Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
2060 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dogogirl1000
    dogogirl1000Sunday, July 12, 2020 at 8:22 am55 stars
    I love Harry Potter and i am only 8 right now i am on book 4 The goblet of fire i think this is a great book
    • busybee
      busybeeSaturday, July 11, 2020 at 11:23 am55 stars
      This book is so good! It talks about how harry potter known he is a wizard.Harry Potter's life is miserable. His parents are dead and he's stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he's a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.Harry believes it's his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands.
      • supergirl2011
        supergirl2011Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 2:37 pm55 stars
        I decided to read this book because it was one I had never seen in the library, and the librarian told me that it had magic. I love magic, so, I decided to read it. It is indeed full of magic and wonder. There is a school of witchcraft and wizardry, Harry has adventures, gets into trouble, and sometimes looks danger in the eye. I would highly recommend this book for people who love magic ( and really anyone who loves a fun book) It would bring magic to the whole family. I once sat in my chair for two hours straight reading Harry Potter. It's the best book ever!
        • dolbit07
          dolbit07Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 10:03 am55 stars
          I love the harry potter book series. This is the first book and Harry's parents die, which makes him live with muggles. Harry doesn't know much about magic until envelopes start appearing in his house. Keep reading to find out.....
          • islacorn
            islacornTuesday, July 7, 2020 at 9:14 am55 stars
            OMG!!! I Loved This Book SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Much!!! It Had Adventure, Suspense and Fun!! I Would TOTALLY Recomend This Book To ANYONE Who Is Looking For An Exciting New Series!!!!
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 4:45 pm55 stars
              Wooohooo! Go Harry Potter!
              • supergirl2011
                supergirl2011Wednesday, July 1, 2020 at 12:26 pm55 stars
                I decided to read this book because it was one I had never seen in the library, and the librarian told me that it had magic. I love magic, so, I decided to read it. It is indeed full of magic and wonder. There is a school of witchcraft and wizardry, Harry has adventures, gets into trouble, and sometimes looks danger in the eye. I would highly recommend this book for people who love magic ( and really anyone who loves a fun book) It would bring magic to the whole family. I once sat in my chair for two hours straight reading Harry Potter. It's the best book ever!
                • hettyfeatherfan
                  hettyfeatherfanWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 9:27 am55 stars
                  This was brilliant! Me and my mom loved reading this together. If you like magic, this is for you! 🧝‍♂️😎😎👍👍👍
                  • HanoonaWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 4:49 am
                    I like the movie better it's because I like the HARRY POTTER SECRET PASSAGE WAY
                    • angella
                      angellaWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 2:16 am33 stars
                      I am love this movie