Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
205 Book Reviews
  • gretr234
    gretr234Thursday, May 6, 2021 at 6:06 am44 stars
    I really love this book. I recommend it to others. I'm on the second book so I also recommend the rest of the series to others.
    • pairofkeets
      pairofkeetsWednesday, April 21, 2021 at 2:18 pm44 stars
      This is the first book in the Keeper series, and I recommend it if you love fantasy, secrets, and worlds. This is not my FAVORITE keeper book, but I chose this one to recommend because it is the first. It is about a girl named Sophie who finds out she's an elf! But not the kind who bakes cookies or works for Santa...the REAL kind.
      • wolfieland
        wolfielandWednesday, April 14, 2021 at 7:23 am
        A lot of people were talking about kotlc so I've been thinking about maybe trying out this series, even my friend recomended it.
        • cjshugart
          cjshugartThursday, April 1, 2021 at 7:02 am
          it is awsome
          • musicbooklover
            musicbookloverWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 7:45 pm55 stars
            Oh gods! This book is amazing! Kept me on the edge from the start to the end. I mean every page there were new questions. Where are Sofie's Powers coming from? What's black swan? Who is lighting the fires? Does Keefe like Sofie? How's sofie so perfect? etc ,etc. This book took me to heaven! Also almost killed me out of mystery! Luv this book really recommend it!
            • Catty CathyTuesday, March 9, 2021 at 10:24 am
              This is one of the best series that I have ever read and if if have not already, I recommend you read all of the books.
              • menaz_ace
                menaz_aceWednesday, February 17, 2021 at 7:25 am55 stars
                the first book is awesome and I like the covers of all the books
                • violetbutterfly
                  violetbutterflyTuesday, January 26, 2021 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                  I LOVE this book and series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is about a girl named Sophie Foster who is a Telepath, which means she can hear other people's thoughts. On a class trip, a boy named Fitz finds her and brings her to the elven world. Sophie is an elf, but when she is tested by the Councillors of their world, they discover nobody can hear Sophie's thoughts. This, and many other abilities link her to a mystery involving the white hot and sweet-smelling fires burning around her San Diego home and Sophie's mysterious talents.
                  • live1357
                    live1357Monday, January 25, 2021 at 1:32 pm55 stars
                    Keepers of the lost cities is a must read book because it talks about a girl named Sophie, that she is an Telepath, and a elf. She realizes that she can't stay with her normal family, so she is taken to stay with her relatives in the lost cities. Sophie has an amazing adventure while learning new things along the way. This is why you should read this book.
                    • sydney_zepp
                      sydney_zeppSaturday, January 16, 2021 at 2:02 pm55 stars
                      This book is a really awesome book! It's about a 12 year old girl named Sophie Foster. She lives with her parents and sister and she is extremely smart! She doesn't seem to fit in with anyone at school because she's in highscool at the age of 12. She also doesn't like to be around people because she can hear wht they are thinking, loud and clear and it always gives her terrible headaches! One day someone named Fitz shows up when she's on a school feild trip. He's looking for someone but hinks they aren't there. What happens next Shocks Sophie and at first she doesn't believe it, but then realizes it kinda makes sense and she can see why she didn't fit in with anyone. From then on it's a very exciting and interesting book, and it's nearly impossible to get bored of! 5 stars from me!