Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2307 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jujugameWednesday, May 15, 2019 at 6:18 am
    i love this book,i red all this serie and i want more
    • sofi_juarez
      sofi_juarezTuesday, May 14, 2019 at 10:38 am55 stars
      This book is full of suspense. I loved this book so much I can't wait to watch the movie.
      • kgbradshaw
        kgbradshawSunday, May 12, 2019 at 11:38 am55 starsFeatured
        Set in a future dystopia, Katniss Everdeen lives in District 12 in Panem, which is what used to be North America. Every year in Panem one boy and one girl are chosen from each District to compete in the Hunger Games, a televised fight to the death. One year, Katniss's sister, Prim, gets chosen to go to the Games. As a result, Katniss volunteers to save her. The male drawn from District 12 is Peeta Mellark. Katniss is appalled by this; Peeta once saved her life from starvation. In interviews, Peeta confesses that he is in love with Katniss. This plays out in the Games, and that is all I can tell you! I personally love this book, and it is one of my favorite books, and I literally can't put it down. I recommend this book to 10-110 year olds.
        • aly_spoon675
          aly_spoon675Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 2:18 pm55 starsFeatured
          The Hunger Games is one of my all time favorite books! As soon as I turned the first page I was immediately intrigued with the blood-chilling setting and the iconic character Katniss. Katniss Everdeen lives in a terrifying world where every year two people from her "region" will be picked to participate in the Hunger Games, a horrifying game in which you have to kill to survive. Katniss ends up participating and throughout the book is an incredible girl to look up to as she continued to go on despite the odds. During this book she fights for love, family, and freedom. This book will make your blood run cold, and will leave you stunned for days. I highly recommend this book to everyone!
          • notnaida
            notnaidaFriday, May 3, 2019 at 7:33 am55 stars
            very good book
            • bossTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 6:37 pm
              i love it lots
              • ultra_savage
                ultra_savageFriday, April 19, 2019 at 8:08 am55 stars
                I like dis book
                • slushie
                  slushieWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 6:34 pm55 stars
                  oh I love this series a lot I can't stop reading I have each book and I read it, again and again, these books are fun to read and entertaining!
                  • soso17970
                    soso17970Friday, April 12, 2019 at 7:12 pm55 stars
                    Ah, the first book in such a amazing series. Katniss Everdeen is a girl in the dystopian world of panem. She is responsible for her family (mom and little sister). In her world, every year, two teenagers (one girl and one boy) from each district (there are 12) are forced to fight each other to the death. When Katniss’s sister, prim is chosen, Katniss volunteers for her without hesitation. Katniss and the boy tribune from 12 are thrown (not literally) into a train that leads to the captiol. Before Katniss goes into the games, she first has to survive training and interviews. She meets many allies and enemies. Most importantly, she bonds with Peeta and their mento, Haymitch. She then goes into the deadly games. Life, love, trust and basic human morals are all juggled around as Katniss tries to survive. I love how Katniss changes so much throughout the series by learning from her experiences. The plot and details were simply amazing. This is one of my all time favorite series. Warning, this is a very violent book, so do not read it if you don’t like that stuff.
                    • lalaThursday, April 11, 2019 at 6:23 pm
                      good book