Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361192
Like many kids, Ben Ripley imagines life as a secret agent would be pretty awesome -- so when he learns he's been recruited to the C.I.A.'s top secret Academy of Espionage, it sounds too good to be true. And it is. From the moment he arrives -- and ends up in the middle of an enemy attack -- Ben finds Spy School is going to be far more difficult, dastardly and dangerous than he expected. Even worse, he soon discovers that he hasn't been recruited to become a top agent; instead, he's been brought in as bait to catch a devious double agent. Now, Ben needs a crash course in espionage so that he can catch the mole, prove his worth -- and get the girl. It won't be easy, but it'll be a very fun -- and very funny -- ride.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on April 2, 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442421835
ISBN-13: 9781442421837
121 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • nasuada
    nasuadaTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 3:19 pm44 starsFeatured
    Honestly, opening this book I thought it would be extremely cliche. It's not. Ben is a normal kid. He's a math nerd. One day out of nowhere, he's recruited to a top secret school run by none other than the CIA. Ben finds out more about why he was picked, and questions his spy potential. The book was very imaginative; it gave descriptions about the "reality" of spies, and strips away some Hollywood glamour. Overall, a fun book.
    • BTMMonday, October 1, 2018 at 4:58 pm
      It is amazing
      • sdkhfidsf
        sdkhfidsfSaturday, September 22, 2018 at 4:20 pm55 stars
        great book
        • mysteryturtle24
          mysteryturtle24Saturday, September 1, 2018 at 9:58 am55 stars
          I found this book on the shelf of my school library two years ago and have never stopped loving this series. The first book was awesome, and the series only got better. To start, Ben Ripley is a twelve-year old with a serious gift for math and a desire to become a CIA spy. One afternoon after school, amazingly enough, there is a CIA agent telling Ben that he is now a spy-in-training. Wonderful, right? Wrong, Ben finds. Spy school is just like middle school, only people are trying to kill you as well. There's no time to be disappointed, though. An enemy organization named SPYDER is surfacing and somehow he's part of the mission. Of course he could die, but he's working with the beautiful and talented Erica Hale. What could go wrong? Find out in the first installment of the stellar series.
          • bean_boy
            bean_boySaturday, March 24, 2018 at 9:52 am55 stars
            One word to describe this book. AWESOME! Each word of the book kept me hooked on and kept me flipping the pages. It's always interesting to see a story where adults would be usually doing stuff with kids doing it.
            • koreanbacongirl
              koreanbacongirlFriday, March 23, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 starsFeatured
              I LOVE this book!!!!!!! It's so exciting and thrilling. It was like a roller coaster. At first, I could not believe that the boy got into spy school!!!! I wish I was in spy school. The author described the story very well, so I felt like I was there. The story is VERY exciting because the mystery is BIG! When there was a new clue, I kind of tried to figure out in my head what might be the solution. This book was so interesting in the beginning, out of all of the spy books I read, this one is the BEST! I would recommend this book for people in 4th to maybe 6th grade. And also people who LOVE mysteries.
              • sparkle14
                sparkle14Friday, January 19, 2018 at 3:01 pm44 stars
                This is an Awsome book, it's really exiting and fun, It's also a series it's so coooool!!!!😍💕
                • amberthekitty
                  amberthekittyFriday, January 19, 2018 at 1:37 pm55 stars
                  This book is awesome!!
                  • GabeThursday, January 4, 2018 at 12:13 pm
                    I have all the books and its great. my dad made me read it and I ended up loving it
                    • masteremerald99
                      masteremerald99Friday, December 8, 2017 at 11:11 am44 stars
                      So far I have found that Ben has joined the CIA and is now a spy. I am surprised because he is only 12 years old. He also has to fight bad guys, maybe recover stolen documents, spy stuff, etc. He also is basically saving the WHOLE WORLD from evil! This is a thrilling book so far but I have only read part of the beginning. When I finish Spy School I will make a Part 2 of this review. 4/5 stars because I can't give it 5 stars until I finish the book, under my standards. I hope you enjoy this review and stay tuned for P2!

                      Our Apps and Plugins