When Owen finds himself stuck in a Pick Your Own Plot story, things get more complicated than ever in this fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieveswhich was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Being able to jump into books used to seem like the greatest thing in the world to Owen Conners. But now Owen’s trapped in a time travel book where readers—that would be you—decide how the story goes.

As if that weren’t enough, Owen’s also stuck in a prison for time criminals in a prehistoric era. He’s surrounded by bizarre fellow prisoners, including Kara Dox. How does Kara recognize Owen if they’ve never met before? She seems to think they’re old friends, but that can’t be possible. Still, Kara might just be the only chance Owen has to escape. And he has to find a way out to save his friend Bethany, who’s still in grave danger. Because unless Owen can stop him, Nobody is going to split Bethany into two, separating the fictional and non-fictional worlds forever.

Will Owen be able to convince you, the reader, to help him find his way back to Bethany? Or will you feed him to dinosaurs just to teach him a lesson? It’s all up to you when you Pick the Plot.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481461281
ISBN-13: 9781481461283
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • NickTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 9:27 am
    Its cool
    • avery1032
      avery1032Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 3:30 pm55 stars
      I can't wait to read this, I'm almost there I just need to finish the third book.
      • callie_b
        callie_bMonday, January 1, 2018 at 3:04 pm44 starsFeatured
        Warning: This is NOT your regular book. But that's a good thing, right? Owen Conners is a regular boy, who wakes up one day and finds himself in a confusing time prison, where inmates live one day over and over again endlessly. But each day their memory resets with the time loop-- the prisoners never know how long they've been there, because they don't remember any previous days in the prison. Even worse, the prison is in the Cretaceous Period, where hungry dinosaurs roam. Sounds like torture, right? But there is one way to escape this nightmare-- through the door, with a 3-digit code. If someone guesses the wrong code, the day automatically resets for everyone. The only way to discover the correct digits for the codes is to outsmart the scenarios in three airlocks. But the time prison creators are very clever. If a prisoner solves an airlock and get a digit for the passcode, the prison day resets, so how could the prisoner possibly remember the digits to escape?? But that's where YOU come in, reader! This book is a pick-the-plot book, which means YOU decide between different choices to move the story along. Owen figures out that he is in the pick-the-plot book, and recruits you to help him escape so he can go find his friend Bethany. With the help of his new friend Kara Dox, another inmate, YOU choose what Owen and Kara do to find out the code. YOU have to remember the digits. Will you help Owen and Kara discover the digits and escape the time prison, or will you feed them mercilessly to dinosaurs? It's all up to you. :) I had so much fun reading this book! It was an adventure, and I loved how interactive it was! Yes, I've read regular pick-the-plot books, but this one took it to the next level! I mean, in how many books is it up to you to solve, remember, and choose so the characters can survive and escape? Not many, that's for sure! I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys pick-the-plot books and adventures! It is a bit confusing if you haven't read the rest of the series, so maybe before reading this book you should read the other great books in this series! This book was great! 4/5 stars!
        • tori3ghoul
          tori3ghoulThursday, November 30, 2017 at 11:12 am22 stars
          This was not my favorite Story Thieves book, but I liked the ending. Owen gets trapped in a time travel book and enlists help from Kara Dox to help him escape. This was definitely the most complicated story of the series, but anyone who likes codes and dinosaurs will enjoy.
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 1:14 pm
            I won this book I'm going to read asap thank you dogoteam๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ผ๐Ÿ˜ผ๐Ÿ˜ผ๐Ÿ˜ผ๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜บ
            • sassyunicorn
              sassyunicornTuesday, October 17, 2017 at 3:21 pm
              I want to read this book do badly!
              • vinceMonday, October 9, 2017 at 4:50 pm
                i've wanted this book so much
                • sassyunicorn
                  sassyunicornTuesday, October 17, 2017 at 3:22 pm
                  Same
                • rishi_venky
                  rishi_venkyMonday, October 9, 2017 at 4:26 pm55 stars
                  I so want to read this book! I've only read the first two. They are both on the list of my top 5 series. I so want to read this!
                  • cool girlThursday, October 5, 2017 at 1:45 pm
                    love it
                    • suecamel974
                      suecamel974Monday, October 2, 2017 at 3:03 pm55 stars
                      I would really love to get this book for my sister. She read one before and I would love to get her this one! Thank you!

                      More TopicsView in 3D