Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
2214 Book Reviews
  • catsrlongliquid
    catsrlongliquidMonday, May 10, 2021 at 10:16 am55 stars
    Harry potter is one of my favorite book series of all time it takes you into the world of fantasy, magic , wizards,creatures and more. Once you start reading, its almost like you cant stop! Its highly addicting and i love it alot! im already reading book 4! :)
    • cameronm
      cameronmMonday, May 10, 2021 at 9:00 am55 stars
      Same these Harry Potter Books is more than awesome its brilliant. Before I read this book, I used to think that people were wasting their time reading books about unrealistic magic . I used to think that Harry Potter was some silly book series about magic. I was wrong! Very wrong. The moment I picked this book up, it out a spell on me. I could not put it down! It’s the awesomest Book ever I would like the owner of the book to make more Harry Potter Books!
      • cameronm
        cameronmMonday, May 10, 2021 at 8:59 am55 stars
        Same these Harry Potter Books is more than awesome its brilliant. Before I read this book, I used to think that people were wasting their time reading books about unrealistic magic . I used to think that Harry Potter was some silly book series about magic. I was wrong! Very wrong. The moment I picked this book up, it out a spell on me. I could not put it down! It’s the awesomest Book ever I would like the owner of the book to make more Harry Potter Books!
        • steevesalyssa
          steevesalyssaMonday, May 10, 2021 at 7:10 am55 stars
          In this brilliant introduction we enter the world of Harry Potter.
          • chromatic1
            chromatic1Friday, May 7, 2021 at 7:40 am55 stars
            This is where it all began. In this brilliant introduction we enter the world of Harry Potter.
            • chromatic1
              chromatic1Friday, May 7, 2021 at 7:40 am55 stars
              Right now I'm re reading the harry potter series: the illustrated ones they're good.
            • donthavecovid19
              donthavecovid19Monday, May 3, 2021 at 4:56 am55 stars
              Before I read this book, I used to think that people were wasting their time reading books about unrealistic magic (no offense to any potter lovers). I used to think that Harry Potter was some silly book series about magic. I was wrong! Very wrong. The moment I picked this book up, it out a spell on me. I could not put it down. I got so engrossed in the book that when my teacher asked me to read out loud at school, I didn't hear her. I was lost in a world of wizards and magic that was too real! J.K. Rowling is a great author and has inspired me to write my own books!!🌺
              • chromatic1
                chromatic1Friday, May 7, 2021 at 7:39 am55 stars
                Same I thought it was a waste of time but it turned out to be awesome.
              • bookfan123
                bookfan123Thursday, April 29, 2021 at 10:59 am55 stars
                Harry Potter is one of those legendary series in which generations pass, but fandom of this book never passes. And you can't hope for a better opening book that The Sorcerer's Stone. A young boy named Harry Potter lives in a small closet under the stairs of the Dursley's house. He wishes nothing more than to be a normal boy who lives with his loving parents. But he isn't normal, and when he learns his parents were magicians, he goes to Hogwarts, where everything is amazing, and he makes two good friends. Yet is it safe for Harry? He learns about Voldemort, and he learns about the Sorcerer's Stone. But he doesn't know that inside the castle of Hogwarts, deception awaits, and he might just fall into the trap.
                • mocha2021
                  mocha2021Wednesday, April 28, 2021 at 4:44 pm55 stars
                  Harry Potter is a book about a young wizard who's parents died when he was a baby, then got taken in by his only family alive the Dursley's. The Dursleys treat Harry horribly. Then Harry gets accepted to Hogwarts a school for wizards. He goes and mets many new friends and a few enemies. Definitely read, both the book and the movies are good the series goes on for a long time read the whole thing.
                  • thebeastbro
                    thebeastbroWednesday, April 28, 2021 at 7:00 am55 stars
                    good book dont watch the movie first book is better than the movie
                    • 123456789kat
                      123456789katMonday, April 26, 2021 at 1:16 pm55 stars
                      harry potter lived under the stairs his whole life and was treated like a maid. letters start appearing and his aunt,uncle,cousin dudley and him go to a island on his birthday and not a very nice one . he meets ruebus hagrid and learns that he is a wizard and he is going to hogwarts and is leaving the dursleys. and he goes to diagon alley, platform 9 & 3 quarters he meets ron weasley his siblings and his mom there. later he meets hermione granger on the hogwarts express. but when he gets to hogwarts there is mean snape and shy quirrell . a stone of immortality a troll and magic chess. read the book explore this world or watch the movie .