The Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel (The Descendants)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Descendants Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.363152
Evil tree. Bad Apple?

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon to the Isle of the Lost--a dark and dreary place protected by a force field that makes it impossible for them to leave. Stripped of their magical powers, the villains now live in total isolation, forgotten by the world.

Mal learns from her mother, Maleficent, that the key to true darkness, the Dragon's Eye, is located inside her scepter in the forbidden fortress on the far side of the island. The eye is cursed, and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the Dragon's Eye, these four kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
Paperback
Published on July 2, 2015 by Parragon Book Service Ltd
ISBN-10: 1474812783
ISBN-13: 9781474812788
136 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • omg44
    omg44Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 9:39 am
    i want to read this book but it wont let me
    • booklover101Wednesday, September 20, 2017 at 10:36 am
      amazing
      • JalenMonday, September 11, 2017 at 12:34 pm
        This 📕Is off the⚓️ Bro🤑
        • mybooksandi
          mybooksandiSaturday, August 26, 2017 at 9:27 am44 stars
          The Isle Of The Lost, whoop, whoop. Ok now, if you know me, (and also follow me on twitter), you'd know that I am a huge Disney Geek. And I especially love Descendants! So I watched the movie, then read the book, which is The Isle Of The Lost, and I must say... it was awesome. (Both, that is) I really enjoyed reading the Isle Of The Lost because it gave you background info about the main characters, Mal, Evie, Jay, and Carlos. I thought the character's personalities shined in this novel. And now, I know that Melissa De La Cruz nailed it. The setting was quite spectacular. I really loved how MDLC described the Isle Of The Lost. In all, I would give this novel 4.5 stars, because it gave me a feeling so good, it hurts.
          • georgiasilver
            georgiasilverThursday, August 24, 2017 at 10:08 pm
            A bite out of a brilliant red apple, a crack in the green, a swirly surrounding vine, this book cover is telling me to come read this book with the mysteriously crafted art telling secrets.
            • amandaMonday, August 21, 2017 at 6:33 am
              it is amazing
              • howlergirl
                howlergirlWednesday, August 16, 2017 at 5:54 pm55 stars
                I watched the movie too, and it's pretty good! The story starts with 4 main characters in the isle of the lost. Those 4 characters are all sons and daughters of evil villains. They get an invitation from the son of Belle and the Beast, Ben, to come to the school for royals. While at the school they start of with their mission to find a scepter that Mals mother, Maleficent, wants back. But while Mal and her friends are on their quest, they learn that maybe it's not so bad to be good. This was a good book and I like how instead of talking about princesses and jewels and all of that, it takes a turn and talks about villains and their descendants!
                • danipuppygirl
                  danipuppygirlMonday, August 14, 2017 at 1:46 pm44 stars
                  Evie is my favorite character. She wants to be different from her mother kinda. She is evil and wants a new way to do things with her friends from the isle.
                  • readingkendal
                    readingkendalSunday, August 6, 2017 at 7:04 am55 stars
                    This book is amazing! I read Return to the Isle of the Lost and that was good too. This book is about the 4 descendants of Maleficent, Evil Queen, Jafar, and Cruella De Vil. They go to the Forbidden Fortress sent by Maleficent to find the Dragon Eye scepter. If you like the movie read this.
                    • girlygirl1014
                      girlygirl1014Saturday, July 29, 2017 at 7:59 am55 starsFeatured
                      The Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel (The Descendants) The Isle of the Lost is the amazing prequel to the Descendant movie about life on the Isle of the Lost, the dark, filthy island that is covered by a magical dome that rids villains of their powers that king Beast banished all the most famous villains from the classic stories we all love. Such as Maleficent, the dark fairy who cursed a young girl to sleep for a-hundred years, Cruella De Ville, the madwoman who wanted to turn innocent dalmatian puppies into spotted fur coats, Evil Queen, the witch with her poisoned apples, and Jafar, the royal advisor who tried to take over a kingdom. These villains all had children who were born and raised on the Isle of the Lost. Now teenagers these children are Carlos, the intelligent son of Cruella De Ville, Evie, the fashionable daughter of Evil Queen, Jafar's son, Jay, the talented thief, and Mal, daughter of Maleficent who's only wish is to be just as evil as her mother. During a magical mishap Carlos and Evie accidentally brake a hole into the dome; causing the Dragon Eye, Maleficent's magical scepter to gains power. The four go on a quest to find it in an attempt to impress their parents. During the dangerous journey they face tests, magic, become friends, learn that the rotten apple does fall far from the tree and that good always overcomes evil. I would recommend this to anyone who loves the Descendants movies and enjoys a good book about the misfits rising up.