Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

Book 1 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1342 Book Reviews
  • kpopanimeluvr
    kpopanimeluvrFriday, April 23, 2021 at 8:56 am44 starsFeatured
    Personally, i think this book is pretty good. im in the 5th grade, and ive been reading since 2nd grade. (thanks to my older sister) alot of people dont like how the protagonist, Nicki talks alot about boys and crushes and romantic teenager problems. But personally i think its just sort of realistic, Nicki is not in the 4th grade, shes a teen. This book isnt technically about a fun adventure with no worrys or stress, its realistic "slice of life" book. it speaks about growing pains and i think its interesting since i like books with drama and realistic ideals, usually. even in manga i like it when for example, attack on titan isnt all just about the titans but also shows the characters personalities and personal goals and stuff like that, friendships being broken and stuff that hurts the reader because of how realistic it is, but also has fiction like titans. Back to dork diaries, this is one of the only non-manga books i like, i will say Nicki can get a bit whiny and makes it a bit less enjoyable but overall i really like the idea and plot of this book, no its not a Diary of the Wimpy Kid "rip-off", its different in its own way because its more grown-up and usually girls struggle alot more with growing up so its natural Dork Diaries feels grown. I love this book! It can be very stereotypical tho, just because Nicki is a new "nerdy girl" who gets picked on, and on top of that her enemy is Mackenzie Hollister, the most popular girl in school. I like how much the book has so many twist and turns.
    • corgiqueen45
      corgiqueen45Saturday, April 17, 2021 at 9:08 am55 stars
      Love this book! 👍😍
      • ami18
        ami18Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 9:06 am22 stars
        Wimpy kid rip off! I like wimpy kid better because if am honest, Nicki (in the book) just thinks about crushes and boys. Am in grade 6 by the way.
        • ami18
          ami18Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 8:39 am22 stars
          Its LITERALLY wimpy kid book rip off!
          • penguinpop
            penguinpopTuesday, April 6, 2021 at 5:07 pm22 stars
            Our protagonist constantly moons over boys and complains about her HORRIBLE life. For example: her parents and sister loves her and she has two besties. BUT SHE DOESNT GET DESIGNER CLOTHES!!! how tragic. and then you have the stereotypical blonde rich girl who immediately hates the protagonist (sigh)
            • goldenglar
              goldenglarThursday, April 1, 2021 at 8:33 am33 stars
              i like dork diaries but it's kinda a rip off of diary of a wimpy kid. dork diaries is more of a crush, boyfriend and dramatic life situation but diary of a wimpy is fun. Nicki Maxwell has a crush on brandon and so dose Makcaenzi and they fight. are they even allowed to have a crush?
              • eviejobs764
                eviejobs764Thursday, March 25, 2021 at 5:07 pm11 star
                This book is horrible. It is a complete copy of Diary Of A Wimpy Kid. All it talks about is "Crushes" and "Boyfriends". Kids should be reading fun and action packed books. Not romance books about love and school and dramatic bullies. This is just my opinion. I am in the 5th grade by the way. Okay now onto the plot of the book. Nicki Maxwell writes in this diary about her dramatic life. I really don't care about her dramatic life. Anyway this rich fancy girl named Makcaenzi makes fun of her. Nicki doesnt solve her problems reasonably. If you were to accidently yell at your friend for example, you explain what happened. Not turn it into a big deal. That happened in one of the books. Also, Nicki does some pretty bad things. The author who wrote this tried to make Nicki "Relatable" but Nicki really just this girl who doesnt know how to solve problems!
                • corgiqueen45
                  corgiqueen45Saturday, April 17, 2021 at 9:10 am55 stars
                  Diary Of A Wimpy Kids isn't exactly "action-packed" either.
                • hermionereader
                  hermionereaderMonday, March 15, 2021 at 10:44 pm55 stars
                  I love the Dork Diaries series. Yes, it's a total copycat of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but I think it's really fun to read, plus I gravitate towards this series more. The way the author wrote the books is a little cringy though. She talks the way most adults THINK teenagers talk, and throughout all the books it just sounds like she's trying way too hard to make Nicki (the main character) "relatable". Really, it's just so far-off from the truth though. Another downside is that these books are very stereotypical. Nicki is the new girl at school, and kind of looked down on for being "nerdy." Her arch-nemesis is Mackenzie Hollister, the popular girly-girl (who is always using lip gloss, which is literally the most stereotypical characteristic of a mean girl). I was reading reviews on Amazon for this book series and everyone was saying that Nicki is a bad influence for kids or that she complains too much, but I don't agree with any of these claims! I never thought for a second while reading this book that I'd need a cool phone and a boyfriend to not be a loser! Adults are way too sensitive these days. Stop shielding your kids so much! The whole point of the series is that you're reading Nicki's diary, which is where she shares all the drama in her life. It's supposed to be relatable for kids, and while sometimes the writing style is anything but, I don't think this series is a bad influence at all! I think this series appeals to kids of all ages. It's a substantial read for a younger kid and a lighter read for an older kid, but either way, it's super interesting. Though overall the series is a bit stereotypical and cringy, that's part of the appeal in my opinion, and makes them so fun to read!
                  • MaryamoTuesday, March 2, 2021 at 9:55 am
                    I love this book so much i can read all the series in 1 day.
                    • dinoday
                      dinodayTuesday, February 23, 2021 at 9:30 am55 stars
                      hi!!!i love this book i love the pics and it is super funny right and follow me if you agree