Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.45068
Raina Telgemeier’s #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile!

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
1188 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • icecream_heavan
    icecream_heavanThursday, October 10, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
    Hey guys this is a great book about two sisters who need to learn to get along. You guys should read it. Shout out to noooo because a acceidently made her un-follow me so I diceded to follow her. I will shout out my followers now.
    • dreamy
      dreamySaturday, October 5, 2019 at 5:22 pm55 stars
      It's about Raina and her sister Amara Amara Hates every one and this summer they went to Colorado for a family reunion and Raina Is Trying to stay peaceful
      • 13iamgroot
        13iamgrootFriday, October 4, 2019 at 6:17 pm33 stars
        I borrowed this book from my friend as well as "Smile" and she made me read them. I hadn't read them before because I am not prone to graphic novels as I see they are hard to follow, but that is just my opinion. It was pretty good, but I liked "Smile" a lot better, you can see my review on that one as well. In this true story about the author, Raina, she goes on a car trip with her sister Amara, and you can guess how that turned out. They don't really get along and things keep going wrong, but after their first encounter with their cousins after they finally get to their destination they find that they have a lot more in common than they think. Raina finds that her cousins have changed a lot from when she last saw them. She doesn't really fit in anymore, and she gets made fun of for being too "babyish." This book has a really good message and is a quick read, recommended for middle schoolers.
        • carebear0518
          carebear0518Thursday, October 3, 2019 at 9:46 am
          Sister's can be really difficult really difficult๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜
          • danielle59
            danielle59Friday, September 27, 2019 at 10:37 am55 stars
            the book is really popular and i am still to reading it but it is so interesting so far and it is really easy to relate to it omg because i have 2 sisters
            • lensey
              lenseyFriday, September 27, 2019 at 4:13 am55 stars
              You should read it it's about two sisters who try to get along.
              • allen4371
                allen4371Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 7:54 am55 stars
                I would like to read it because I have never read this book before.
                • cheese1
                  cheese1Sunday, September 8, 2019 at 12:07 pm
                  I like this book
                  • pizzagirl1
                    pizzagirl1Sunday, September 1, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
                    I liked it when they made up
                    • sports_star
                      sports_starSaturday, August 31, 2019 at 6:29 pm55 stars
                      This is the best comic book I have ever read! It's relatable and funny. I've read it many times. When Raina is little, she wants a little sister, and later, she finally gets one! But having a sister is like what she thought it would be like. Her sister doesn't want to play with her, likes to be alone, and - cries a lot. When Raina, her mom, her sister, and their baby brother go on a long roadtrip, chaos ensues!