Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
2222 Book Reviews
  • fomaloso-156773974534
    fomaloso-156773974534Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 6:43 pm55 stars
    I love the way how the letters kept coming and flew everywhere!
    • hermione1315
      hermione1315Saturday, June 5, 2021 at 12:18 pm55 stars
      i loved this book! i read the whole harry potter series and love it! hermione granger is my favorite and is a ton like me!
      • kittylover111
        kittylover111Friday, June 4, 2021 at 2:26 pm33 stars
        I'm not a huge Harry Potter fan, my brother is. But, I did go ahead a red it. It was okay, and I can see why it has 2,215 reviews, to all the harry potter fans. Good, detail, dialog. I liked it, but I think there's better books to read.
        • guineapigglegrl
          guineapigglegrlFriday, June 4, 2021 at 9:01 am55 stars
          LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK I AM such a POTTERHEAD :DDD
          • 11xxalexxx11
            11xxalexxx11Thursday, June 3, 2021 at 1:09 pm33 stars
            I loved this book! I have read the whole series and this isn't my favorite. I understand how the first books are always the worst because you need to meet the characters. I would rate this book 3/5 because of how slow it is. And it suddenly it jerks into the book as if you're best friends with the character.
            • ilovbooks
              ilovbooksTuesday, June 1, 2021 at 8:16 am55 stars
              I think this is a great book. I would recommend it from 4-7. This book is about a young boy named Harry. He thinks that he is a regular kid. But, he is not. Will Harry be able to unleash his secret power or will he just be a regular kid? Read the book to find out all about Harry's life.
              • ydheg
                ydhegSaturday, May 29, 2021 at 1:30 am55 stars
                This a great book. I've read this book already ten times. This book is amazing y'all I recommend this book for y'all I'm a Harry Potter fan I'm guilty of liking this book. Hopefully y'all will like or love this book as much as me. It's a really interesting book all tell y'all that
                • rx_cle
                  rx_cleFriday, May 28, 2021 at 11:34 am55 stars
                  AMAZING!! THIS IS THE BEST BOOK! :D
                  • grimblo_shines
                    grimblo_shinesThursday, May 13, 2021 at 3:42 pm55 stars
                    Harry potter is my favorite book series. I use to not like reading at all but as soon as I read this book I couldn't stop reading. I'm on the fourth book now and it is so far my favorite! I would really recommend reading.
                    • catsrlongliquid
                      catsrlongliquidMonday, May 10, 2021 at 10:16 am55 stars
                      Harry potter is one of my favorite book series of all time it takes you into the world of fantasy, magic , wizards,creatures and more. Once you start reading, its almost like you cant stop! Its highly addicting and i love it alot! im already reading book 4! :)