Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
497 Book Reviews
  • tazzy_222
    tazzy_222Sunday, May 16, 2021 at 2:41 am55 stars
    I haven't read all of it yet, but I'm 3/4 in and it is very good so far. My favorite character is Sydney the snowman lol
    • rockstar1246
      rockstar1246Wednesday, April 21, 2021 at 5:55 pm55 stars
      I had the book Melody Is very smart even though she has cerebral palsy this is a do not judge a book by its cover type of book.
      • snorty_hoty
        snorty_hotyThursday, April 15, 2021 at 2:56 pm55 stars
        I want to read this book so bad wow!!!!
        • tay912
          tay912Tuesday, April 13, 2021 at 6:08 am
          I really want to read this book!
          • hermionereader
            hermionereaderTuesday, April 13, 2021 at 7:33 pm55 stars
            Yes, it's amazing!!!
          • hermionereader
            hermionereaderSaturday, April 10, 2021 at 4:44 pm55 starsFeatured
            This was a great book that shared what it's like to have cerebral palsy. I think a lot of the time, kids and adults treat people with disabilities like they're outsiders or disappointments. Many of us think that because people with disabilities can't do some of the things we can do, it makes them nonfunctioning humans, and that isn't true! In the book, Melody has a photographic memory and sharp mind, and she's smarter than all her other classmates, but the students treat her like she's an infant just because she's disabled. I think this book will help readers become more aware of how to talk to others with disabilities, and teach them that even though people with disabilities can't do all the things we can do, they still deserve the same amount of respect. I recommend this book and give it a five-star rating, and I think adults should read it too!
            • kicyzity-160250579162
              kicyzity-160250579162Friday, April 9, 2021 at 6:49 am55 stars
              I think I give this book a 5 star because this book tells you about what it kind of feels like to have cerebral palsy, a disease that makes you not able to talk, move, or express yourself. And I have never known what it feels like to have cerebral palsy. Some suggestions I have for this book is maybe making a part 2 of this book or maybe there could be another book for "Out Of My Mind part 2" but overall I really love how this book describes what it feels like to have cerebral palsy.
              • unipug2
                unipug2Tuesday, April 6, 2021 at 1:15 pm55 stars
                I have read both the full novel and an excerpt. Melody is a smart fifth grader who has cerebral palsy.
                • bunnyrabbit_ivy
                  bunnyrabbit_ivySaturday, April 3, 2021 at 2:00 pm55 stars
                  Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
                  • wolfie_uwu
                    wolfie_uwuSaturday, April 3, 2021 at 7:33 am
                    I have been wanting to read this book for a long time since many people I know recommend it and I have read a small part of it for a assignment and it seems SUPER cool!
                    • pompomhat
                      pompomhatTuesday, February 23, 2021 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                      This book is so detailed! Melody is our main character and cannot speak. She can neither feed or walk herself. It shows tiny snippets of her life and how difficult coping with her disability is. It was recommended by my teacher who knows I enjoy reading realistic fiction. I was amazed by everything! It reminds me of Fish in a Tree which is similar. If you liked this book you should try Fish in a Tree and Wonder! :]