Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5Grades 1 - 5O3.917087

Orphaned and alone but determined to stay together, Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden set off on their own and turned an abandoned boxcar into their home. The Boxcar Children, published over sixty-five years ago in 1942, has captured the imaginations of generations of readers. This Collector's Edition features the original artwork plus additional information about Gertrude Chandler Warner's life and work as it appeared in the 60th Anniversary Edition.

Hardcover, 168 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807508500
ISBN-13: 9780807508503
144 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jaden07
    jaden07Tuesday, July 17, 2018 at 2:46 pm
    this is a great book. it is about two sisters and brothers. there parents are dead. they dont want to live with their grandpa. they found a boxcar. they made a great home. Henry found a job. Benny., Jessie, violet found an dump with treasure. they built a pool. there lives . were peaceful all until violet got sick. then they found there grandpa. they moved with him and they took the boxcar. there lives were even better, a classic tale of children and hark work and uniting.
    • dolphin8
      dolphin8Monday, July 16, 2018 at 7:21 pm55 stars
      Boxcar children is a relay good book it is about children who lived in a boxcar and a child named Violet got relay sick . I love it because I like the characters in the book. Henry was at a race and he won the race because he could run relay relay fast.
      • paintlover13
        paintlover13Sunday, July 15, 2018 at 6:04 am33 stars
        Orphaned siblings Henry, Jessie, Violet, and James are on the run. After their parents died, they were supposed to stay with their grandfather, but believing he was cruel, they set off on their own. After escaping more adults who'd try to place them with their grandfather or in an orphanage, the siblings happen upon a boxcar, deserted on overgrown tracks. The boxcar becomes a home for the orphans. But when Violet falls sick, who can help? The Boxcar Children is a warmly woven tale of love, family, and adventure.
        • coolgirlintown
          coolgirlintownThursday, July 12, 2018 at 10:40 am44 stars
          This book is the first book in this series. It was very good. I love how each sibling loves each other so much and sticks together all the time. It was a lovely book and I would totally recommend it to anyone along with the rest of the series.
          • midnightluna
            midnightlunaTuesday, July 10, 2018 at 3:30 pm55 stars
            The Boxcar Children series is a great way to began reading mysteries! They're not terribly long and the ending is always surprising. The first book is not quite a mystery, but it's my favorite of them all.
            • dreambig100
              dreambig100Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 3:36 pm44 stars
              The Boxcar children is a wonderful book about 4 orphaned kids, Jessie, Henry, Violet, and Benny. It is about there adventures while they journeyed to find a home. Soon they end up finding an old Boxcar and calling it there home. The 4 children have ran away because they do not want to live with grandfather because they think he is mean and will not like them. Soon the come to a surprising truth about there grandfather. I really enjoyed reading this book because you can't let go until you finish the book.
              • ANNAWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 1:01 am
                THIS BOOK IS SO SO SO SO SO FUN!!!!!!!!!
                • readingkendal
                  readingkendalTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                  When 4 orphans who are running away from there grandfather in worry he might be mean, find an old boxcar, The Adventure begins! They use whatever they can find as anything they need and go on adventures surrounding the old boxcar. they work jobs to earn money for things that can not be found in the woods. As they make new friends the boxcar becomes there home they have an amazing time. I recommend this book to anyone who loves adventures, and family.
                  • beyourself
                    beyourselfTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 4:24 am55 stars
                    I read this book a long time ago and when I found it again on here I wanted to read it again for the fun of it. I totally recommend it! It has a lot of adventure and awesomeness.
                    • wiccanbat666
                      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 7:21 pm55 stars
                      I happened to stumble across this and I was addicted to these when I was younger so I thought a re-read was in order. It was a little different than I remember but just as charming. I can see why I wanted to live in a boxcar when I was little. However, there is some weird gender things and other stuff that I never would have noticed as a child but seems glaringly obvious and weird as an adult. Overall reading it again was a heck of a lot of fun.

                      More TopicsView in 3D