang
                      fmaglalangWednesday, April 1, 2015 at 7:46 pm55 stars
                      this was an awesome book. I would recommend this to anyone who has ever read the Giver. SHIP this GUYS!